Waiting On Wednesday (#1)

Waiting On Wednesday

Hey guys. 🙂 This is my first post for the meme “Waiting On Wednesday” created by Breaking The Spine. You can read about it more here. I have a couple books that I’m waiting on to read.


The first one is a prose novel called Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang. It comes out September 9th, 2014.

Falling Into Place

Goodreads Summary

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road. 

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.


The second novel I am excited to read is told in free-verse and called Kiss of Broken Glass. It also comes out September 9th, 2014.

Kiss of Broken Glass

Goodreads Summary

Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.


Falling Into Place sounds interesting to me because it is told by someone that readers don’t suspect to narrate the story. As for Kiss of Broken Glass, I like poetry and I have never read a completed verse novel so I want to read this one.

 

Both of these Young Adult novels deal with darker themes such as suicide, self-harm and psychiatric hospitals. I am excited to read both of these stories because teen suicide and self harm are important issues in today’s society. 

 

I encourage anyone who is interested in Young Adult novels that deal with issues to pick these up or at least check them out on Goodreads. 🙂

 

 

 

Advertisements

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

5 responses to “Waiting On Wednesday (#1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: