The Sunday Post (#6) + Stacking The Shelves (#1}

The Sunday Post
Hey guys. It’s The Sunday Post again. This weekly meme is created and hosted @Caffeinated Book Reviewer. The Sunday Post is where you can share your past and upcoming blogging weeks as well as anything else you want. 🙂 You can find more information here and link up.
I’ll be combining this post with Stacking The Shelves, a meme created and hosted @Tynga’s Reviews. This meme is to show off all the pretty books you’ve obtained! It’s also my first time participating since I haven’t obtained any books lately.
Wow! It’s the last day of August. This month has flown by. Only one more day until September, then It’s countdown time! For the Friends of The Library Annual Book Sale that happens on the 26th. There will be more about this when it’s closer to the date. 🙂 I’m so excited. I’ve never been before which is just weird even though I’ve lived in this city for five years off and on. 🙂 Two years on, two years off, one year on. You know.

Anyway, last week reading-wise I…
  • Finished Where She Went by Gayle Forman
  • Started To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before By Jenny Han
Last Week on YA Indulgences
I meant to review Where She Went, but I just finished that yesterday. I decided against posting “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” this week because I already had Musical Monday going on, plus I didn’t read Monday. A crime, I know.I think I’ll only post the Monday meme when I don’t have Musical Monday going on, so twice a month. Then on weeks when I’ll have Musical Monday, I’ll just add what I’m reading in The Sunday Post.
 
I didn’t manage to get around to posting Amber’s Rambles this past Thursday either unfortunately. There was some stuff going on so I wasn’t up for writing up my post, which I already had an idea about and posting.

 This Upcoming Week on YA Indulgences:
Sunday:
  • The Sunday Post (#7)
Monday
  • It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? Meme
Tuesday:
  • Top Ten Tuesday Meme
  • Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman
  • Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
Wednesday:
  • Waiting on Wednesday Meme
  • Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#4)
Thursday:
  • Amber’s Rambles discussion
Friday:
  • Featured Fairytale Friday
Saturday (for the Mental Illness and Suicide Awareness Theme Read):
  • Review: Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
 
There may also be reviews on Thursday for Every Day by David Levithan and An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. It depends on how soon I finish To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, I’m hoping to finish that today though. I may also decide to just review Perks of Being A Wallflower on Thursday and review either Every Day or An Abundance of Katherines instead of posting Saturday.

~Stacking The Shelves #1~
STS
Last week was pretty amazing. I
Received via Edelweiss:
  • E-ARC Damaged by Amy Reed Thank you Simon & Schuster!)
I was so happy to receive Damaged. Amy Reed is an author I’ve been really interested for a while, but never completed one of her books. From what I’ve read of Crazy, I really liked.
 
Purchased:
I finally have it! I’m so happy. I started reading it last night and I really like it. It’s pretty surprising I haven’t finished it already since I was up all night, for no particular reason. I didn’t read though, that’s the second time I made this mistake.

 

Free E-Books on Amazon I Purchased:
 
I’m going to add what I’ve got from the past month:
Received via Negalley:
I’m really excited to read Can’t Look Away, the premise sounds really interesting. I like the social media aspect and it’s affects.

Weekly Poem:

A Dream Within A Dream by Edgar Allan Poe

Take this kiss upon the brow! 
And, in parting from you now,
Thus much let me avow-
You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream; 
Yet if hope has flown away
In a night, or in a day,
In a vision, or in none,
Is it therefore the less gone? 
All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand-
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep- while I weep! 
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp? 
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave? 
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream? 

 
Edgar Allan Poe was mentioned in To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, so I found it fitting to select one of his poems.

Weekly Reading Quote(s):
“I wonder what it’s like to have that much power over a boy. I don’t think I’d want it; it’s a lot of responsibility to hold a person’s heart in your hands.”  (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before)
 
“A day might just be twenty-four hours but sometimes getting through one seems as impossible as scaling Everest.” (Where She Went)

That’s it for this week. I hope everyone has a good week. 🙂
 
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

7 responses to “The Sunday Post (#6) + Stacking The Shelves (#1}

Leave a Reply

