Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Authors I’ve Only Read One Book Of But Need To Read More

TTT
It’s Top Ten Tuesday! For another thirty something minutes here in Kansas at least. 🙂 Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by and hosted at The Broke and The Bookish. Every week there will be a new top ten list pick for book bloggers to share their lists on. You can join in and link up here.
This week’s top ten list is:
Ten Authors We’ve Only Read One Book From & Need To Read More! 
Lisa McKay – This is a Christian author whose book I picked up simply because it was a dollar. Plus the summary was interesting. 🙂 This was years ago and she hasn’t come out with any new fiction, but has come out with a memoir. I’d like to read more of her in the future.
My_Hands_Came_Away_Red
Amy Zhang – Amy Zhang is actually an author whose debut I haven’t finished yet, but I love it so far. Amy’s only in high school so the fact that she’s written and had this book published is just so awesome and great. I love Falling Into Place so far and I would love to see her come out with new works.
Falling Into Place
F. Scott Fitzgerald – The one book I read by Fitzgerald was The Great Gatsby, a book I really enjoyed in high school. I loved the time period he wrote them in, although I wasn’t there, I felt he encompassed it perfectly.
The_Great_Gatsby
Ava Dellaira – Ava is a debut author who wrote Love Letters to The Dead. Although I felt the book had some small faults, I really enjoyed it and want to read more.
Love Letters To The Dead

Jenny Han
– To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, Jenny Han’s most recent release, barely, is the first book I’ve read by her. I loved how the book focused on romance along with familial aspects, which I really love to see in stories. This definitely won’t be the last book I’ve read by her, as in anticipation of Ashes to Ashes, I have purchased Burn For Burn and Fire with Fire.
To all the boys I've loved before
Stephen Chbosky – Perks of Being A Wallflower is one of my favorite books I’ve read. Stephen Chbosky hasn’t really written anything besides Perks, which is really unfortunate. I feel Stephen captured high school perfectly, focusing on music, love, friendship and coming of age. I would love to see him write a Young Adult novel taking place in the digital age.
Perks
Nick Hornby – Unlike a lot of others, High Fidelity was not the Nick Hornby book I read. Rather I read Juliet, Naked. A book discounted at Walmart which focused on a guy obsessed with a singer who disappeared twenty years ago. I loved the style the book was in and the characters, although annoying at times. I would love to read another book by Nick, if he came up with a similar focus on music.
Juliet_Naked
David Levithan – David Levithan is one of my recent “discoveries” as I just finished reading Every Day, his most recent book, a couple weeks ago. I loved Every Day a lot even with it’s faults. I would definitely like to read more of his books in the future.
Every Day
Jennifer E. Smith – The Statistical Probability is the only book I’ve read by Jennifer despite owning This Is What Happy Looks Like. I really like the way she wrote the novel and look forward to reading her most recent book, The Geography of You and Me.
TheStatisticalProbabilityofLove
Rainbow Rowell – I’ve read Eleanor & Park by Rainbow. I adored this book, I loved absolutely almost everything about it. It was fantastic. It’s on my favorite books I’ve ever read list. I only wish it had been longer. Now, I have ordered Fangirl, so I shall be reading more Rainbow very soon! I’m so excited to see what else she comes up with in the future.

Eleanor and park cover

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Authors I’ve Only Read One Book Of But Need To Read More

  • vlangloisx3

    I’ve actually read all of Rainbow Rowell’s books, and I can say that they are really good, writing style wise! So definitely give that a go. And then I personally still have to read Amy Zhang’s debut, and also David Levithan. Ugh, too many authors to read! Nice list Amber!!!!!

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Nice job! I’m so interested in the rest of Rowell’s writing, it’s just painful not having her complete bibliography as of yet. One day though, sooner or later. Next book buying binge for sure. Well, kind of…

      Amy Zhang’s book is so good so far. It’s another character driven novel.

      Thanks! 🙂

      Like

  • Erin @ The Hardcover Lover

    I loved Loved Letters to the Dead, and I’m so happy that Stephen Chbosky convinced her to write a book when she worked with him on the movie for Perks. Stephen has a short story published in another book, but I agree with you… I hope he writes more. Although when I went to an event, he never hinted that he would again. And I asked him the second time I met him, and he was pretty tight-lipped.

    I’ve only read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, but I’m in the middle of her short story for My True Love Gave to Me, and it’s good, so I’ll be reading more by her as well.

    As for Rainbow Rowell… I’ve read everything she has published, including her short story for My True Love Gave to Me. I think she’s a genius, and I’ll read anything by her.

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Love Letters To The Dead was good. I didn’t know Chbosky wrote a short story, huh. I’ll have to check that out. Yeah, it’s kind of weird he never wrote a longer book after Perks. Understandable though.

      I just received the first book in the Burn For Burn series today so I’m happy to soon start reading that. I’ll have to definitely check out My True Love Gave To Me anthology.

      I received Fangirl today! So ditto about what I said above about reading that book and the True Love book. 🙂 Landline and Attachments are both on my eventual obtain and read books list. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  • The Sunday Post (#8) | Young Adult Indulgences

    […] Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Authors I Need To Read More Of […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

