Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10-Ish Books on my Fall TBR List

TTTAh, a day late, but better late than never. Yes? Okay. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. Every week there is a new bookish list for book bloggers to participate in. 🙂 To join in and link up, you can link here.

 This week’s top ten list is the top ten books on my fall top ten to be read list. I’m going to mix this up a bit though and make…a few lists. One for books I own, the second for ones I don’t own (or haven’t been released) and the third will be my Winter picks (so far). 🙂

 Top Ten Books On My Fall To-Be-Read list

Dangerous GirlsDangerous BoysVivian Versus The ApocalypseCinderBurn For Burn

FangirlThe DUFFMiss Peregrines Home For Peculiar ChildrenWarm BodiesBeastly
  1. Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas
    • I discovered this book through the lovely book blogosphere and decided I must have it. Although this book takes place in summer, I think with the weather changing, the mystery can really be brought out as it grows colder. I’ve already started it and so far I love it.
  2. Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas
    • Similar to what I said above, the book blogosphere was raving over this book in excitement. I figured I couldn’t order one without the other so… I had to get this one too. This one’s very high on my fall list.
  3. Vivian Versus The Apocalypse/Vivian Versus America by Katie Coyle
    • This book fascinates me with it’s view of this alternate universe where the Church of America is just terrible and this “rapture” that occurs. There’s also a road trips and everything’s better with road trips. The sequel, Vivian Versus America just came out this month which I was unaware of, so it also adds another ’14 book to my reading list this year.
  4. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
    • I’ve never read a fairytale retelling, but I’ve wanted to read this series forever. With Fairest coming out at the end of the year and me recently purchasing Cinder and Scarlet, this series is at the top of my list.
  5. Burn For Burn series by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
    • I love a good revenge plot line so hopefully I’ll love this series. Since Ashes to Ashes has come out, I need to definitely read this series as soon as possible.
  6. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    • This book is on my list for various reasons, the first one being the main character writes fan-fiction, as a used to be writer, that immediately interested me. The second reason, it takes place at college! That is so rare to find! I’ve been past the high school age for around five years now and while I love my Young Adult fiction, I’d love there to be more college related fiction.
  7. The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger
    • This is another school related novel, I believe. The character sounds pretty relatable. I’ve heard great things about this book so I can’t wait to read it.
  8. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
    • I started reading this book years ago and for whatever reason, never finished it. I feel like Fall is the perfect time to finish such a creepy and mysterious book.
  9. Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion
    • I saw the movie repeatedly when it was on HBO months ago and loved it. When I saw this book for cheap on Book Outlet, I knew I had to buy it. This is on my list because zombies and fall just seem to go together.
  10. Beastly by Alex Flinn
    • This is another movie I watched before reading the book. It’s been on my TBR (or Want to read) list for a long time since I’ve heard good things about it. Beauty and The Beast is my favorite disney movie so this sounds really good.

Top Ten(ish) Books On My Fall To-Be Read List That I Don’t Own 

CressAhses To AshesParalleFree To FallMind GamesGloryOBriensHistoryofTheFutureGet_EvenRtiesDamsel_DistressedThe Coldest Girl in ColdtownFlawlessThe Darkest Part of the ForestDon't You Forget About MeAnother Litlte PieceHollow City

  1. Cress by Marissa Meyer
    • The reason for this one goes along with the above. Plus it’s Rapunzel, which I love. 🙂
  2. Ashes to Ashes by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
    • This is the finale to Burn For Burn which I’ve yet to read but really want to.
  3. Parallel by Lauren Miller
    • I’ve never read a novel involving an alternate reality, so this would be a first to me. I also don’t read much science fiction in general so I can’t wait to try this out.
  4. Free to Fall by Lauren Miller
    • I love this future reality where people don’t really get to choose anything, it sounds really interesting and like Parallel,  I can’t wait to read it.
  5. Mind Games by Kiersten White
    • This is a psychological thriller, my favorite kind, if I really had a favorite kind of thriller. i love that there’s a family aspect to it.
  6. Glory O’Brien’s History of The Future by A.S. King
    • I’ve yet to read an A.S. King book but that will soon change. The premise of the book sounds fascinating, involving a girl taking notes of this seemingly totalitarian future.
  7. Get Even by Gretchen McNeil
    • Once again, I love the school aspect, I love the darkness it seems it will have and the mystery surrounding the girls.
  8. Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley
    • This book sounds amazing. I love the whole aspect of the military school and hazing is something not commonly seen these days it seems, in fiction.
  9. Damsel Distressed by Kelsey Macke
    • If you saw last week’s Waiting on Wednesday post, you would know there are several reasons I’m looking forward to reading this book. Like Fangirl, it has a school aspect which I love to read about.
  10. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black
    • Humans and monsters, what more could I say?
  11. Pretty Little Liars series by Sara Shepard onward from two
    • Nothing like a mystery series to get me into the Autumn mood. It also helps that the last book comes out in December so I want to get these all read. 🙂
  12. The Darkest Part of The Forest by Holly Black
    • Both of Holly Black’s books deal with magical creatures and they seem like they’re be great Halloween books to read.
  13. (Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn
    • This sounds like another great creepy read for the Autumn months
  14. Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Qinn
    •  Basically the same thing as above, I think I’m looking forward to this one more than than the former.
  15. Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children #2) by Ransom Riggs
    • After I read Miss Peregrine’s Home, this is the book I want to read after that to finish off the duology. 🙂 I’ve heard good things about it so I’m excited for it.

My winter picks are:
Winter TownDash and Lily's Book of DaresChasing BrooklynThe Tragedy PaperLovely Dark and DeepThe Lovely BonesFairiest
  1. Winter Town by Stephen Edmond
    • It’s a book called “Winter Town”, it’s obviously destined to be read in Winter time. 🙂
  2. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn
    • This sounds like a quick, cute romance read which I am all for.
  3. Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder
    • I think it’s the tragedy and ghost apsects that make me want to read Chasing Brooklyn in winter. This is a free-verse novel which I’ve been trying to explore more so it should be good.
  4. The Tragedy Paper by Elizabeth LaBan
    • I remember seeing this in Barnes and Noble and loving the couple I recently purchased this so I’m looking forward to reading it in a couple months.
  5. Lovely, Dark and Deep by Amy McNamara
    • Basically the same reason as above, haha. I found the book in Barnes and Noble years ago, the cover intrigued me, I purchased it last week. 🙂 I’ll be reading this along with The Tragedy Paper.
  6. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
    • I remember watching the movies years ago and getting creeped out fast, this lead to me then getting creeped out whenever I went somewhere. This was when I was 18, this movie still creeps me out, I need to read the book. Especially the fact when it begins it takes place in winter.
  7. Fairest by Marissa Meyer
    • This isn’t a winter themed read but it comes out in January. 🙂 This is the “bridge” between Cress and Winter.

As you can see, I have a lot of books I want to read in the next few months. Half of which…I do not own. Hmm…That always seems to be a problem. 😦 So I’ll just have to borrow them! Anyway, share with me your fall picks! 🙂
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10-Ish Books on my Fall TBR List

Leave a Reply

