The Sunday Post (#10) + Stacking The Shelves (#6)

The Sunday PostHey everyone. It’s time for The Sunday Post and Stacking The Shelves.
The Sunday Post is a weekly meme created and hosted by Kimba at Caffeinated Book Reviewer. The Sunday Post is a place to share your past and upcoming blogging week. Feel free to make it your own. For more information you can go here and to link up, here.

~Last Week on YA Indulgences~
The Sunday Post (#9)
Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#7) – Water Theme
Review: The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu
Amber’s Rambles (#5) – Introduction to Book Buying Bans, Binges and Budgets
Featured Fairytale Friday (#7) – The Red Shoes by Hans Christian Andersen

~This Week on YA Indulgences~
The Sunday Post (#11)
Musical Monday Part 2  (#3.5) – Five Storytelling Songs
Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books For Readers Who Like Character Driven Novels
Review: Cut by Patricia McCormick
Waiting on Wednesday
Wondrous Covers Wednesday – Music Theme
Amber’s Rambles (#6) – Book Buying Binges
Review: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn
Featured Fairytale Friday (#8)
Review: The Chance You Won’t Return by Annie Cardi

~Possibilities~
Review: Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid (Thursday or Friday)

~Reading Wise~
I finished Cut by Patricia McCormick, I’m almost finished with The Chance You Won’t Return by Annie Cardi, and I’ve started Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid.
I’m putting Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas on hold. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen is still placed on hold for the time being.

~Everything Else~
Well my mom’s birthday was this past week, on the third. 🙂 It went pretty okay. My birthday’s on Saturday, the 11th! I’ll be 23. Like the past five years, I can’t believe it. Time’s flying by, but I never feel any older. I don’t really want much for my birthday, minus books, because, I always want books…But my parents never buy me books since I always have so many to read… It’s not my fault. I’d really like copies of Sylvia Plath’s “The Bell Jar”, “Ariel”, “The Unabridged Journals” and “The Collected Poems”…Like really like them…
Oh, bookshelves would be great too! Because I don’t have any, all my books are spread through out the house, the ones in my room are in a variety of stacks.
Sleeping Beauty and The Fault In Our Stars would be nice to receive.

STS
Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted at Tynga’s Reviews where bloggers can share what they have bought, borrowed, won or received book wise that week. 🙂 You can link up here.
This week wasn’t too eventful. I won Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson from Pam at Strong In The Broken Places by participating a ton! Ah, now if only I had done that with my college classes, one of my grades would have been a lot better. 😉 Anyway, I’m so excited to read this!
Goodreads (Abridged) Summary: 
Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good.
Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together… which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin.
It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role—and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter—but the other part isn’t sure she’s brave enough to let herself fall.

I was also granted acces to an e-arc of The Walled City by Ryan Graudin via Netgalley (Thanks Little, Brown Books for Young Readers!)
Goodreads Summary:
There are three rules in the Walled City: Run fast. Trust no one. Always carry your knife. Right now, my life depends completely on the first. Run, run, run.
Jin, Mei Yee, and Dai all live in the Walled City, a lawless labyrinth run by crime lords and overrun by street gangs. Teens there run drugs or work in brothels—or, like Jin, hide under the radar. But when Dai offers Jin a chance to find her lost sister, Mei Yee, she begins a breathtaking race against the clock to escape the Walled City itself.
This reminds me of The Maze Runner, which I haven’t read, in the whole, running aspect and the escaping aspect. Other than that, it sounds pretty different. I love the gang aspect it has, that’s rare. It sounds really fascinating and I can’t wait to read it.

~Weekly Quote(s)~
“Well, everyone needs at least one long road trip in their lives,” (Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid)

~Weekly Poem~
Mad Girl’s Love Song by Sylvia Plath
“I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead;
I lift my lids and all is born again.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)
The stars go waltzing out in blue and red,
And arbitrary blackness gallops in:
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead.
I dreamed that you bewitched me into bed
And sung me moon-struck, kissed me quite insane.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)
God topples from the sky, hell’s fires fade:
Exit seraphim and Satan’s men:
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead.
I fancied you’d return the way you said,
But I grow old and I forget your name.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)
I should have loved a thunderbird instead;
At least when spring comes they roar back again.
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)”

I hope everyone has a great week. 🙂
.
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

7 responses to “The Sunday Post (#10) + Stacking The Shelves (#6)

Leave a Reply

