Musical Monday (#4.5) – Five Songs

Musical Monday is a bi-monthly, alternating every other week, two part feature. The first part consists of a musical and the second part contains five songs.
Hey everyone. It’s Musical Monday. Tonight is the night where I would share five storytelling songs, but I decided to just change this feature to sharing five songs in general. Well, five songs in general that I really really like, if not love, most likely love. Enjoy. 🙂

A Drop In The Ocean by Ron Pope
This is one of my favorite songs ever in the universe. I discovered it from The Vampire Diaries, where I also discovered the rest of these songs years ago. Since discovering this song, I’ve fallen in love with the rest of his music as well. I highly prefer The Vampire Diaries version over the original version because of all the instruments in it. I can completely relate to the lyrics in this song because the person’s come to grips that they’re never going to be with the person they’re in love with.
It’s like wishing for rain as I stand in the desert,
but I’m holding you closer than most, ’cause you are my heaven.

Holding On and Letting Go by Ross Copperman
This is another unrequited love song about a person whose stuck holding on and letting go. I love the piano that starts the song out and the soft tempo the singer has. This just feels like one of those songs to go walking at night to. Maybe I think that because in the Vampire Diaries scene this takes place in, it’s
Some prayers find an answer
Some prayers never know
We’re holding on and letting go

Gravity by Sara Bareilles
There is a theme here. Oh this song. I have so many associations with this song, it’s unbelievable. Well, three anyway. 🙂 This is my favorite song by Sara Bareilles so I may have already shared it on another post, but even so, you can view it twice! Assuming you saw the previous post with it. I love how this song has piano in it. Sara’s voice is also amazing and she’s even better live which is why the video I chose is a live version.
You loved me ’cause I’m fragile
when I thought I was strong,
but you touch me for a little while
and all my fragile strength is gone

It Is What It Is by LIfehouse
This song makes me so sad. Nothing like hearing a relationship end despite everything. I can really get the feelings behind the “character” saying, “You said it, I get it, I guess it is what it is”, there’s no changing anything, it just is.
But maybe there’s no making it now
Too long we’ve been denying,
now we’re both tired of trying,
we hit a wall and we can’t get over it
nothing to relive, it’s water under the bridge
you said it, I get it, I guess it is what it is…
Here it comes, ready or not,
we both found out it’s not what we thought
that it would be, how it would be,
if the time could turn us around,
what once was lost may be found
for you and me, for you and me…

In My Veins by Andrew Belle
I like slower songs if you can tell from this and my other choices. This song sort of makes me sad. By sad I mean completely depressed by thinking about The Vampire Diaries! I think this song can resonate with a lot of people because sometimes when we meet people and they go away or something happens, we never really get “over” them.
Nothing goes as planned
everything will break
people say goodbye
in their own special way
all that you rely on
and all that you can fake
will leave you in the morning
but find you in the day.
Oh, you’re in my veins
and I cannot get you out.
Oh, you’re all I taste
at night, inside of my mouth.
Oh, you run away
’cause I am not what you found
Oh, you’re in my veins
and I cannot get you out.
Everything will change.
Nothin’ stays the same.
And nobody’s here’s perfect,
oh, but everyone’s to blame…

I hope you enjoy this post. 🙂
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

One response to “Musical Monday (#4.5) – Five Songs

Leave a Reply

