Weekly Recap (#2) (Nov. 17-23) + Stacking The Shelves

Hey. 🙂 Here is my second weekly recap, a semi-feature here at YA Indulgences. The weekly recap is pretty self aplanatory, I’ll share my past week on my blog, how my life’s going, the upcoming week and any other bookish things. 🙂 I’ll also be participating in Stacking The Shelves, a meme by Tynga’s Reviews.

~Life~

What to say about this?
On Monday I applied at Hazel Hill which I mentioned last week. After some confusion, she emailed me back saying she’d get back to me. I emailed her a few days later telling her I was still interested in the job, and she said she though she was okay with employees… But her opinion changes day to day and she would let me know if a position opened up. I guess that’s kind of good? Yeah?
On Tuesday a bit of chaos at home was happening and I just wasn’t in the mood to blog. I wanted to sort of disappear actually. Anyway, that’s sort of settled down for the time being.
Wednesday I went to Life Group where we played games, that was nice break from everything.
Other than that, I haven’t done much. I did just talk to a friend and I’m going to go stay with her for a number of days this Friday. Not to worry though, she has a laptop I can use there, so I’ll still be updating my blog while I’m gone from home. 🙂

~Last Week on YA Indulgences~

I didn’t post too much this week, but this is what I did post. In case you missed it.
Weekly Recap #1 + Stacking The Shelves
Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get/Want to Read I had to alter this TTT for me since I haven’t read many series starters. 
Review: The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1) by Suzanne Collins 4 Stars

~This Week on YA Indulgences~

Musical Monday – Spring Awakening
Top Ten Tuesday
Review: Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins
Wondrous Covers Wednesday – Fantasy Covers
Review: Girls Like Us by Gail Giles
Amber’s Rambles – Things I Like In Fiction (Part 1)
Review: 100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith
Saturday: Freebie Post

~Around The Blogosphere~

Amber @ The Mile Long Bookshelf says you know you’re a book blogger when… 
Charnell @ Reviews From A Bookworm debates paperback vs hardback.
Nereyda @ Mostly YA Book Obsessed shared a new feature called Where I See Fashion 
Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewers shared 21 gadgets and apps for book lovers 
Cristina @ Girl In The Pages discusses the latest YA Imprints craze and how necessary or helpful they really are.
Kit @ Reading Teen shares why she stopped blogging and started again and asks why are you apologizing?
Cristina @ Cristina’s Book Reviews talks about cheating in fiction
Rachel @ Parajunkee shares a quick mobile blogging tip and blog promoting tips
Amanda talks about buying books, free marketing and being a British “Tight Wod”

~Reading~

I am STILL in the middle of Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando, Adrenaline Crush by Laurie Boyle Crompton, and Paper Airplanes by Dawn O’Porter. On the bright side, I’m halfway through Paper Airplanes and Roomies I believe, so that’s good! Right? Right…
I don’t know what’s with me. I have all these amazing books checked out and my interest in them is like non existent. It’s really disappointing because they’re all library books and if I don’t read them in time, I either have to keep them out a little extra until I finish them (like with the above three) or return them and risk them having like five people on hold before I get to read them. I’m going on a super intense, extreme reading spree tonight though. No sleep until I finish all three books! Let’s see how well that goes. 🙂

~Stacking The Shelves~
STSStacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted at Tynga’s Reviews for bloggers to share their newest purchased, borrowed, won or gifted books. To join in and read other posts, click here.
I had to pick up a lot of books from the library again yesterday before my hold expired. Here they are!

Borrowed

Attachments Jellicoe Road Fan ArtEven In Paradise

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Fan Art by Sarah Tregay
Even In Paradise by Chelsea Philpot
BelzharGlory O'Brien's History of The FutureRites of PassageJust Like The Movies
Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer
Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King
Rites Of Passage by Joy N. Hensley
Just Like The Movies by Kelly Fiore

The ProgramPivot Point #1Mind Games #1

The Program (The Program #1) by Suzanne Young
Pivot Point (Pivot Point #1) by Kasie West
Mind Games (#1) by Kiersten White

~For Review~

I don’t believe I mentioned receiving some of these wonderful E-ARCS from Edelweiss and Netgalley so I’ll mention them now.
Thank you Netgalley for the following. 
Every Ugly Word by Aimee Salter (Thanks Alloy Entertainment!)
When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez (Thanks Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books!)
Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne (Thanks Dundurn!)
Thank you Edelweiss for the following. 🙂
Every Last Promise by Kristin Halbrook (Thanks HarperTeen!)
Invincible by Amy Reed (Thanks Katherine Tegan Books!)
None of The Above by L.W. Gregorio
99 Days by Katie Cotugno
Finding Paris by Joy Preble
Thank you Balzer + Bray for the latter three. 🙂
There are so many great ARCS I can’t wait to read! I think I’m most excited for None of The Above and Invincible.

~Weekly Poem~

There’s A Certain Slant of Light by Emily Dickinson

There’s a certain Slant of light,
Winter Afternoons –
That oppresses, like the Heft
Of Cathedral Tunes –
 
Heavenly Hurt, it gives us –
We can find no scar,
But internal difference –
Where the Meanings, are –
 
None may teach it – Any –
‘Tis the seal Despair –
An imperial affliction
Sent us of the Air –
 
When it comes, the Landscape listens –
Shadows – hold their breath –
When it goes, ’tis like the Distance
On the look of Death –
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

3 responses to “Weekly Recap (#2) (Nov. 17-23) + Stacking The Shelves

Leave a Reply

