Review: Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins

Catching FireTitle:  Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Published: September 1st 2009 (Scholastic Press) (First published January 1st 2009)
Pages: 391
Genres/Themes: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance, Survival
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Rating: Four Stars
Goodreads Summary:
Sparks are igniting.
Flames are spreading.
And the Capitol wants revenge.
Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol – a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.
Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.
Purchase: Barnes and Noble / Amazon / Book Depository
Cover Thoughts: The red in the cover really emphasizes the fire. I like how the cover is pretty simple but still eye catching and the mockinjay is still on it.
First Line: I clasp the flask between my hands even though the warmth from the tea has long since leached into the frozen air.
~First Thoughts~
Things have really changed since the first book.
~Review~
Catching Fire continues with Collins beautiful writing that makes you just fall into the dystopian society. Things are heating up in district 12 as Katniss and Peeta along with their families all live in the Victor’s Village. President Snow is angry at Katniss for ruining his games and wants her to convince not just the people of her and Peeta’s love, but to also convince himself. A task that proves to be a bit harder than in the first games. President Snow is convinced Katniss rebelled to start a rebellion rather than being too hopelessly in love with Peeta to live without him.
There was definitely a change of pace and atmosphere from the first Hunger Games book. The districts are slowly beginning uprisings which puts Katniss’ life in danger if they don’t stop. I loved the darker feel of Catching Fire, it’s much darker in district 12 than even before. There are now stockades, whipping posts and gallows. The fence Katniss uses to get into the woods is now turned on permanately.
Before the games though, there is talk of rebellion among the districts, Katniss is seen as the leader of it all, and things begin getting real. Let me just say, I love a good rebellion and found this the most interesting part of Catching Fire that wasn’t explored too much.

Do You Hear The People Sing (Les Miserables)

Although the games are both crucial parts in the first two Hunger Games series, Catching Fire does the games a lot different this time around. As luck would have it, Katniss and Peeta, still on the rocks, are left to compete in the Hunger Games once again. This year it’s the Quarter Quell, a special edition, so to say, of The Hunger Games. The Quarter Quell were supposedly written years ago, but after Katniss and Peeta’s actions, Katniss isn’t completely sure that’s the case this year. The competitors for this year’s games are the past victors. Katniss and Peeta are thrust into the games again, where this time, there can only be one victor and both are determined to save each other.
I think I may have liked the first book better in regards to the games. While the stakes are higher this time around, I liked Katniss working mostly by herself. It is interesting to see her work with Peeta though and figuring out the other tributes. I thought the tributes were really interesting, especially Finnick, Mags and Wiress.
One thing bothered me when reading Catching Fire, which is most likely due it being one of my own reading dislikes. This is the love triangle between Peeta, Katniss and Gale.
After Katniss has returned to district 12, Gale isn’t very close to her anymore after seeing her onscreen “relationship” with Peeta. He’s angry and upset, which is understandable, but I still didn’t like the triangle Peeta is heartbroken because he’s found out Katniss was only pretending to like him for both of their survival. I think the triangle was well done, writing wise, I like that Katniss isn’t sure WHO she has feelings for, but knows there’s something more important going on. I wish there had been some hint of Gale’s feelings for Katniss in The Hunger Games.
The twists in Catching Fire caught me completely off guard and I loved it for that. Throughout Catching Fire, I did have my suspicions, but I wasn’t exactly sure what they were about. I wondered why certain characters did certain things and in the end, it all came together amazingly, albeit fast.
There were so many twists in this story that I really loved. I was kept on my toes the entire time, trying to guess what was going on. If there’s one improvement I wish Collins had made, it would be to include the uprisings happening more. Although they are mentioned a fairly bit in the first half of the book.
I was stunned after reading the ending, absolutely stunned. I became so frustrated at myself for lending out Mockingjay (the final Hunger Games book) a week before and not knowing how the trilogy ends. I rate it four out of five stars. I’m very excited to see the next book. Let’s just say I’m hoping for some of this:

Les_Miserables_Overthrow_The_Government

Only happy, of course. 🙂
~Final Thoughts~
Omg, omg omg, that ending. Oh my gosh. I can’t believe it. I need the last book. Why did I lend it out again? No more lending books out anymore! Oh my gosh.
~Recommended For~
Fans of the first book, fans of dystopian, fans of strong heroines, and fans of subtle romance.
 
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

8 responses to “Review: Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins

Leave a Reply

