Amber’s Rambles – Things I Like In Fiction

~Amber’s Rambles~
For today’s Amber’s Rambles,  I thought I would talk about things I like in fiction.  If you go to my About Me page, you’ll see I already list a few things I like in fiction. I thought I would list more and elaborate on some of  them.
  • Unrequited Love
    • There aren’t nearly enough novels about unrequited love. I don’t think I’ve ever actually finished one besides an example I’m going to mention below, Les Miserables.
      I’ll always pull for the Eponines in the world rather than the Cosettes. Though it is hard to sort of not like Cosette when given her circumstances. . .
      What can I say? I’m a fan of unhappy endings as much as I am for happy endings, though I may pull for happy endings more often. In a recent book I’ve been reading, Every Ugly Word, the main character Ashley has a best friend that she has feelings for, but he doesn’t reciprocate them and she doesn’t tell him.
      To be more specific, I love it when the female main character is the one to have feelings for someone but then have the love be unrequited because the guy doesn’t like her. I don’t know, it just seems like it’s always the GUY who has the feelings and the girl doesn’t understand until the very end of the novel. It’s sad.
      Okay, I’ll be honest, I mostly love unrequited love in stories because I can relate to it, who can’t though? It’s inevitable in life, it seems like.
  • Sarcastic Characters
  • Character Driven novels
    • I prefer character driven novels to action ones by far. I don’t need too much “big” stuff to happen to be captured by the story. I love getting to know characters and see their journey.
      Ex. Perks of Being A Wallflower, Speak
  • Ensemble casts
  • Family Dynamics or Plots
  • New York, Paris, London, California, or small town settings
  • Road trips
    • I don’t really know about this one for sure. I have a few books that feature a road trip, but it doesn’t last throughout the whole thing, the parts that I’ve read anyway. Like in An Abundance of Katherine and Let’s Get Lost.
    • In An Abundance of Katherines, the road trip lasts for a few chapters and it’s over.
    • In Let’s Get Lost, we see the character taking a road trip and meeting different people. Except we don’t see the story focus on the road trip itself.
  • Mystery and thriller
  • Bad/Party girl/misunderstood characters (Sex, drugs, drinking)
  • Party scenes
  • Free-Verse
  • Lots of figurative language
    • Purple Prose like in We Were Liars
  • Alternate point of views
    • The Truth About Alice, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist
  • Intertwined stories within a series.
    • Examples Anna and the French Kiss series and Faded Photographs Series
  • Strong back history
    • In The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, a good part of the book is about Ava’s grandmother and mother’s history. I haven’t read it yet, but that alone gets me really excited about it. I love reading flashbacks and hearing about long ago events.
  • Introspective Characters:
    • Charlie from Perks of Being A Wallflower
    • Finn from 100 Sideways Miles
  • Support Groups/Group Therapy
    • If you’ve read some of my reviews, you’ll notice this is always my favorite part of the novels. I love hearing about characters in support groups or group therapy. What began this enjoyment was first seeing it in the movie of the musical Rent. It was such a highlight. I then liked the cancer support group that was touched on extremely lightly in The Fault In Our Stars.
      • Also seen in Cut, Kiss of Broken Glass, Impulse, and Clean.
  • Friendship 
    • Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants, Pretty Little Liars, Girls Like Us, Paper Airplanes, Roomies
    • Platonic Friendship–Yes please. I don’t really see this anywhere, but possibly I’m not looking well enough?
  • Music
    • I love when music takes a big focus of a story like in Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and Juliet, Naked. Music is one of my lifelines so when it’s just as big to a character, I just love that.
  • Controversial/Realistic issues
    • The Truth About Alice (Sexting), A Midsummer’s Nightmare (Step-Sibling relationship), Kiss of Broken Glass (Cutting)
    • I like reading books where the main character deals with something and has to overcome it.
  • Realistic Relationships
    • I love seeing relationships build up over the period of a  book so two characters aren’t just thrust into a relationship for the sake of romance. An example of this is Free To Fall. The romantic aspect of the book is one of my favorites.
  • ­­Nonlinear style
    • I love novels that aren’t told in order, I love flashbacks and random things thrown in.
      • Ex. If I Stay, We Were Liars and Falling Into Place
  • Darker stories
    • I like stories that are deeper in subject matter and maybe not so conventional like A Midsummer’s Nightmare and Kiss of Broken Glass.
  • Literary References (Free To Fall, We Were Liars)
    • I love when literary references are intertwined into stories like the two books mentioned above.
  • Mental Illness
    • I love reading about mental illnesses. I would love for more books to be about the main character dealing with another character with the illness like a significant other or parent. (The Chance You Won’t Return)
Wow. As you can see, I love a LOT in fiction. If you have read any of these books, know of any books with theses themes, let me know! Also let me know what you like in fiction. I love hearing people’s different tastes.
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

10 responses to “Amber’s Rambles – Things I Like In Fiction

Leave a Reply

