Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

Top Ten TuesdayHey guys, it’s Top Ten Tuesday (TTT). Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme put together by the women at The Broke and The Bookish. To find future lists you can go here and to participate you can go here.
This week’s list is the top ten books you’ve read in 2014, either by genre, publishing year or just overall. I thought I would discuss my ten favorite overall books I read this year.
~Top Ten Books I Read In 2014~
~From 2014~
Free To Fall1. Free To Fall by Lauren Miller
I have a review coming up for this one right after this post. To make it short though, I loved this book. I loved the characters, plot, the mystery. I really don’t want to say too much so I’ll actually have something to say in my review. 🙂
The Truth About Alice2. The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu (Review)
I want to read more books like this. I need to read more books like this. The way Mathieu creates these characters and the overall story is just interesting. Like I said in my review, it’s like a mashup of Easy A and Fast Times At Ridgemont High, two movies I love so much and need to watch again.
We Were Liars3. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (Review)
I loved the poetic language in this book, the mystery, the fairytales, the literary references in general, the sort of non-linear style it took on. I only wish it was longer, but for being so short, it definitely contained a lot.
Rites of Passage4. Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley
I love the main character Sam and her backstory with her family. The military school and hazing aspects made me really want to read this and I’m so glad I did. It’s really great and I’ll be reviewing it within the next couple weeks.
Falling Into Place5. Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang (Review)
What can I even say about this? From the first sentence, gosh, from the summary, I was completely hooked into this story. It gave me so many feelings and I really connected with the main character, Liz, which seems to be rare for readers of this book. It’s definitely one of my favorite books ever.
~Before 2014~
If I Stay6. If I Stay (#1) (Review) and Where She Went (#2) (Review) by Gayle Forman
I really loved the non linear style both of these books took. I like how they contrasted each other in plots and alternated point of views. The first one was such an emotional read and the second was such a breath of fresh air, full of second chances.
A Midsummer's Nightmare7. A Midsummer’s Nightmare by Kody Keplinger (Review)
Whitley is a character I always knew I needed but wasn’t sure I would ever find one. I love Whitley’s attitude, her behavior, her character growth. I loved the family dynamics in this and the romance. I like how it dealt with a sort of taboo subject, but didn’t make it sound so taboo necessarily.
Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe8. Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz (Review)
This is one of the greatest coming of age stories I’ve ever read. It definitely gave me a Perks of Being A Wallflower feeling with it’s simple writing style.
TheStatisticalProbabilityofLove9. The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith (Review)
Ah, I wanted to read this book for years before I finally did. It wasn’t exactly what I thought it would be plot-wise, but I loved it. It made me just want to take an airplane going anywhere, but mostly London. Like A Midsummer’s Nightmare, I loved the family dynamics in this as well. I love that the romance isn’t the focal point of the story, but rather just two people connecting to each other.
The Hunger Games10. The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1) by Suzanne Collins (Review)
I can’t believe I took so long to read this, I don’t even know WHY I took so long to read it….Other than the fact I hadn’t owned it before September, but you know. Minor details. I loved Katniss so much and Panem sounds so interesting.
Bonus:
Anna and The French Kiss (#1) by Stephanie Perks
Every Day by David Levithan
Let me know in the comments what your favorite read books were for the year. 🙂
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

Leave a Reply

