End of The Year Book Survey (’14)

Wow, I’ve been blogging for five months. I can’t believe how the time’s just flown by. I thought I would do this survey and talk about the past year. This survey was made by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner! (Graphics are from her post as well.. Warning: There may be a lot of repeats. 🙂
2014 Reading Stats
Number Of Books You Read: 33…But I’ve started at least six books I never finished….
Number of Re-Reads: 0
Genre You Read The Most From: Contemporary
Best in Books
1. Best book you read in 2014?
Free To Fall by Lauren Miller, We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley
2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
Love Letters To The Dead by Ava Dellaira, Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, and To All The Boys I Loved Before (#1) by Jenny Han.
Love Letters To The Dead came across was Perks 2.0.
Anna and The French Kiss was going so well….until it wasn’t.
To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before was just disappointing. It wasn’t what I expected, the premise was misleading, and there was a really annoying character in the novel that I wanted to smack a million times.
Will I be reading the sequel? Yes.
3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014?
Good:
Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn. Originally I was turned off by all the cursing, but by the middle I was in love with the themes in it.
Free To Fall: This book was great, it was surprising in the conclusion and everything going on throughout it.
Bad:
Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins as I mentioned above. I thought I was really going to like this book and I did…in the beginning, but then the latter half happened and I just couldn’t like it too much.
4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?
N/A 😦 No one read any of my suggestions, which I believe was only one, We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.
5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?
Series I started: The Hunger Games (I know, I know, I know)
Best Sequel: Catching Fire (I know)
Best Series Ender: N/A
6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?
Amy Zhang and Lauren Miller
7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart was sort of a mystery which I don’t really read, but I ended up loving it so I’ll definitely read more.
Free To Fall by Lauren Miller is a sci-fi/futuristic novel and I generally read straight contemporary, but once again, I ended up loving it.
8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
I couldn’t flip through Free To Fall by Lauren Miller fast enough. That book kept me questioning everything with it’s twists and turns, I couldn’t wait to see how everything ended.
9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart had such a great creative effect on me, emotionally speaking. I would love to re-read it and put everything together now that I know.
10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?
You’re kidding, right? Let me see. 🙂
Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The UniverseThe Truth About AliceLove Letters To The DeadTheStatisticalProbabilityofLove
11. Most memorable character of 2014?
Whitley from A Midsummer’s Nightmare
12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart had such pretty prose in it.
Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of the Universe was very poetic, thought provoking, but was also told in a simple writing style that I really liked.
13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?
Well, let’s see… Free To Fall by Lauren Miller, Every Day by David Levithan and of course, Aristotle and Dante.
14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read?
If I Stay by Gayle Forman and The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight. I remember looking at the books every once in a while in BArnes and Noble, but I never pushed myself to buy them. If I Stay didn’t actually appeal to me at all. It’s only until the movie trailer came out that my interest was sparked and I thought I was missing something. 
As for The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight, I eyed this book from the time it came out. It was always on my “Need to read” list, but I never got around to it until this past summer when I fell in love with it.
15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?
“When someone’s been gone a long time, at first you save up all the things you want to tell them. You try to keep track of everything in your head. But it’s like trying to hold on to a fistful of sand: all the little bits slip out of your hands, and then you’re just clutching air and grit. That’s why you can’t save it all up like that.
Because by the time you finally see each other, you’re catching up only on the big things, because it’s too much bother to tell about the little things. But the little things are what make up life.”  (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han)
16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?
Longest: Free To Fall
Shortest: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist
17. Book That Shocked You The Most
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
(OTP = one true pairing if you aren’t familiar)
I don’t like the pressure of choosing! I don’t know! I haven’t been “huge” on any of the couples really….
19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
Rory and Hershey from Free To Fall 
Whitley and Harrison from A Midsummer’s Nightmare.
20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously
I haven’t read anything from previous authors really since I only got back into reading. I’m going to go with this answer though, Looking For Alaska by John Green. 🙂
21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, the blogging world in general1
22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?
North from Free To Fall
He works at a coffee shop, he’s in a band (sort of), he hacks computers for a living, he’s free-thinking AND he reads? Yes please!
23. Best 2014 debut you read?
Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang
24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
Panem in The Hunger Games. It had such a dark vibe to the area, especially in Catching Fire.
25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
Just Like The Movies by Kelly Fiore
26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?
Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang and We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
I honestly have no idea.
28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
If I Stay by Gayle Forman and Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang
29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?
Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang
The non-linear format of it was really interesting along with the unknown narrator and snippets of events. Then there’s the whole subject matter which was great.
30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley, just ugh. People suck.
Your Blogging/Bookish life
1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014?
But they’re all new to me! I love The Perpetual Page Turner, Bookmark Lit, and YA Midnight Reads. And Oh The Books. And Nose Graze.
2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2014?
I really really like/love my review on Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?
I liked my discussion series on book buying bans, binges and budgets.
4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?
The #IslaIsComing read-along, though I didn’t participate for the last book. Haha. It was fun though because it was my first real “participation” event with the community. 🙂
5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?
Making new friends and receiving E-ARCS.
7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?
My review for Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman has always received the most views.
8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?
Hmm, my few discussion posts. 🙂 Specifically my series on Book Buying Bans, Binges and Budgets.
9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?
Book Outlet, Thriftbooks, and Sliced Books. Sliced Books was an amazing discovery since you can set “alerts” for certain books or authors and you’ll get an email when your “price match” has been made.
10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
Not really. 🙂 I started my blog in July so I wasn’t here in the beginning of the year. I did participate in the Suicide and Mental Health Illness Theme Read Rachel hosted @ Resistance is Futile and the #IslaIsComing read-along.
Looking Ahead
1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?
Hmm…Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout, Belzhar by Meg Woltizer, Glory O’Brien’s History of The Future by A.S. King, Damsel Distressed by Kelsey Macke, and Something Real by Heather.
And for some backlist titles: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West
2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?
The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord
3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
Love and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?
P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han and Get Dirty by Gretchen McNeil
5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?
I want to read at least 100 books this year and have 100 followers on BlogLovin’ and WordPress.
6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
I haven’t read one yet. 😦 But I have an ARC for Love and Other Black Holes that I can’t wait to read!
If you’ve done the survey, feel free to link the post down below so I can check out your answers. 🙂
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

2 responses to “End of The Year Book Survey (’14)

Leave a Reply

