Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Blogging Resolutions/Goals

Top Ten TuesdayIt’s Top Ten Tuesday, the weekly meme hosted at The Broke and The Bookish. Bloggers are invited to share in with their own “top ten” picks for the week. You can join here. This week’s list is:
~Top Ten Blogging Resolutions/Goals~
And of course mine’s a little longer than ten items long. 🙂
  1. Reach 200 followers on BlogLovin’, Twitter and my own blog.
    • I’ve had a pretty steady stream of followers for blogging for five months. I’d like to have 200 by next December. If I don’t have that many, I’ll live though. 🙂
  2. Write a guest post for another blog
    • I’ve seen guest posts done on other blogs and I always love reading other people’s opinions. I’d love to write a guest post myself on some topic.
  3. Have a guest post written for my blog.
    • Vice versa, I’d love for someone to guest post for my own blog. 
  4. Interview an author
    • I’ve “tried out” for a blog tour and if I get it, I’ll hopefully be able to interview the author for my “stop” which would be so cool. This would be great for the writer side of me as well as the blogger side.
  5. Interview a blogger
    • This goes along with number 4 basically. I’ve seen others interview bloggers and I would like to interview one myself. Without asking the “same old” questions and it would hopefully be interesting.
  6. Stop worrying about stats and “popularity” and just have fun.
    • I’m mostly over this one, thank God. I used to check my stats constantly, see if each day they got higher, each week, each month, but I’ve realized while it matters, it isn’t ALL that matters. I blog for me and sure, a million people could read my blog and I’d be happy, but I think I’d be satisfied with only a few dedicated followers. 🙂 But as you can tell from the first resolution on the list, I wouldn’t mind more.
    • I want to do more “fun” posts which is what my Saturdays were supposed to be for, but they haven’t been exactly. I want to mix up my reviewing style so I have a few different “templates” to go off of, so I’m not stuck. I’m excited to use these in the future.
  7. Have more discussions!
    • Originally I created Amber’s Rambles as my discussion forum and my goals was to write/post one every Thursday. That has not happened because, well, life. To help out with this, I joined the Book Blog Discussion Challenge 2015 hosted by Shannon at It Starts At Midnight and Nicole at Feed Your Fiction. Hopefully this will be some good motivation. I’ll be able to read all the other discussions that happen too. Plus I have two sort of new features I want to start that will cause me to discuss a bit more. More on those later though after I figure them out.
  8. Save up enough money for BEA 2016
    • I would love to go to BEA this year, but I don’t think I’d be able to save up enough money in time, Plus….I wouldn’t want to go alone and I don’t know too many people who would just go to New York with me to a book conference. Haha. So my goal is to go in 2016 when BEA moves to Chicago which is a lot closer. But not much cheaper I imagine. 😉
  9. Get my Netgalley and Edelweiss rates up
    • My Netgalley ratio is non-existant because of the first 1-2 months when I requested books only to discover due to my outdated software, I had no way of downloading Adobe Digital Editions. Fortunately, I’m reading one of the books now and have plans to read another one not too far away from now.
    • I have a lot of books from EW that i need to read that I will be devoting about 90% of my reading time to. To help with this, I have joined the Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge hosted by Emily @ Falling For YA.
  10. Become Auto-Approved for HarperCollins and receive an E-ARC from Hachette on EW
    • Yes, these are actual goals for me. So far, I’ve been approved for almost every Harper Collins book I’ve requested except one. I’m hoping if I get all of them read and reviewed, I’ll have a good chance of getting auto-approved from them. This could be good or bad. 
    • I requested two books from Hachette in the past, particularly from their Poppy imprint, which I was declined for, I really like a couple of the books under that imprint, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to receive one later in the year.
  11. Keep Pages Up To Date
    • I really suck at this, which is weird because I would think I’d be the over-organized person that has to have everything just right. Apparently I’m not. I’m hoping to get better at this in the new year. I want to get my blog roll, review page, feature pages, and challenge page all up to date. I mostly slack on this when it comes to adding the reviews and features. Besides keeping my blog up to date, I would love to keep my Facebook page up to date and start adding semi-reviews to GoodReads since I’m really bad at that and always forget.
  12. Don’t Procrastinate So Much
    • I procrastinate a lot, it’s ridiculous. I’m a big “wait until the very last minute” to do something. Even if i have the something halfway finished already, it generally doesn’t get posted for whatever reason until close to midnight. I want to get my reviews posted on time, keep up with my features and actually comment on blogs instead of “saving” them and telling myself I’ll go back later and comment which I almost never do because I always forget.
  13. Find my Blogging Voice
    • I always tell myself if I talked the way I typed, I’d be a bit more easy to talk to in real life. As it is…I am still trying to figure out my blogging/reviewing voice. I’m a bit more outgoing on here than I ever am in real life, but I don’t want to seem “fake” or like I’m “trying too hard”. I want to get more comfortable with blogging and reviewing.
I narrowed my list down to solely blogging goals, if you’re interested in my reading goals for the year, you can check that out on Thursday or in other words, THE FIRST OF THE YEAR! 🙂
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Blogging Resolutions/Goals

  • Erin @ The Hardcover Lover

    OMG. Interviewing a blogger would be so cool. I’ve actually never even thought about it, except for a guest feature that I was working on.

    I also want to get to 200 followers. I was hoping to get to 200 Bloglovin followers by the end of today, but it doesn’t look like it’s happening.

    OMG. What are your secrets to getting Harper approvals? They’ve denied every request I’ve sent, and it bums me out because I’ve been reading HarperTeen books religiously since I started reading YA! Ahhhhh. I’ve got jelly on my nose.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Aw, well I’m sure you’ll get that many in the new year! 🙂

      Haha, I don’t really have any secrets. That’s crazy though, I know another blogger has that problem with Harper. It’s really weird. I know that I ALWAYS put something in the box that says “Why are you requesting this title?”. I think that’s a big reason why I get picked. I also have my stats updated in the main box that gets sent with every request.

      Hopefully you’ll have better luck in the new year!

      Like

  • Ashley

    These are some awesome goals! Maybe I’ll see you at BEA 2016. 😉

    Sadly I think HarperCollins has stopped doing auto approvals on Edelweiss. That’s something I heard from a few other people. So if you don’t get auto approved, don’t take it personally! I think it’s just something they’ve stopped doing (maybe due to piracy or something).

    Liked by 1 person

  • Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    So glad you’re joining us for the Discussion Challenge. I’m looking forward to discussing with you in 2015! I need to make that procrastination goal – but I won’t bother because I know I won’t stick to it! 🙂

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Yes, hopefully I’ll come up with some good discussion. Haha, I always have a goal for not procrastinating as much but….it always seems to happen. Maybe this year will be better. But so far it’s working out the same. Thanks for stopping by Nicole!

      Like

  • Weekly Recap (#8) | Young Adult Indulgences

    […] Top Ten Tuesday – My Top “13” Blogging Resolutions […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

