Stacking The Shelves (#16)

Stacking The ShelvesLo and behold I am in fact doing my Stacking The Shelves Post SEPARATE from my weekly recap post. 🙂 This is because I couldn’t resist not talking my lovely Book Outlet order that arrived today. Along with a few other e-books I purchased this past week. If you don’t know what Stacking The Shelves is, it’s a weekly meme hosted at Tynga’s Reviews where bloggers can link up and share the books they’ve acquired over the past week. 🙂 You can do so right here.
Okay, so as I said, my Book Outlet order came today! It’s really weird because I was thinking of telling my mom this morning that I was expecting a package sometime, but I didn’t feel like getting out of bed to do so. 😛 So then a few hours later, around noon, she comes up and sets the Book Outlet box on my table! I must be psychic, that’s the only explanation.

~From BookOutlet~


My Last Kiss by Bethany Neal

My_Last_Kiss

I mentioned buying this book from Amazon on the Kindle, but then discovered Book Outlet had it for only $5.99! I decided to return my unread Kindle book and purchase this instead. 🙂 Since I bought it for the Boxing Day sale it was only around $3. I’ve been wanting to read this since I heard about it, but my library didn’t carry it. Due to this I justified buying it. 🙂
Something Real by Heather Demetrios

Something Real

I’ve attempted to put a “hold” on this book at my library, but apparently no one…knows where it is so it’s being…traced? True story. I love the summary of this book and the reality show aspect. I would love to see how a teen deals with having grown up on tv their entire lives.
Brutal Youth by Anthony Breznican

Brutal Youth

After reading a review on Brutal Youth and seeing that it dealt with bullying, I really wanted to give this book ago. It is a larger than usual hardcover, so I figured rather than check it out (since I probably won’t get to it soon) I would buy it.
Right of Way by Lauren Barnholdt

Right of Way

I already own Two-Way Street, the companion novel to Right Of Way, even though this one interests me more.  It sounds like a great self-discovery story with romance thrown in and I’m just really excited to read it since it all takes place on a road trip.
She Is Not Invisible by Marcus Sedgwick

She Is Not Invisible

I couldn’t resist not buyinng this, part of the reason is because of the gorgeous cover and the other reason is because….it was on sale. 🙂 it’s not as long as I thought it was so I’ll probably be able to read it in a day. I think it’s going to be really interesting reading a book through a blind person’s eyes.
OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu

OCD Love Story

I’m interested in reading more YA novels revolving around different mental illnesses. This is one I’ve been planning on reading for a while and even checked it out of the library at one point, but I never got to it.
Magnolia by Kristi Cook

Magnolia

I’ll admit I’m not quite sold on this, when I first read reviews and such it didn’t really seem like my type of thing. I thought I would give it a go though and of course, the pretty cover helps matters.
Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Second Chance Summer

And with this book my Mogan Matson physical copy collection is complete! I had been wondering if I should purchase this in physical form or Kindle form. On one hand, it’s a bit long for me and long books don’t intimidate me as much if I’m reading them on an e-reader, on the other hand, I already have Matson’s other books, so it would be weird to not have this one in physical form. Due to it being on sale, I figured I would grab it. I’m so glad I did because I love the cover.
The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

The Distance Between Us

Ah, my first Kasie West book! I’m so excited to read it. This is another book I wasn’t sure if I would purchase it for the Kindle or physical form. I’ve heard nothing but great things about Kasie West so I’m excited to read this and see what all the hype is about and if it’s worth it. 🙂
Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas

Ask Again Later

With Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless being out, I want to read Ask Again Later to get a feel of Czukas’ style. 
Now for what I bought for my Kindle.
I can’t resist a sale, you guys should know that by now. 🙂

~Kindle Purchases~

The Coldest Girl In Coldtown by Holly Black

The Coldest Girl In Coldtown

I’d mentioned this book before on Twitter and Cait @ Paper Fury said I HAD to read it. She also mentioned a sarcastic vampire and while I may be “over” vampires, I’m never over sarcastic people. I picked this up when it was a $1.99.
The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking Book 1) by Patrick Ness

The Knife of Never Letting Go

I’ve heard a bit about the Chaos Walking series and A Monster Calls. I don’t really know what this is about, but I’m willing to give it a try.
These Broken Stars (The Starbound Trilogy Book 1) by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

These_Broken_Stars

Ah, this novel invokes space, has “stars” in the title, is part of a series called “Starbound” and has a gorgeous cover. How could I resist? 
Fragile Line by Brooklyn Skye

Fragile Line

This was a random book that popped up when I was looking at the suggestions for what to read on Amazon. Since it was only $.99 and I read some good reviews, I thought I would give it a try. It involves a girl who forgets small things in the beginning then winds up in a stranger’s apartment and it starts getting crazy from there. It sounds good. 🙂
Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1) by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Beautiful Creatures

This is one of the many book to movie adaptations where I watched the movie before reading the book. I remember reading about this movie coming out a long time ago in some magazine. They described it as “the next Twilight” (because, you know, supernatural characters….I can totally see their comparison ;)) which was the first turn off for me. Haha. I actually really liked the movie though and while I know it sort of blended the books together to make it, I’m looking forward to read this and hoping it doesn’t let me down.
Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy

I’m really into reading books that were made into movies. I know I said above I’m sort of over the vampire craze but I couldn’t resist buying this. I heard the series is actually really good plus it takes place at an academy which I just love so much. I’m hoping for good things with this.
Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) by Richelle Mead

Bloodlines

Okay, for whatever reason, I had though this was the series that the show True Blood was based on. After reading about it later, I discovered it’s more of a side prequel series to Vampire Academy. Apparently the book having the same author as Vampire Academy didn’t give me a clue. 🙂 I must not have noticed that.
The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon

The Bone Season

I seem to really be into futuristic stories right now, so that’s cool. The Bone Season takes place in 2059 and world cities are under the control of a security force. The main character is Paige who is clairvoyant and trying to find out information through reading other’s minds. The idea of a psychic character sounds really interesting since I’ve never really read about one before. I’ve heard some good things about this series.
Jackaby by William Ritter

Jackaby

This is described as Doctor Who meets Sherlock. I’m not a fan of either one, but that’s because I’ve never read nor watched either of these things. I love a good detective though and I’m thinking of Veronica Mars right now, though that’s probably not really similar with Jackaby. I like that Jackaby has a somewhat psychic ability though.
And finally. . .

~For Review~

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not

I am so much more happy than not about receiving this. I requested it around last month, possibly late November, By mid-December I figured I just wouldn’t be getting it. Then I checked my email earlier this week and there it was! Right there for me to download to my Kindle. I am so excited for this. It’s known as Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind meets Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe, two things I really really love. I have such high expectations for this book.
Yes, as usual I have a giant list of books. 🙂 Let me know what books you’ve received this week and if you’ve read any of the above, and if so, your thoughts. 
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

14 responses to “Stacking The Shelves (#16)

Leave a Reply

