Weekly Recap (#10) + Stacking The Shelves (#18)

It’s time for my weekly recap where I generally link up to Tynga’s Reviews for the Stacking The Shelves weekly meme and share what books I’ve received this week. 🙂 You can read more about Stacking The Shelves here and link up. Mostly life’s been pretty okay. 
~Last Week on YA Indulgence~
Weekly Recap (#9) + Stacking The Shelves (#17)
Bout of Books ’15 Wrap-Up
All The Books I Meant To Read Last Year But Didn’t (TTT)
Wondrous Covers Wednesdays (#18) – Couples in Profile
Review: Paper Aeroplanes/Airplanes #1 by Dawn O’Porter (Three Stars)
More Than This Provincial Life (Intro)
~This Week on YA Indulgences~
Review: Adrenaline Crush
Top Ten Tuesday
Wondrous Covers Wednesdays (#19)
Amber’s Rambles (Still deciding on a topic)
Review: Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley
More Than This Provincial Life (#1)
~Reading Wise~
I read All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. It was so amazing for the most part. I loved it. I also recommended it to two people this morning. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear their thoughts when they eventually read it.
I’m now reading Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares. Oh! I discovered my library has ebooks. Well, re-discovered it….Well, I mean I used it for the first time. It’s so great!  
I hope to finish When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez this week. I started it last week and I’m just not too into it. 
There’s a read-a-long for The DUFF by Kody Keplinger that began on the 13th and ends on the 31st of this month. Then Kody Keplinger will be having a twitter#DUFFCHAT at @Kody_Keplinger on 2/2 at 8PM EST. You can read more about it here. I loved A Midsummer’s Nightmare so much so I have high hopes for this one. I still haven’t read any of it though. 😦
~Blogging Changes~
I’ve added a new feature called “More Than This Provincial Life”. It will basically be all non-blogging or reading related life, so more stuff about me. There will probably be a lot of talk of decade old tv shows, as well as music, movies and anime. As well as my life if anything interesting happens. 🙂
I haven’t done Musical Monday in a couple months now it seems. I think I’m going to be changing it up though so instead of making it a “bi-monthly” feature, it will be “whenever’ feature, but it will always be on Mondays since…that’s in the feature name. Lol. I’m going to broaden it up so in addition to having musical and song posts, I’m going to include playlists for books or songs that remind me of certain books/characters. This is semi inspired by Erin (@HardcoverLover)’s Soundtrack Saturday meme.
~Stacking The Shelves~
Stacking The ShelvesStacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted @ Tynga’s Reviews for people to share whatever books they’ve received for the week. It’s been a great Stacking The Shelves week, though I didn’t get too many books this week.  Oh wait! I borrowed quite a few ebooks since I remembered my library has them though. 
~Bought ~
Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen (E-book)
~Gifted~
Rebels By Accident by Patricia Dunn (Patricia so graciously emailed me about how she’d seen I requested it on NG, but they had run out of copies and offered to give me a copy! So thanks a million times to her. Rebels By Accident involves Egypt and revolution, yes please!
~Freebie!~
Class of ’98 by A.L. Player (This book seems really cute, I wanted to read it since reading Lauren’s (BookmarkLit’s) review on it. I seriously almost bought this book a couple times this month on Amazon, but held off. I was so happy when I saw it was free a few days ago! I immediately got it.)
~Borrowed E-Books~
  • Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn
  • Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn
    • David Levithan and Rachel Cohn need to just do more of these joint books, I loved Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares is great so far.
  • Love, Stargirl (Stargirl #2) by Jerry Spinelli
    • Ah, I couldn’t resist getting this, I read the first one and really liked it. I’m sad about this one though because you already know what’s going to happen regarding something…
  • Althea & Oliver by Christina Moracho
    • Im’ really excited to finish this because I’d borrowed it in November, then I spent the majority of time of December, well, 11 days at my friend’s house and didn’t even get halfway through it. I remember everything pretty well though so there shouldn’t be any problems picking back up where I left off….or around where I left off at.
  • Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer
  • Girl Online by Zoe Sugg
~Borrowed Audiobooks~
Veronica Mars: The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line (#1) by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham 
I’m not sure if I’ll be listening to the audiobook because A. I’m not sure how it works and B. I can’t find my ipod cord to add it to said ipod so….yeah. 😦

~For Review~

City Love by Susanna Colasanti

~Reading Quotes~
No more winter at all. Finch, you brought me spring. (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
And in that moment there’s nothing I fear except losing hold of her hand. (All The Bright Places)
You are all the colors in one, at full brightness. (All The Bright Places)
He says, “‘Lovely’ is a lovely word that should be used more often.” (All The Bright Places)
The problem with people is that they forget that most of the time it’s the small things that count. (All The Bright Places)
“Well sure, who doesn’t need a boyfriend? But realistically, those exotic creatures are hard to come by.”  (Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares)
“Their first date was at the symphony. How mean can a guy be who likes Mozart? I hope, at least.”  (Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares)

Let me know if you’ve read any of the books above or what books you’ve received this week. Have a good week. 🙂 ❤
 
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

6 responses to “Weekly Recap (#10) + Stacking The Shelves (#18)

Leave a Reply

