Musical Monday: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven Playlist

You may notice this isn’t my usual musical Monday post, that is because I am “revamping” (fancy word for me just changing what I’m doing) my feature to broaden itself so I don’t get bored with it (not that I ever could).
Musical Monday is typically bi-monthly post where I showcase a musical in part one and songs in part two, however, that is now changing and will be anything involving music. 
After reading All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, I made up a list of songs that made me think of the amazing book. I’ll link them all in a Youtube playlist, but list the songs here and relatable lyrics.
If you haven’t read All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, you really really need to. Also, I suggest holding off on reading this post until you’ve read the book. 🙂 
  1. Rooftop by Melissa McCelland *
    • Crouched down on a rooftop
      In my mother’s high-heeled shoes
      I’m wondering if I will drop,
      fly away with you
  2. It’s Not My Time by Three Doors Down
    • Cause it’s not my time, I’m not going
      there’s a fear in me, it’s not showing,
      this could be the end of me 
      and everything I know,
      Oh, but I won’t go.
  3. Falls On Me by Fuel
    • And all of your weight,
      all you dream
      falls on me, it falls on me.
      And your beautiful sky,
      the light you bring falls on me,
      it falls on me.
      . . .
      Am I that strong to carry on?
      I might change your life,
      I might save my world,
      could you save me?
  4. I Should Tell You from RENT
    • I should tell you I’m disaster, I forget how to begin it
      Let’s just make this part go faster, I have yet to be in it
  5. F.N.T. by SemiSonic *
    • I’m surprised that you’ve never been told before
      That you’re lovely and you’re perfect
      and that somebody wants you
  6. Everywhere by Michelle Branch
    • And when I touch your hand
      It’s then I understand
      The beauty that’s within
      It’s now that we begin
      You always light my way
      I hope there never comes a day
      No matter where I go
      I always feel you so 
  7. Better With You by Five Times August *
    • So tell me, where did I go wrong before you?
      Before you came along, well it seems like I was lost.
      you showed me how to do things right,
      now I’m, so glad that now you’re mine.
  8. With You by Levi Kreis
    • I’m having light
      Of the light of an angel
      You may be all I’ve been dreaming of
      I know the likes of infatuation
      And I’ll be surprise if this isn’t love
      Cuz I just want to break through
      Reach out and feel you 
      Fall into me yeah
  9. Remember by Gabriel Mann *
    • Picture it all in your mind
      remember where we are now
      open your eyes, take it all in,
      remember where we are,
      this is where your life begins.
  10. Away From the Sun by Three Doors Down
    • Cause now again I’ve found myself so far down,
      away from the sun, that shines into the darkest place
      I’m so far down, away from the sun again.
  11. Only Hope by Mandy Moore *
    • So I lay my head back down
      and I lift my hands and pray,
      to be only yours, I pray,
      to be only yours, I know now, 
      you’re my only hope
  12. Painting Flowers By All Time Low *
    • When I wake up, the dream isn’t done,
      I wanna see your face and know I’ve made it home
      If nothing is true, what more can I do?
      I’m still painting flowers for you.
  13. Ultraviolet by Stiff Dylans *
    • That fire you ignited,
      good, bad and undecided
      burns when I stand beside it.
      Your light is ultraviolet
  14. We Might Fall by Ryan Star
    • We should go to sleep now, You should stay the night
      I’ll be up to watch the world around us live and die
      Lying on the grass now, dancing for the stars
      Maybe one will look on down and tell us who we are
      We might fall, we might fall, we might fall, Hallie we might fall
  15. Aiming For the Sun by Ryan Keen *
    • I cried out on a moonlight night, I was thinking back on time.
      A cold breeze takes hold of me, oh, he was a friend of mine.
      I feel lost so I’m looking out, I’m searching for a guiding light.
      I keep aiming, for the sun so that my shadows fall behind.
      Oh am I, just wasting my time?
  16. Rescue You by Jake Epstein *
    • Somehow you saw someone worth saving
      you pulled me back into the light.
      Now if ever i can rescue you,
      when you need two arms to fall into,
      you know exactly where I’ll be
      just look for me, oh look for me.
  17. Breathe Again by Art of Dying *
    • I don’t know how, I don’t know when, 
      but I can finally breathe again
      Life’s too short, the day’s too long
      In the end I knew it all along
  18. I’m Not Alright by Sanctus Real
    • If weakness is a wound
      that no one wants to speak of,
      the cool is just how far we have 
      to fall and I am not immune
      I only want to be loved,
      but I feel safe behind the firewall
      Can I lose my need to impress? 
      If you want the truth, I need to confess,
      I’m not alright.
      I’m broken inside, broken inside.
  19. Happiness by Tyler Kyte *
    • I think about the days back when
      things were much simpler then,
      making angels out of the snow.
      But now it feels bitter cold 
      and I fear growing old.
      Those days seem so long ago.
      Open your eyes tonight,
      open your eyes tonight
      It’s a long way to happiness
      but Ill keep walking all night
      Its a long way to happiness
      Someday I’ll be alright
  20. The Death of Me by City and Colour
    • People love to drink their troubles away
      sometimes I feel that I’d be better off that way
      ‘Cause maybe then I could sleep at night
      I wouldn’t lie awake until the morning light
      This is something that I’ll never control
      My nerves will be the death of me, I know
  21. What Makes A Man by City and Colour
    • I can feel the wind blowin’
      It’s sending shivers down my spine
      I can feel the wind blowin’
      It shakes the trees and the power lines
      What makes a man spend his whole life in disguise?
      I think I know
      I think I might know
  22. Broken by Lifehouse
    • I’m falling apart, I’m barely breathing
      With a broken heart that’s still beating
      In the pain, there is healing.
      In your name, I find meaning.
  23. Pieces by Red
    • Then I see your face
      I know I’m finally yours
      I find everything I thought I lost before
      You call my name
      I come to you in pieces
      So you can make me whole
  24. Paperweight by Joshua Radin and Schuyler Fisk *
    • Every word you say I think
      I should write down,
      I don’t want to forget
      come daylight.
      Happy to lay here,
      just happy to be here.
      I’m happy to know you.
      Play me a song
      your newest one
  25. Breathe Me by Sia *
    • Ouch, I have lost myself again,
      lost myself and I am nowhere to be found, 
      yeah, I think that I might break,
      lost myself again and I feel unsafe.
      Be my friend, hold me, wrap me up,unfold me,
      I am small and needy,
      warm me up and breathe me.
  26. Say Something (I’m Giving Up On You) by A Great Big World feat. Christina Aguilera
    • Say something I’m giving up on you,
      I’m sorry that I couldn’t get to you.
      Anywhere, I would have followed you,
      say something I’m giving up on you.
  27. Sometimes by Melanie Horsnell*
    • Sometimes I cry, but doesn’t everybody?
      I have secrets, I have scars as deep as anybody
      I have fears no one hears, but don’t tell anybody,
      sometimes I lie, but doesn’t everybody?
      I know that sometimes I end up running wild,
      I feel just like a little child but tell me,
      doesn’t everybody, sometimes
  28. I Don’t Want To Be Me by Amanda Clemens
    • I’m not feeling so sure,
      it would help if you offered a cure,
      if I wait, it’s too late for the remedy,
      I don’t want to be me.
      You won’t save me, 
      cause I’m not the fortunate one,
      so don’t blame me, if I decide
      to go hide or instead to just run
  29. Set Fire To The Third Bar by Joshua Radin and Schulyer Fisk*
    • Your words in my memory are like music to me,
    • I’m miles from where you are, I lay down on the cold ground,
    • I, I  pray that something picks me up 
    • and set me down in your warm arms
  30. Leave Out All The Rest by Linkin Park*
    • I dreamed I was missing
      and you were so scared
      but no one would listen
      ’cause no one else cared
      So if you’re asking me, I want you to know,
      when my time comes forget the wrong that I’ve done,
      help me leave behind some reasons to be missed
      don’t resent me and when you’re feeling empty
      keep me in your memory, leave out all the rest,
      leave out all the rest.
  31. So Far Away by Avenged Sevenfold*
    • Never feared for anything, never shamed but never free
      A life to heal the broken heart with all that it could
      Lived a life so endlessly, saw beyond what others see
      I tried to heal your broken heart with all that I could
      Will you stay? Will you stay away forever?
      How do I live without the ones I love?
      Time still turns the pages of the book it’s burned
      Place and time always on my mind,
      I have so much to say but you’re so far away
  32. Hear You Me by Jimmy Eat World*
    • There’s no one in town I know
      You gave us some place to go
      I never said thank you for that,
      I thought I might get one more chance
      What would you think of me now
      So lucky, So strong, So proud?
      I never said thank you for that
      now I’ll never have a chance.
  33. On The Way Down by Ryan Cabrera
    • On the way down, I saw you
      and you saved me from myself,
      and I won’t forget the way you loved me
      on the way down, I almost fell right through
      but I held onto you.
  34. Somewhere Only We Know by Lily Allen*
    • And if you have a minute, why don’t we go,
      talk about it somewhere only we know
      this could be the end of everything,
      so why don’t we go, somewhere only we know?
  35. Remember by Gabriel Mann*
    • Remember the moment of change
      Is it all straight ahead or behind you?
      Well maybe if you look around
      You’ll see everything’s perfectly clear
      Picture it all in your mind
      remember where we are now
      open your eyes
      and take it all in
      Remember where we are now
      this is where your life begins.
Yes, I did add that Gabriel Mann song twice on purpose. Think of it as the ending credits song, yet it’s like one of those ending credits songs you HAVE to sit through because you love it so much.
Okay, so this was really fun and really stressful, for obvious reasons, but anyway, it’s also really long….I’m sorry about that, but when I was adding the lyrics and putting the Youtube playlist together, I kept discovering more songs. 🙂 I put asterisks (*) near the must-listen-tos’. Anyway, I hope you enjoy it.
You can find the link here.  
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

10 responses to “Musical Monday: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven Playlist

Leave a Reply

