Top Ten Books I Would Have In A Book Club

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a meme created and hosted @ The Broke and The Bookish. If you want to sign up, you can go here. This week’s top is the top ten books you would have in your book club. I unfortunately have never been in a book club, never so as much come close to doing a book club. Though I have a vague, maybe fake memory of there being some type of “book club” in elementary school, but that’s another story.
It was fun coming up with the books for this list. I went through three lists before deciding on what I would choose. I figured since I’m an “adult” and I made a “resolution” to read more adult fiction, I would make an Adult Fiction list. 🙂
~Top Adult Fiction Books I Would Have In My Book Club~
  1. After I Do by Taylor Reid Jenkins
    • I’ve heard great things about Taylor Reid Jenkins.This sounds amazing. It does sounds like such an unconventional plan, taking a year off from each other, more or less. It sounds really inspiring.
  2. Forever, Interrupted by Taylor Reid Jenkins
    • “Have you ever heard of supernovas? They shine brighter than anything else in the sky and then fade out really quickly, a short burst of extraordinary energy. I like to think you and Ben were like that . . . in that short time, you had more passion than some people have in a lifetime.” from Goodreads
    • This is definitely going to cause tears, I can already tell. I’m having The Fault In Our Stars flashbacks. 😦 I’m worried about the “instant” and “electric” chemistry the two main characters have. I’m hoping it isn’t as instant-love as it sounds. It sounds like it’s going to be more about Elsie’s healing process though with flashbacks than actual interaction with Ben. I don’t know, we’ll see.
  3. Us by David Nicholls
    • I have One Day, which I haven’t finished, but I’ve loved the movie for it. I can’t wait to see what experiences happen on their journey to to “rediscovery”.
  4. Rooms by Lauren Oliver
    • Rooms sounds fascinating with it’s family dynamics, mystery and of course, secrets. I’ve heard Lauren Oliver’s work is really good so this would be a must read, being her Adult debut and all.
  5. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
    • This was the first Rowell book I was interested in. I love the email correspondence and the idea of someone “monitoring” them, though that sounds creepy. 
  6. Landline by Rainbow Rowell
    • It would be impossible not to read Rowell’s latest book.
  7. Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick
    • Of course, what would this list be without a book-to-movie selection? Silver Linings Playbooks sounds like a must read because it deals with mental illness as an adult.
  8. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
    • I feel the only way I would get through this long, heavy books would to read it with someone(s). 🙂
  9. Everything I Never Told You by Celeste NG
    • I think it’s interesting seeing how different people grieve or come together. Everything I Never Told You sounds like it will have some surprising secrets.
  10. Room by Emma Donoghue
    • The fact that this story is told from the perspective of a five year old in such a bad situation, immediately draws me to this.
  11. Memoirs of A Geisha by Arthur Golden
    • I feel this book is a classic. I’ve never seen the movie, so I have no idea how it really goes, outside of the summary. It seems really thought-provoking though (maybe?) and I love books that take place in Japan.
  12. Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult
    • A woman who’s obsessed with finding her mom who’s disappeared, a psychic and a PI, I’m a bit interested now.
  13. One Plus One by Jojo Moyes
    • I’ll admit that this book has me extremely worried about a possible love triangle and/or cheating possibility, which I don’t like. At all. But I’ve only heard of Moyes over the past couple months and while I own “Me Before You”, I’ve specifically heard good stuff about this one.
  14. The Day We Met by Rowan Coleman
    • This is recommended for lovers of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, although I haven’t read that, I’ll take this suggestion too. 🙂 I’m a sucker for a memory loss story too, though The Notebook has no appeal to me. Hopefully it doesn’t seem too much like The Notebook though.
  15. The First Last Kiss by Ali Harris
    • The summary’s caught my eye completely. I’ve heard it’s told in a non-linear format so I’m pretty much sold. It reminds me of After I Do, dealing with the problems in a marriage.
I just want to read all these books right now! Why don’t I read faster again? That’s right, I have that pesky, annoying little trait called procrastinator.
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

11 responses to “Top Ten Books I Would Have In A Book Club

Leave a Reply

