Monthly Recap: January ’15

~Monthly Recap~
~YA Indulgences Stats~
-January-
# of Views/Visitors: 3,272/2,363
# of Blog Posts: 27 (now 28)
# of Reviews: 6
# of Likes: 26
# of Comments: 154 (I’m sure half of these are mine), so roughly 70
Most Viewed Post: Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman with 1,207
Most Commented Post: Amber’s Rambles – Names in Titles (#11) (Ten comments)
 
~Book Stats~
# of Books Read: EIGHT! 😀
# of Books Bought: Nine, but they’re e-books
# of Books Borrowed: Seven e-books and three audio
# of Books For Review: Seven
# of Books Won: 1 (I chose Even In Paradise by Chelsey Philpot)  (From Chrissy @ Every Free Chance Books. Thank you so so so much.<3)
# of Books Given: 1 (Rebels by Accident by Patricia Dunn for review<3)
~What I Posted (Outside of Memes)~

Musical Monday Playlist: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Amber’s Rambles #11: Names in Titles

Amber’s Rambles #12: Trends and Themes in 2015 YA Fiction

More Than This Provincial Life 1: What Is Veronica Mars?

More Than This Provincial Life 2 (I Will Go Down With This Ship: Steroline)

Review: Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando (Three Stars) (Three Stars)

Review: Paper Airplanes (Paper Airplanes #1) by Dawn O’Porter (Three Stars)

Review: Adrenaline Crush by Laurie Boyle Crompton (Two and a Half Stars)

Review: Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley (Five Stars)

ARC Review: I Was Here by Gayle Forman (Three Stars)

ARC Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne (Two Stars)

My Favorite 2014 Covers

Wondrous Covers Wednesday #18 – Profile Images of Couples

Wondrous Covers Wednesday #19 – Double Profile

Wondrous Covers Wednesday #20 – Sihouettes

~Book/Author Related News~
  1. All The Bright Places is going to be a movie with Elle Fanning!
  2. This Song Will Save Your Life is being adapted for stage and film!
  3. Sisterhood Everlasting, the final book of the Traveling Pants series by Ann Brashares is also set to be a movie.
~Music/Movies/Musical Related News~
  • Beauty and The Beast Live-action movie
  • Kelly Clarkson released “Heartbeat song” and “Piece By Piece” gets release date.
Books Read:
The Walled City by Ryan Graudin
Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne
Blues For Zoey by Robert Paul Weston
I Was Here by Gayle Forman
All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez
Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn
DUFF: The Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger
Eight books! That’s like a record. I also started Every Last Promise but stopped reading it.
~Blogging/Book Related Highlights~
  • I participated in Bout of Books and read two books.
  • I read The DUFF for the #ReadTheDUFF read-a-thon though I never tweeted during it because of my Kindle. 😦
  • I won a book of choice from Chrissy @ Every Free Chance Reviews, she also included bookmarks, pens, a sticker-type-thing (I’m still figuring it out, haha) and a nice card! 🙂 Way more than I thought I was getting. I’m so happy about the bookmarks and pens. 
  • I submitted my first E-ARC review this month for Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne.
  • I was auto approved for Dundurn on Netgalley, so that’s great if I ever get interested in any of their future titles.
  • I launched “More Than This Provincial Life” where I talk about more than books and blogging.
  • I changed my “Musical Monday” feature to be more inclusive.
  • I have reached 99 followers on WordPress. 🙂
  • Jennifer Niven retweeted me like three times, like omg.
  • Holy crap, I just found out Jennifer Niven actually follows me. Cue the fangirling! Omg. This is totally like that scene in Mean Girls where that girl’s like…well I’ll just show the video.
Minus the whole punching in the face because Jennifer Niven and I have a strict Twitter relationship (of sorts). Ha.
  • MY NOTES WERE DISCOVERED! I had put notes in seven or eight copies of All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven and they were DISCOVERED. I have no idea of the person actually bought the book or not, but whatever. Here’s the link about it on Instagram!
  • Erin @ The Hardcover Lover #FF’d me on Twitter, so that’s cool. I’m not sure what it all means, but I thought it was cool. 
  • I’m going to be writing a guest post on a blog. 🙂 And I’m so excited about it.
~Addictions~
Steroline from The Vampire Diaries
Dark Chocolate Pretzels that were limited edition and are now gone. 😦
How Did I  Do With My Resolutions?
Um…. Let me see.  Oh! Well i’m going to be guest posting on someone’s blog. I’ve had a couple discussions. I’ve started my new feature which is a “fun” post. 🙂 I have raised my NG ratio to 7%. I’ve updated my Books Read 2014, Books Read 2015, Upcoming Reviews, and my Reviews Archive pages. As for everything else…I’m still working on it.
How Did I Do With My Challenges?
I’ve read four E-ARCs for the Netgalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2015.
I’ve had two discussions for the Book Blog Discussion Challenge 2015.
I’ve read either two or three books for the Debut Author Challenge.
And like I said, I participated in Bout of Books and #ReadTheDuff read-athon. 🙂
~My Life~
Things around here are going okay. I am still sick, which I mentioned in my past weekly recap. It’s not really getting any better. Oh and I’m going to file taxes soon, yay… Nothing exciting has really happened around here, other than a bit of chaos. Ha. That’s all I have to recap for this month. 🙂 I’ll be posting what I’m looking forward to for the second month of 2015 tomorrow, February 1st (wow). Hope your month’s gone well.
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

Leave a Reply

