Musical Monday: The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger Playlist

Musical Monday is a feature at YA Indulgences where I discuss musicals, make playlists or talk about other music related things.
 
I recently finished The DUFF: The Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger a couple days ago for the #ReadTheDuff Read-Along that was going on. I loved it. I was definitely inspired to make a playlist after making my first book playlist for All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven last week.
 
The movie’s coming out this month as well which also urged me to make another playlist. If you haven’t read The DUFF, I definitely suggest reading it, it has a great meaning in it. And characters, dialogue, plots, it’s just great.
 
I’ll be listing relevant lyrics and once I finish putting all the songs into a playlist on Youtube, I’ll add the link at the bottom. 🙂
 
  1. Everybody But Me by Lykke Li
    • Though my jeans are too tight
      Don’t feel like dancing
      And all this light is too bright
      Don’t feel like shining
      Though this room is too small
      I’d rather stand against the wall
      And hope that no one sees me
  2. 6’1″ by Liz Phair
    • I bet you fall in bed too easily
      with the beautiful girls who are shyly brave
      And you sell yourself as a man to save
      but all the money in the world is not enough.
  3. Family Portrait by Pink
    • In our family portrait we look pretty happy 
      We look pretty normal, let’s go back to that 
      In our family portrait we look pretty happy 
      Let’s play pretend, act like it goes naturally
  4. Heavily Broken by The Veronicas
    • I’m heavily broken
      And I don’t know what to do
      Can’t you see that I’m choking
      And I can’t even move
      When there’s nothing left to say
      What can you do
      I’m heavily broken
      And there’s nothing I can do
  5. Numb by Sia
    • It has to end 
      Living in your head 
      Without anything to numb you 
      Living on the edge 
      Without anything to numb you 
  6. Tonight by Secrets In Stereos
    • Tonight, is the night
      I’ll make you cry, cause you’re laughing so hard
      Watch you lie asleep in my arms
      and though you don’t even know my name
      all of that will change, tonight
  7. Take Me Away by Avril Lavigne
    • All the pain I thought I knew
      All the thoughts lead back to you 
      Back to what was never said
      Back and forth inside my head
      I can’t handle this confusion
      I’m unable; come and take me away
  8. Take Me On The Floor by The Veronicas
    • My heart is racing as you’re moving closer
      You take me higher with every breath I take
      Would it be wrong to stay?
  9. Get Some by Lykke Li
    • And ’cause I can go, I’m gon’ go west,
      just like a man, I’m the fortress.
      Like a shotgun, I can’t be outdone,
      I’m your prostitute, you gon’ get some.
      Like a shotgun needs an outcome,
      I’m your prostitute, you gon’ get some.
  10. Addicted by Saving Abel
    • I’m so addicted to
      all the things you do
      when you’re going down on me
      in between the sheets
      or the sound you make
      with every breath you take,
      it’s not like anything
      when you’re loving me.
  11. So Easy by Gina Cutillo
    • You were like a drug inside my head
      Something not so good and you’re so bad
      Now you call me and I’m not alone
      When you call me, I can’t pick it up
      You just call me and I can’t let you go
  12. Hook Me Up by The Veronicas
    • Hook, hook me up.
      I want to feel the rain in my hair.
      Hook, hook me up.
      Where should we go?
      I don’t even care (I don’t even care).
      Hook, hook me up
      I want to feel the rain in my hair.
      Hook, hook me up
      Where should we go?
      I don’t even care,
      anywhere is good enough.
  13. In Love With Yourself by Liz Phair
    • Don’t be so in love with yourself 
      Don’t be so in love with yourself 
      Don’t be so in love with yourself ’cause I’m not 
      Don’t you know I’m not? 
  14. Paradise by Vanessa Carlton
    • Don’t pretend to hold it in just let it out
      Don’t pretend to hold it in just push it out
      Don’t you try to hold it in just let it out and
      Don’t you try to hold it in, you hold it in
  15. If I Told You by Jason Walker
    • What if I told you who I really was What if I let you in on my charade And what if I told you what was really going on And no more masks and no more parts to play
  16. You Take My Troubles Away by Rachael Yamagata
    • You take my troubles away
      You take my sirens away
      You keep my sorrows at bay
      Take it all, take it all away 
  17. Model Homes by In-Flight Safety
    • And if it leaves a bad taste You need to wash it down And if you build a model home Just burn it to the ground I refuse to show my good side In no place to call my own It’s no home, no, no, no, no
  18. Why Can’t I by Liz Phair
    • Why can’t I breathe whenever I think about you?
      Why can’t I speak whenever I talk about you?
      It’s inevitable, it’s a fact that we’re gonna get down to it.
      So tell me, why can’t I breathe whenever I think about you?
  19. I Can’t Stay Away by The Veronicas
    • I was numb
      For you I come
      Night and day
      and I can’t stay away.
      No, I can’t stay away.
      I’m conflicted
      I inhale now I’m addicted
      to this place
      to you babe
      I can’t stay away,
      can’t stay away
      We get up, we go down,
      then we go one more round.
      It’s wrong, they say 
      I can’t stay away, can’t stay away
  20. Fine Line by Alanna Clarke
    • Don’t you get that close to me
      Stand that close I cannot breathe
      Don’t you get that close to me.
      Don’t you get it don’t you see?
      If I open up and let you in,
      will we stop what we begin?
      It’s a fine line between you and me
      And do we hold back or give in completely?
      Head Over Heels by Alanis Morissette
    • You’ve already won me over in spite of me
      And don’t be alarmed if I fall head over feet
      Don’t be surprised if I love you for all that you are
      I couldn’t help it
      It’s all your fault
  21. Lies by Marina and The Diamonds
    • You’re too proud to say that you’ve made a mistake
      You’re a coward to the end
      I don’t wanna admit that we’re not gonna fit
      No, I’m not the type that you like
      Why don’t we just pretend?
  22. Stupid Cupid by Mandy Moore 
    • Stupid Cupid you’re a real mean guy,
      I’d like to clip your wings off so you can’t fly.
      I am in love and it’s crying shame
      & I know that you’re the one to blame.
      Hey hey, set me free
      Stupid Cupid, stop picking on me.
  23. I Won’t Say i’m in Love from Hercules 
    • If there’s a prize for rotten judgement
      I guess, I’ve already won that
      No man is worth the aggravation
      That’s ancient history, been there, done that
      Who do you think you’re kiddin’?
      He’s the earth and heaven to you
      Try to keep it hidden
      Honey, we can see right through you
  24. I Should Go by Levi Kreis 
    • I should go,
      before my will gets any weaker 
      and my eyes begin to linger,
      longer than they should.
      I should go
      before I lose my sense of reason 
      and this hour holds more meaning 
      than it ever could.
      I should go.
  25. Starring Role by Marina and The Damonds
    • You don’t love me, big f**king deal,
      I’ll never tell, you how I feel,
      You don’t love me, not a big deal,
      I’ll never tell you how I feel.
      It almost feels like a joke to play out the part
      when you are not the starring role in someone else’s heart.
      You know I’d rather work alone, than play a supporting role
      if I can’t get the starring role.
      Sometimes I ignore you so I feel in control,
      ’cause really, I adore you, and I can’t leave you alone.
      Fed up with the fantasies, they cover what is wrong.
      Come on, baby, let’s just, get drunk, forget we don’t get on
  26. There Are Worst Things I Could Do from Grease 
    • There are worse things I could do,
      than go with a boy or two.
      Even though the neighborhood thinks I’m trashy,
      and no good,
      I suppose it could be true,
      but there are worse things I could do.
  27. Cruel by The Veronicas
    • Wish I could say you’re not the one
      My heart hangs on, you’re having fun
      We can’t be lovers and we can’t be friends
      That I still want you and I can’t pretend
      It fuckin’ kills me that we’re done
  28. Unrequited Love by Lykke Li
    • Oh, the shame this crying game
      Oh, my love I’ve been denied it
      Oh, my love is unrequited
  29. He Wasn’t by Avril Lavigne
    • I’ll sit on my bed alone, staring at the phone.
      He wasn’t what I wanted, what I thought, no.
      He wouldn’t even open up the door.
      He never made me feel like I was special.
      He isn’t really what I’m looking for.
  30. Invincible by Crossfade
    • I wait up every night just to hear your voice,
      but you don’t know that’s nothing like me,
      you know I wonder how you’ve already figured out
      all these things that I try to hide
      all this time I’ve been hoping you don’f find out,
      all these things that I hide on the inside
      I can’t held responsible, this is all so new to me,
      just when I think I’m invincible, you come and happen to me
  31. Too Little Too Late by Jojo
    • It’s just too little too late,
      a little too wrong
      and I can’t wait,
      but you know
      all the right things to say, 
      You know
      it’s just too little too late,
      You say you dream of my face,
      but you don’t like me,
      you just like the chase.
      To be real, it doesn’t matter anyway,
      you know it’s just too little too late
  32. Go Your Own Way by Lissie Fleetwood Mac (cover)
    • Loving you
      Isn’t the right thing to do
      How can I ever change things that I feel?…
      You can go your own way, 
      go your own way. 
      You can call it another lonely day 
      You can go your own way, go your own way
      Tell me why everything’s turned around
      Packing up, shacking up’s all you wanna do
  33. We Might As Well Be Strangers
    • I don’t know your face no more
      or feel your touch that I adore
      I don’t know your face no more
      It’s just a place I’m looking for
      We might as well be strangers
      in another town
      We might as well be living
      in a different world
      We might as well…
  34. Beautifully Undone by Lindy
    • But I don’t think about you anymore 
      and I wonder what the hell I came here for. 
      When I’d rather just fall right off of your floor 
      and come beautifully undone.
  35. Back To Me by All American Rejects
    • Can’t you see I beg and plead?
      ‘Cause when your eyes light up the skies at night
      I know you’re gonna find your way back to me
  36. One Saturday Night by Michael Seather (feat. Cassie Steele)
    • Goin to parties with your big theme
      Takin’ every girl home for a night
      It made you feel like a king
      Stay by Jesse Thomas
    • I’m so out of touch these days.
      I act out in the wrong ways.
      My mouth moves faster than my brain.
      I’ve done you wrong, I’ve made mistakes,
      you’ve seen the darkest side of me,
      but please don’t think of me that way
  37. With You by Levi Kreis 
    • I use to be the life of the party
      Man of the hour, the one in control 
      Never have a question, no hesitation,
      get who I want, and then I’ve know all.
      But you stolen my thunder,
      taken me under,
      with something so real.
      With you I can’t speak
      I can’t move,
      I can’t hardly breathe.
      I’m a fumbling boy 
      whose never felt something like this
      and it’s just how it is with you.
  38. When I Look At You by Miley Cyrus
    • Yeah, when my world is falling apart, when there’s no light to break up the dark that’s when I, I, I look at you.
  39. Maybe Love by Flashin’ Midnight & Paula Brancati
    • Maybe love, maybe love, maybe love will make your day. Maybe love, maybe love, maybe love will save your life from disaster.
  40. I Lied by Laurell Hubick
    • I guess I’ll come find out,
      too tired to hide how hard I fell for you,
      no way to delete this
      I cannot compete with the overwhelming truth 
      I don’t mean this to be surprising,
      but when you’re next to me I’m dying.
      It’s time to tell you
      I said we’re friends but I lied
      You’ve got me shaking like a leaf on the inside
      I’ll spell it out for you
      Could you entertain this thought
      about taking all this love I’ve got for you (for you)?
  41. Mandy by Jonas Brothers
    • Mandy always laughs when I act stupid
      I am unaware that I’m a nuisance
      With her it’s never wasted time
      Mandy always knows exactly what I’m
      Thinking and she’s always on my mind
      And now, I’m never gonna let her go
      Cause Mandy always knows
  42. Just The Girl by The Click Five 
    • She’s cold and she’s cruel,
      but she knows what she’s doin’.
      She pushed me in the pool
      at our last school reunion.
      She laughs at my dreams,
      but I dream about her laughter.
      Strange as it seems,
      she’s the one I’m after.
  43. Open Your Eyes (To Love) by LMNT
    • You’ve been down on yourself thinking somethings are wrong wondering why love has never found you Don’t you know its been here all along If only you look around you
  44. You Learn by Alanis Morrisette 
    • You live you learn
      You love you learn
      You cry you learn
      You lose you learn
      You bleed you learn
      You scream you learn
  45. F**kin’ Perfect by P!nk
    • Pretty, pretty please, don’t you ever, ever feel Like you’re less than f**king perfect Pretty, pretty please, if you ever, ever feel Like you’re nothing, you’re f**king perfect to me
  46. Extraordinary by Liz Phair
    • I am extraordinary, if you’d ever get to know me
      I am extraordinary, I am just your ordinary
      Average every day sane psycho
      Supergoddess
      Average every day sane psycho
And here’s the lovely Youtube link.
As always, this is a SUPER long list, I apologize but I couldn’t cut any(more) songs. If you’re interested, Kody Keplinger (and why wouldn’t you be?) has her own soundtrack to The DUFF on her website, you can view the playlist here,  
A few of my songs overlap with hers, like I Won’t Say (I’m In Love), Take Me Away and I Can’t Stay Away. I Won’t Say (I’m In Love) immediately popped into my head when reading DUFF, then I discovered Kody had it in her playlist. I had to add in Take Me Away by Avril Lavigne and I just noticed I Can’t Stay Away is also in her playlist. 🙂 I hope you enjoy both. Oh! And be sure to read the book and see the movie when it comes out! I know I will be for sure.
Let me know what songs remind you of The Duff. ❤
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

One response to “Musical Monday: The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger Playlist

Leave a Reply

