Wondrous Covers Wednesdays (#21) – Animated Covers

~Wondrous Covers Wednesday~

Wondrous Covers Wednesday (WCW) is a weekly feature at YA Indulgences where I showcase three book covers. To view past WCWs, you can check out the page here
Good evening everyone. For this week’s Wondrous Covers Wednesday, I thought I would focus on some covers that use animation since I really love that. 

~One~

The Break-Up Artist

The Break-Up Artist by Philip Siegal
 1. The colors in this are so pretty! I love how vivid and bright they are.  It’s sort of interesting considering the main character is a ‘break up” artist.
2. Judging by both characters looking away, it’s easy to tell that A. They don’t want to be together or B. They “accidently fall in love” Then there’s C. I’m not sure what’s going on. This is definitely my favorite cover though.
3. I love how the drawing’s really balanced. 

~Two~

Trouble

Trouble by Non Pratt
~My Thoughts~
I used the cover that was published on June 10th 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers I really love so much about this cover.
1. It really makes me think of the movie Juno, where a teenage girl ends up getting pregnant. 
2. I love the stork addition at the top because at first it doesn’t realy pop out, at least to me, which is sort of surprising because it’s like a big bird. Carrying a baby.
3. I like how cute this cover is, it’s just so, “ah, omg”. You know? I just think the couple looks so cute. Trouble has the most 3-D sense to me, I think it’s due to how it’s white at the bottom.

~Three~

Girls Like Us

Girls Like Us by Gail Giles
~My Thoughts~
1. I like the double image n this. You see two girls who definitely aren’t friends and then in the background there’s a house. I’ve read Girls Like Us and I like how it displays what the book is about, which is two girls who don’t really get along and they move into a house together.
2. The colors in this are really interesting, they aren’t eye-catching, I don’t think they would cause a second glance based on the colors alone.
3. I love how the font has a sort of chalk like quality and that it’s three-dimensional.

As always, let me know what you think of these covers and if you know of/love any other covers that feature animation (especially with covers), please share! 

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

One response to “Wondrous Covers Wednesdays (#21) – Animated Covers

Leave a Reply

