2015 Trends/Themes (Part 2) – Amber’s Rambles (#13)

It’s time for Amber’s Rambles again. This is a weekly discussion feature where I talk about books or blogging or anything involving the two. To view past Rambles, you may go here.
This week I am continuing with my 2015 trends/themes in Young Adult Fiction. Last week I talked about books with suicide, mental illness, LGBTQA and quirky themes that were coming out our have already come out this year.
This week I’ll be listing off some fairytale retellings, mysteries, illnesses, and fake identities.

Fairytale Retellings

A Court of Thorn and Roses (#1) by Sarah J. Maas-Ah yes, the newest Sarah J. Maas book that everyone (practically) is freaking out over. I include myself in that “everyone” too. 🙂 ACoTaR is a Beauty and The Beast retelling and contains fairies. Let’s be clear, Beauty and The Beast is my FAVORITE disney movie EVER. I. Am. So. Excited. For. This.
Fairest (Lunar Chronicles #0.5) by Marissa Meyer -The “bridge” novel between Cress and Winter in Lunar Chronicles. Fairest is a prequel that tells the backstory of Queen Levana, the villain in the Lunar Chronciles. I love back stories, I love villains, I can’t wait to read this.
Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer- Yep, just mentioned this one. 🙂 This is the final book in the Lunar Chronicles.
Crimson Bound by Rosamund HodgeCrimson Bound isn’t a retelling but is inspired by Little Red Riding Hood. Rachelle is trained to protect her village but she goes off her regular forest path.
Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell–Mechanica is a retelling of Cinderella. In Mechanica, the main character, gets the nickname Mechanica from learning to be an inventor as a child. When she turns 16, she realizes a new life possibility.
A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas–A Wicked Thing is a Sleeping Beauty retelling that occurs after the credits roll. What really happens to the lovely royal couple? The Princess Aurora finds that her family is dead, she doesn’t really know the prince at all and she’s surrounded by political foes.
Mirrored by Alex Flinn (Not Shown)–Mirrored is a “modern” (80s) retelling of Snow White.
It is definitely the year for fairy tale retellings. Besides A Court of Thorn and Roses, I’m so so excited to read Mechanica. It sounds like an interesting take on Cinderella, sort of similar to Cinder, but that’s no problem. I’m going to definitely check out Mirrored because it’s the most “modern”/”realistic” adaptation of a fairytale.

Mystery Covers

Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten–After June’s best friend, Delia dies, Delia’s best friend convinces June it was murder.
I Am Her Revenge by Meredith Moore–Ok, maybe this isn’t exactly a straight mystery, but there are secrets involved with her mother. 🙂
The Devil You Know by Trish Doller–And this is why we don’t hang out with cute strangers people. 🙂 Let alone take a road trip with them. Arcadia meets two cute cousins who invite her and her friend along on a road trip, however, one of them turns out to not be exactly who they say they are. Silly teenagers, don’t you know you should never go on random road trips with people you’ve just met?
Liars Inc by Paula Stokes–Liars Inc. is about a guy named Max who forges permission slips for his classmates, later it broadens into a business, but when Max sets a guy up with a cover-up story for a friend, his friend never comes back. I just love how many stories are coming out/came out with classmates doing a service (The Break-Up Artist, How To Win At High School).
Get Dirty (Don’t Get Mad #2) by Gretchen McNeil–Okay, I have no idea how I forgot about this one since I’ve been obsessed with wanting to read it. Get Dirty is the sequel to Get Even, a mystery involving a group of girls who get revenge on other’s behalf under the name “DGM” aka, Don’t Get Mad.
Cut Me Free by J.R. Johansson–After Charlotte escapes from her abusive parents, she hires someone to remove all ties to her past life. However, Charlotte starts to get messages and threatening notes addressed to her old name. Now she has to try to figure out whose leaving them.
Please Don’t Tell by Laura Tims (Not Pictured)–Ah, a murder mystery. 🙂 Those are always interesting. In Please Don’t Tell, Joy won’t leave the house because of a guy named Adam, a month later, Adam’s dead, a month after that, Joy’s sister receives a note saying “I know you killed Adam Gordon. Unless you do what I want, so will everyone else.” –Red. It reminds me of Pretty Little Liars!
I think the two I’m most excited to read are Liars Inc and Get Dirty, I think it’s because of the high school atmosphere. I’m really interested in seeing how The Devil You Know goes, it reminds me a little of Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas (which I still haven’t read).

Okay, a lot (all) of the Fake Identities stories could most likely fit into the “mystery”, but because they all deal with impersonating someone or not being themselves, I made them their own little category. 🙂

Fake Identities

Damage Done by Amanda Panitch–After she “loses” her twin brother, boyfriend and best friend, Julia becomes Lucy Black in a new town.
The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver–After two twins are in an accident, one twin takes over the other’s life due to guilt. This sounds emotionally heavy…
A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery–When Kelsey’s twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car accident and her boyfriend (whose deployed in Afghanistan) doesn’t know, Kelsey pretends to be Michelle. This sounds like they’re going to fall in love, I’m not sure how/if I’m going to like this one.
Pretending To Be Erica by –This reminds me of Anastasia except a thousand times creepier. Violet’s father has her get surgery so she can pretend to be Erica, an heiress who disappeared as a child.
There are a lot of twins it seems. 🙂 I can’t imagien faking my identity to someone, especially not to my (non-existant) boyfriend and my whole family. Wow. There is definitely going to be some conflicting emotions in The Secrets We Keep and A Million Miles Away.
Illnesses CoversBecause You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas– Two best friends are only able to communicate through letters as one, Ollie, is allergic to electricity and the other, Moritz (God I love that name) can only have his heart working with an electronic pacemaker.
Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon–Everything, Everything is about a girl who is allergic to the outside world.
The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell–Sora becomes diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease). Death Poetry is also a part of this, I’m so excited to read it.
Positively Beautiful by Wendy Mills–Erin’s mother gets diagnosed with breast cancer, she then learns her grandmother also had cancer. Erin’s left worrying about whether or not to have surgery or live in bliss. I’ve heard this is really really emotional.
Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley–Aza Ray has a mysterious lung disease. I have heard great things about this and in the excerpt I read, the writing was so beautiful. The main character sounds really interesting too.
Invincible by Amy Reed–Evie, the main character has been diagnosed with terminal cancer. The doctors had told her she’d be death months later, but she’s still alive. However, her family, friends and boyfriend all don’t treat her the same as they did before.
I love how diverse the illnesses are. There are two characters that have such drastic, life changing allergies and it’s going to be so interesting seeing how they cope with those and how they grow stronger. I’ve heard of ALS before, so it will be really good to see it portrayed in a book. I’m dying to read Magonia because of obvious reasons (the gorgeous cover). I have E-ARCS for Invincible and Positively Beautiful so I can’t wait to get to those some time.
Next week will be my final part of the 2015 Trends/Themes, I’ll be going over Romances, memory loss, and “ensemble” casts. 🙂 Let me know what you think of these trends/themes in YA Fiction and tell me about any trends/themes going on that I may have missed.
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

11 responses to “2015 Trends/Themes (Part 2) – Amber’s Rambles (#13)

Leave a Reply

