All The Things I Love and Hate In Romance Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme  created and hosted at The Broke and The Bookish. Every week there’s a new list for book bloggers to share on. To read more about this and link up, you can (and should) go here.
For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, the list is…

~Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes To Romance In Books~

~Likes~

1. Friends that turn into significant others
YES PLEASE.
I love when childhood friends get together, though I don’t have an example for that. I also like when friends later in life, become more.
Ex. I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
2. One Night Engagements
There’s something magical about two main characters (re)connecting over a (mostly) one night engagement.
Ex.
The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn
Where She Went by Gayle Forman
3. Slow-Burning Romance
I love romances that are slow burning where the two characters just get closer and closer and closer until they realize (finally) that they totally belong together.
Ex. I’ll Meet You There 
4. Banter banter banter banter banter banter banter
Easy A
I like characters playing around with each other. I love the sarcastic remarks too.
Ex. I’ll Meet You There (again)
5. Subplot Romance
I don’t really like heavy romance books, I know, that will probably shock all of you….But I like my romance to be more suble and just a subplot. I’d rather not have the couple obsessing over each other. Though they can spend all the time they want together, there just has to be a bigger focus on something else.
I hope I didn’t just contradict myself…
Ex. Free To Fall by Lauren Miller
6. Tragic Ending
I’ll admit it, I love a tragic ending. I’m not going to get into that now though because that’s a discussion for a later date (seriously, I’m planning it).
No examples because I don’t want to spoil anything. Ha.
Well, maybe one.

Veronica Mars

7. Grand Gestures
Easy A
Enough said.
Ex. Just Like The Movies by Kelly Flore
Obviously. 😉
8. Swoon
This is a given, right? I like moments that make me smile and lose my breath and have to put the book down for five minutes just to take it all in.

~Dislikes~

1. Accidental Meetings
I hate the whole “accidental” meeting where two leads bump into each other. Just no.
The Vampire Diaries
2. They’re Destined For Each Other
Please, none of that curious wonder either like “Oh…I have to know her” inner monologue stuff.
The Vampire Diaries
Well, look at that, interesting how The Vampire Diaries uses both of these.
3. Hate-to-Love Relationships
Now, I mean, “hate” to “love”. Like two characters totally and completely hate each other or just don’t get along…but you know they’re going to get together.
Ex. The DUFF (which I loved) 
4. Instant “Love”
This one goes without saying though, right?
I don’t have an example for this. I’ve never read a story where two characters automatically fall in love.
OH WAIT.
Les Miserables
Those two fell in love with a glance. (Les Miserables)
5. Drama
I’m going to have to be more specific about this, aren’t I?
I hate drama where two characters can’t/won’t get into a relationship because of a simple misunderstanding. Or just an overly high amount of drama (Oh, hi Anna and The French Kiss.
High School Musical
6. Cheating
This obviously doesn’t need to be said, right? I don’t even think it fits n this TTT, but I’m throwing it in there anyway just because it makes me so angry.
She's The Man
This caption will forever be relevant
Examples?
Lola and The Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Adrenaline Crush by Laurie Boyle Crompton
And okay, maybe all of the characters didn’t “mean” to cheat, but I don’t care. They still did and they didn’t see anything wrong with it, at least one of them anyway.
7. Love Triangles
Like no, no. No. Just go away. Go far far away. I hate books with love triangles. The only one I could stand has been, ironically enough, a book I didn’t care for very much, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, though it’s clear who the main character would end up with. Or Catching Fire, I liked the love triangle between Katniss, Gale and Peeta if only because Katniss wasn’t obsessive over it and didn’t analyze every little thing.
Ex.
To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (#1) by Jenny Han
Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #1) by Suzanne Collins
8. WHEN PEOPLE ARE TOGETHER FOR NO REASON.
Like you know what I mean? You meet the main character, you meet the guy/girl opposite of them. And the main character’s all like “Omg, I like her/him” and then it turns out they’re already dating someone even though that person is “bad” or what have you.
I AM LOOKING AT YOU ST. CLARE AND LOLA!
Veronica Mars
9. Predictability
A Walk To Remember
Oh, hi there. No, I hate dialogue like that. Just ugh.
11. Dialogue Like This

A Walk To Remember

10. The Ex’s Reapparance
When the freaking ex shows back up in front of their ex and is like….
(From the movie, A Walk To Remember)
Belinda: I guess you’re with who you should be. It’s like she chose you.
Landon: I don’t even know why.
Belinda: I do. 
Would you believe A Walk To Remember is one of my favorite romance movies? It is.

Easy A

11.  “Oh, You Taste Sweet”, blah blah blah Stuff”
Like no, I’m not buying it. . .

Veronica Mars

Okay, truthfully I don’t have any…experience in that department, ahem…but that’s irrelevant.  I still don’t buy it! I mean gosh, Josh says (about Skylar in I’ll Meet You There), “I bet she tastes sweet like those powdered white doughnuts”. Like what? Can someone please clear this one up?
So that’s way over ten, I pretty much listed every romance thing I like and dislike that I can think of. I really loved this week’s list. Enjoy and link me yours. 🙂
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

23 responses to “All The Things I Love and Hate In Romance Books

  • Cynthia

    Great list! I also loved A Walk to Remember even though there were so many cliche and cheesy parts. I don’t even care, I still love it. Ha

    Liked by 2 people

  • stephaniesbookreviews

    I love the slow-burn romance too. I forgot that in my list.

    Like

  • Frannie Pan @ In Clouds of Pages

    BANTER BANTER BANTER!!!! Love it!! *-*
    Everyone loved I’ll meet you there, I’m gonna read that for Valentine’s day! *-*

    My TTT: http://frannieinthepages.blogspot.it/2015/02/top-ten-tuesday-10-things-i-likedislike.html

    Liked by 1 person

  • Lori (@Loriimagination)

    I love your list! I loooove slow burn romance! I can’t believe I left that off my list.

    Like

  • La Coccinelle

    I’ve seen insta-love (or a variation of it) on pretty much every list today. It makes me wonder why we keep seeing it in books if everybody hates it. Authors, take note!

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      I don’t know if I actually see insta-love in many YA books, but either way I tend to dislike it. Funny enough, I discovered one of my favorite books has insta-love in it. I guess I was just focused on the other plots that I didn’t notice it or it was just such an unnoticeable plot, I looked past it. Either way, I’m kind of like “Aw…That sucks” about it.

      Like

  • vlangloisx3

    HAHAH YES. NO INSTA LOVE and oh man I really hate drama, it is really annoying. And I also really did not like St. Clair’s and Anna’s relationship BECAUSE WHY 😛 Stuff like this makes me want to avoid romance blah.

    Liked by 1 person

  • loveatfirstpage

    Very happy you included love triangles LOL. Omg I hate them so much. They are the work of the devil, I swear. So unromantic!
    Okay, *gets off soapbox*
    I also much prefer slow burn to insta-love (who doesn’t?) and friends-to-more romances. Great list!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Yes, I’m not sure if it’s because I just haven’t read enough “good” love triangles to feel differently or if I just don’t like the idea in general, but yep, it’s my list. Lol.

      Slow burn romances are so amazing, especially when it’s just a natural progression and the two characters aren’t constantly thinking “Oh, does he/she like me like I like her/him?”

      Thanks Danielle. 🙂

      Like

  • Nova @ Out of Time

    All the dislikes are pretty much mine exccept for the “love to hate”. I’m SORRY. I think I have a thing for bad boy and girls who don’t fall for them stories. I would never read them on my blog but on story sites, they’re totally fair game!

    I also hate love triangles. I don’t know if I hate all of them, but most of them have not worked out for me! [And DUDE INSTALOVE IS JUST MEH]

    I actually don’t like the “one night meetings” because I feel like that’s instalove. I saw the movie to Nick and Norah and it seemed really stupid, tbh. But I do want to read Statistical Probability. That one sounds super interesting!

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Ah, that’s totally fine. 🙂 We all have different likes/dislikes.

      True about love triangles, but I think I would like them if they were well done. Or, well, if there was an equal chance of who the MC would end up with. Usually there’s the “something missing” in the MC’s relationship, she meets a new guy and she’s battling her feelings, but you already know she’s going to go for the new guy because he has just what she’s looking for…

      I’m finding out all my favorite romances are insta-love, how horrifying! 😦 Seriously, I’m so disturbed right now. I never thought of my one night engagements to be insta-love. Maybe it’s because in TSPoLaFS, that’s not really how it goes. In N&NIP though, it kind of does….But I feel like it’s not “as much” because the two characters actually get to know each other before having this immediate attraction, so I give it a free pass. 🙂

      I definitely recommend The Statistical Probability, it’s so worth it, imo. And the romance doesn’t take over anything so it’s good. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  • Rebecca @ Vicariously!

    I’m just going to keep laughing from my side of the computer cause this list + the gifs + plus the constant shade throwing was glorious.

    Like

  • shannonmiz

    I LOVE this! But how do you REALLY feel about A Walk to Remember? 😉 I agree, that movie was cheesy.

    Also, YES to grand gestures! I want a grand gesture. Sometime, in my life. And #11 in your dislikes list grosses me out too. I mean, ew. You want to like, taste regurgitated food? That one never sat well with me. And YES to banter. I need ALL the banter!

    I just finished a book with that annoying drama that you mentioned, and it was a HUGE turn off. Over it. This list is pretty much fantastic!

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Thank you! I like it too. 🙂 Haha, I love AWTR, it’s actually my favorite romance movie. I know, that’s so weird given how I just complained about it, but….I don’t know. It just is. Probably has to do with the main character being a Christian and actually sticking with her beliefs that it’s just a part of her. Anyway…

      Yes! GRAND GESTURES TO ALL. Like, I don’t know, a Les Mis flash mob to proclaim love to me would be just FANTASTIC.

      And yeah, 11 is just weird. Like, I really don’t get it at all. Banter needs to be a requisite in all romances. I love the sarcasm so much.

      Drama really brings a book down. 😦 Like I’m totally fine with a little drama, it can be nice. I actually LOVE drama, hence my love for Degrassi, but I mean, too much is too much.

      Thanks!

      Like

  • Kitty

    I love Les Miserables, but it was ridiculous that they fell in love at a glanceXD I agree with all your likes! I love reading the banter;)Those accidental meetings are priceless. When the ex appears sooo frustrating! Just get out of the picture please! Awesome post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      I have to admit, I overlook the insta-love because of Victor Hugo’s passage when he describes how they fell in love. It’s just so pretty. Though I’m still not happy with the paring. 🙂 Omg, so have you read the book?

      Banter is so great.

      Yes! I hate reappearing exes. Haha. Thank you! ❤

      Like

  • Monthly Recap: February ’15 | YA Indulgences

    […] All The Things I Love and Hate in Romance Books […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

