2015 YA Trends/Themes (Part 3) – Amber’s Rambles (#14)

Amber’s Rambles is a semi-weekly feature at YA Indulgences. Generally these posts will be discussions having to do with books, authors or blogging. To read past posts, you can go here.
 
Hey everyone. It’s finally time to post my final discussion on the YA Trends/Themes I’ve heard about this year. This topic has sort of opened my eyes to how different authors deal with the same subject matter, such as suicide, mental illness and memory loss.
 
This week I’m going to cover memory loss, “interesting” romances, ensemble casts and trios.
 
Memory Loss Covers
Remember by Eileen Cook–Harper’s father is the head of a company whose latest treatment is “Memex”, a treatment that softens the memories for people. When the company opens up their treatments to teenagers and Harper goes through a loss, she wants the treatment, but is surprised when her father refuses to allow her to get it. When she gets it behind her back, she begins getting weird hallucinations and sensory detections. She then meets a guy who actively protests Memtex and her father’s company, but what if there really is something wrong there?
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera–After Aaron meets Thomas, his mood brightens and he becomes happier. When problems arise though with him being gay, he thinks of turning to Leteo Institute’s new memory relief treatment.
The Memory Key by Liana Liu–Lora has a memory key embedded in her brain to act as a memory storage. When the key becomes damaged though, her memories become messed up and she remembers moments of her mother’s disappearance.
The Cost of All Things by Maggie Lehrman–After Ari’s boyfriend dies, she’s given a spell that will erase any trace of memory of him from her mind. Unknowingly to her though, this creates a chain of events between her, her boyfriend and her friends.
I read Remember and I really really liked it. I’ve heard amazing things about More Happy Than Not, so that will be the next “memory” book I read, followed by The Cost of All Things. I’m really interested in this chain of events that she messes up and the problems it will cause.
 
Interesting Romanves
Please forgive that these all aren’t the same size.
Finding Mr. Brightside by Jay Clark–Before Abram and Juliette’s parents died in a car crash, they never really “knew” each other, knew each other, though they lived down the street from one another. After a few months, Abram tells Juliette hello and asks her to Taco Bell. Then the romance begins.
The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord–Paige returns to the world two years later after her boyfriend dies in a car accident. In the beginning her plan is to return to high school and get her old crush, Ryan, to date her. After his cousin shows up in town though, Paige gets recruited for the Quiz Bowl.
Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout–Grace escapes her family and moves to a boarding school in Korea. Soon she meets her roommate, Sophie’s twin brother, Jason, a Korean Popstar. Grace is initially turned off by his ego but has a mutual tolerance for him due to Sophie. As you can imagine, Grace begins falling in love with Jason which completely puts a damper on her plans to avoid the music business and everything that has to do with it.
Even When You Lie To Me by Jessica Alcott–Even When You Lie To Me is a forbidden type of romance involving Charlie, a senior and her new english teacher. Of course. 😉
Love Lucy by April Lindner–While in Florence, Lucy comes across a very attractive street musician named Jesse. When Lucy returns home, she’s ready to leave her summer romance behind.
The Trouble With Destiny by Lauren Morrill--When Liza meets Russ, part of her school band’s biggest competition on a cruse ship, she believes she’ll have no problem with becoming interested in him. She ends up being wrong, of course.
Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway--Emmy and Oliver were best friends as children. Until Oliver was kidnapped by his father. When Oliver reappears, Emmy wants things to go back to how they were.
The Improbably Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher–Ana and Zak team to to find Clayton, Ana’s little brother in the middle of Washtington at a sci-fi convention.
Trouble From The Start by Rachel Hawthorne–Trouble From The Start features the trope of the bad boy and the good girl and their undeniable attraction to one another.
Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby–After Quinn’s boyfriend, Trent, has died, she searches out the receivers of Trent’s organs. When she finally meets the owner of his heart, she finds out there’s a connection between the two.
The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West–Gia was supposed to finally introduce her boyfriend to her friends the night of the prom, when her boyfriend dumps her and meets a guy picking up his sister, she decides to ask him to be her fill-in boyfriend just during the prom. Of course, the ex comes back into the picture which causes a few problems.
Kissing In America by Margo Rabb–After Will abruptly moves to California, Eva and her best friend Annie plan a cross country trip to see him again. It must be serious if they’re planning on taking a road trip to find the guy.
Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Clocca-This is about Kelsey and David who became best friends, but were then torn apart due to a misunderstanding. Three years later, Kelsy has moved on from David, that is, until he and his family move back to town causing Kelsey to question her new life. This is a second chance romance it sounds like. 🙂
I can’t say what really makes each one of these romances interesting, but a couple of them definitely have my attention. Such as Finding Mr. Brightside, Hello I Love You, Emmy & Oliver and Things We Know By Heart. I love how diverse all of them are, from sci-fi conventions to taboo teacher relations to child abductions to heart transplants. They all just sound so good. I need to read half of these like, stat.
Group Ensembles
Proof of Forever by Lexa Hillyer–Four friends at summer camp have become disconnected with each other after their last summer together. They find a photobooth that takes them back to their past summer to find out where it all went wrong and if they can fix it.
Emancipated by M.G. Reyes–This reminds me of the Real World. If I ever watched the Real World. In Emancipated, six teens are fitting some type of stereotype are emancipated and living in the same house in Venice Beach.  However, there’s more to these emancipated teens than suspected, they’re all hiding something. 
The Cost of All Things by Maggie LehrmanThe Cost of All Things is told from four different point of views dealing with the past and present.
The Revenge Playbook by Rachael Allen–Four girls make it their mission to teach the football team a lesson.
The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi–When Matt returns to the town where he left behind his girlfriend, Ella and his best friends, he becomes determined to re-create the night they all first met. I can’t wait to read this one.
After Hours by Claire Kennedy–Four workers at a cafe create a game to see who can earn the most tips based on dares they complete.
Get Dirty (Don’t Get Mad #2) by Gretchen McNeil–This is the follow up to Don’t Get Mad. In this sequel, four girls, members of a group called Don’t Get Mad are now dealing with their last DGM stunt’s setbacks and two murders.

Trio covers

Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton–Gigi, Bette and June compete to earn the lead role in a recital for their elite ballet academy.
City Love by Susane Colasanti–City Love is about three girls named Sadie, Darcy and Rosanna who are living in New York the summer before their first year of college. It’s told in point of views of all three girls as they discover New York.
Heat of The Moment (Moment of Truth #1) by Lauren Barnholdt–Moment of Truth is a trio of books that showcase a different girl’s life in each book. The three girls have been best friends, but aren’t anymore.
I must admit, I love-love-love groups of characters in stories. I like seeing different people’s perspectives and what they go through and how they interact and everything.
I think the books that I’m most dying to read are the ensemble casts and the trios. I’ve always had a thing for groups of friends in books so Emancipated, The Cost of All Things and After Hours sound really interesting. I’m also dying to read Tiny Pretty Things and City Love, both of which I have ARCS for, both of which I need to read super soon. Ever since reading Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor, I’ve become more interested in reading stories about teens who do ballet. I also have an infatuation with New York and City Love reminds me a little of the MG series, Three Girls In The City which is about three girls who become friends through photography class. I can’t wait to see what these characters all end up doing.
If you have read any of these, let me know what you think! I really want to know. Tell me if you’re looking forward to any of these. Also, I have not added links for all of the books, I will though tonight so if you don’t see links, it’s just because I haven’t gone through Goodreads and done it yet. 🙂
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

5 responses to “2015 YA Trends/Themes (Part 3) – Amber’s Rambles (#14)

  • lalalaraz

    I love books with a wide cast of characters so this list is super useful! I can’t wait to read some of these books and I look forward to seeing what next weeks trends/themes are

    Liked by 1 person

  • Nova @ Out of Time

    Memory loss and trios are definitely ones I’ve noticed. I feel like a lot of books deal with memory loss, which is interesting. I’ve read thrillers with memory loss, contemps with them a and even sci fi! Its awesome that its a topic that can be used so many ways. Its also really fun to read about [technically Split Second starts with memory loss, so I’m counting it!]

    Also, there’s a thing called the rule of three and I think that’s where the trios come from! I recently read the Burn for Burn trilogy and while it wasn’t my fave, they were three girls. There’s also the Golden Trio from HP <333

    I love this post and I admire how much time it probably took to write it. You've got some AHMAZING ideas going on here ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Besides The Notebook, The Vow and another book I’ve read, I haven’t seen too many books deal with memory loss. Though I have to say it’s one of my favorite “tropes”. Ooh, I need to read Split Second, but first I need to read Pivot Point.

      I’m aware of that rule. 🙂 It would make sense if trios came from that. I’ve heard of the Burn For Burn series, it’s one on my long list of “Series to eventually read”. I’ve no idea what this Golden Trio is. I know, insane. 🙂

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’ll admit, mostly the pictures took the longest. Haha, saving, adding, resizing, positioning.. Thanks for your nice comment<3

      Like

  • Monthly Recap: February ’15 | YA Indulgences

    […] 2015 Trends/Themes (Part 3) – Amber’s Rambles (#14) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

