When Writer’s Block Strikes (Amber’s Rambles #15)

Amber’s Rambles is a semi-weekly feature where I discuss bookish and blogging topics. To read past Rambles, you can go here.
So I just asked a question on my Twitter, a bit of a rhetorical question, but a question none the less. It was “Does anyone else ever “forget” how to review when they haven’t done it in weeks?” and then went on to say that I have “serious” writer’s block, compared to, you know, unserious writer’s block. 
My last review was written on the sixth. Since then I’ve drafted reviews, outlined reviews and read a semi-constant stream of books. I typically try to post my reviews on Tuesdays and Thursdays, along with the occasional Friday/Saturday review, if I didn’t post on Tuesday/Thursday. I like having a regular schedule for reviews and I’ve been pretty good with it…Until things like this happened.
It always happens the same way, it’s around 9 at night, I finally sit down to write my review and….
Nothing.
I can’t remember much of what I want to say. On top of that, what I DO want to say, I don’t know how to form into a logical, cohesive, eye catching, amazing review. You see my problem, yes?
This is where the writer’s block comes in.I try to rack my brain saying “REMEMBER THE BOOK. REMEMBER ALL YOUR LIKES/DISLIKES, JUST WRITE”, but of course, my hands don’t really listen and my mind doesn’t really have any thoughts.
However, sometimes I CAN think of something, but then I worry about “forgetting” to mention something or not writing my review well enough or my review just lacking in general.
Reviews have always been the most stressful part of blogging for me, it’s not that I don’t like to do it, I do. I’m just a procrastinator that doesn’t write reviews right after finishing a book (which I’ve been working on) and then totally pushing the review off until I decide it’s “time” to post it which means I have to go back and actually write it.
So what I wanted to ask you, review prodigies and fellow bloggers/friends…What do you do when the review just won’t come to you? Or a post in general? Do you “forget” how to review books when you’ve been out of practice? Any tips for how to review a book that you’re just not sure how to get your feelings across? I want to know all of your thoughts.
Edit:
And then of course there’s the pressure of making sure you do this amazing book you just finished reading and completely loved and have been recommending to everyone, justice in your review. Because what if you don’t get your feelings across adequately!? What if you forget something you were totally fangirling about when you read it?! What if you you can’t explain how much you love it without saying “I loved it”. What do you do then? 
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

10 responses to “When Writer’s Block Strikes (Amber’s Rambles #15)

  • shannonmiz

    I have nothing to add to help you, but I do have to say that I feel your pain! You should see the ridiculous amount of draft posts that I have containing just the book info, that I keep starting and erasing. Even when I try to write the reviews ASAP, it just doesn’t happen! Once I finally start, then I am good, but it’s always getting the first few lines, the feel of the review, started that is the huge struggle. Good luck, I am right there with yoU!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      That’s okay. 🙂 Good to see I’m not the only one that struggles with this. And then there’s just like GREAT books and I kind of feel like I wouldn’t do their reviews justice, haha, so then I end up putting them off. I’m good at writing a few things, I think I need to mix up my review methods. Starting them is a bit of a struggle. Thanks. 🙂 You too.

      Like

  • lalalaraz

    Ugh, I know what you mean!! Usually I try to just dive right in and hope for the best, but if it’s really not working out, I’ll use a notebook to note down what I liked and disliked and then either work off that straightaway or just leave it until I can be bothered… Currently I have the notes for about seven unwritten reviews that I should really do something about!

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Aw. 😦 Diving straight in doesn’t really work well with me either. Unless I have three hours to spend on it. Ha.

      I write notes down too and highlight stuff but….I generally forget about the highlighting, which I usually add notes to too electronically. *sigh*

      I end up leaving mine too until I can be bothered. I have notes for seven or eight unwritten reviews as well. It’s a curse! And I just think “It shouldn’t be this hard. You’re just writing your thoughts!”. Ha, you’d think. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Like

  • Bella's Shelf

    I can definitely relate to everything you wrote in this post today. There are sometimes when I will go to review a book I’ve read and I just sit there frustrated because I do not know what to write or how to put it. I know what I want it to sound like but I just can’t organize my thoughts properly.
    There are times when it seems like it takes me all day to put a post together. Not only writing the words but the other stuff you need to add to it. Like pictures or links or whatever.
    I honestly wish I had some awesome not bid that made writing reviews less painful. I believe if I came up with a sure fire method to write a review I would make a lot of money! Lolz
    Honestly during those times I will put together a Nother type of review. Unless it’s a book review that is needed for a schedule spot. If it is not then I will put together a simpler type of review to take its place or I would take a deep breath and slowly do it bit by bit. If it’s a book review I’ll break it down into sections. Like characters, setting, etc.
    It’s hard when somebody has writers block or creativity block. It’s very frustrating. Especially when it’s for a blog post because you feel a little pressured to get it done and posted.
    This is a good post you wrote here really makes me think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Yeah, there is so much frustration when I can’t just write what I think down and I feel it shouldn’t even be that hard really.

      It can definitely take me a while to put posts together, especially reviews or discussions. Especially if I go and use other pictures and gifs.

      Ha, it would be nice to come up with a set method on reviewing.

      That’s true. I could always try a different reviewing style, which I’ve been wanting to do but…haven’t yet. Breaking it down into themes or other sections (like you said) can definitely help. I found t’s sometimes easier to do it that way than to just write the review.

      Thank your for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  • jackiegirl02

    This happened to me a while back. I read book after book hoping one would get me out of my review slump and then went back to review the ones I hadn’t done yet. I would also suggest looking at goodreads status updates as that sometimes helps me.

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Thanks. 🙂 Yeah, there are definitely some books that I just HAVE to write about as soon as I finish (The Law of Loving Others) and then there are others that I want to talk about but just can’t get everything down… (Little Peach). Goodreads Status updates definitely help me. 🙂 But I don’t always end up using them for every book. Thanks for the advice.

      Liked by 1 person

  • Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    I have this problem sometimes. It’s just really hard to get started. This happens most often to me on middle-of-the-road books that aren’t fantastic, but also aren’t bad. I just can’t think of anything to say that’s all that … interesting. That’s why I organize my reviews into positives and negatives. It gives me something to focus on.

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Like

  • Monthly Recap: February ’15 | YA Indulgences

    […] When Writer’s Block Strikes (Amber’s Rambles #15) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

