Monthly Recap: February ’15

Hey everyone. Every month I do a monthly recap revolving around my blog but it also dips into music, movies, etc. 🙂 Life this month has been so long… There’s been quite a bit of family drama going on. As I talked about in past recaps, my kitten, Eponine was pretty sick for a week. 😦 She slept a lot, but I kind of ignored it for two days, well, I didn’t really notice. Then when she was still like that a week later, I was really concerned. Thankfully we took her to the vet, she had pneumonia, but she’s better now. 🙂 Of course, I’m now paranoid about everything with her now… But I tend to worry about a lot of stuff, so that’s not surprising.
 
I was also sick myself for a week or so. It was mostly a cold along with allergies (to cats, nonetheless, I still love them). One of my cousin’s is staying with us for a couple weeks right now, so that’s new.  Other than this excitement, things have been a bit of the same. Including the snow. 😦 I woke up to snow today. And then more snow because it was still snowing. I’m so tired of snow. Come on, sky, it’s like, almost MARCH. That’s when people have SPRING break. Goshhh.
 
~Stats~
WordPress Followers: 104
BlogLovin’ Followers: 68
Facebook Likes: 20
# of Views/Visitors: 3,087/2,261
# of Blog Posts: 22 (Now 23)
# of Reviews: 4
# of Likes: 32
# of Comments: 100
Most Viewed Post: Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman (1,247 views)
 
~Book Stats~
# of Books Read: EIGHT AGAIN!
# of Books Bought: 7
# of Books Borrowed: 10
# of Books For Review: 0
# of Books Won: 0
# of Books Given: 0
 
~What I Posted~
Looking Forward To: February
Musical Monday: The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger Playlist
Top “Ten” Contemporary Romance Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read
ARC Review: Blues For Zoey by Robert Paul Weston (Four Stars)
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#21) – Animated Covers
2015 Trends/Themes (Part 2) – Amber’s Rambles (#13)
ARC Review: When Reason Breaks by Cindy L. Rodriguez (Three Stars)
Weekly Recap (#12) + Stacking The Shelves (#19)
One Day More (#1) – None of The Above by I.W. Gregorio
All The Things I Love and Hate in Romance Books
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#22)
2015 Trends/Themes (Part 3) – Amber’s Rambles (#14)
All The Quotes I Meant To Quote
Weekly Recap (#13) + Stacking The Shelves (#20)
My Bookish Problems and I
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#23)
When Writer’s Block Strikes (Amber’s Rambles #15)
Weekly Recap (#14)
Top Ten(ish) Heroines from Books, Movies and TV Shows
ARC Review: Remember by Eileen Cook (Four Stars) Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#24)
ARC Review: Every Ugly Word by Aimee L. Salter (Four stars)
~Favorite Post(s)~
The DUFF playlist
One Day More 
~Blogging Changes~
I launched my One Day More feature, inspired by Jamie’s feature “Save The Date”.
~Book/Author Related~
I have no idea on this guys. Tell me what I’m missing! Besides book releases, I know those. 🙂
~Music~
  • KELLY CLARKSON AND SIA COLLABORATED FOR THIS AWESOME SONG CALLED INVINCIBLE. She also shared a ton of songs from her new album. And I am dying to hear her album in only three days!
  • Sia finished an unreleased album called This Is Acting
  • Lady Gaga did a medley made up of songs from The Sound of Music
  • Zedd and Selena Gomez have a new song, “I Want You To Know”
  • Charli XCX’s song “Red Balloon” is going to be in a movie.
  • Florence + The Machine’s new album has a release date
  • Marina and The Diamonds is coming back! I’m so excited.
  • Avril Lavigne posted a video
  • Adam Lambert has a new album
~Movies/Musical Related~
  • The DUFF premiered this month! I still haven’t gone to see it (darn the lack of income), but I’m going to in a couple weeks hopefully!
  • The Last Five Years also premiered in theaters, unfortunately none where I live. 😦
  • Looking For Alaska is going to be a movie!
  • Just One Day and Just One Year Year have been optioned.
  • First still of Paper Towns (which premieres June 5th)
  • I Was Here by Gayle Forman has been optioned.
  • Oh my gosh, full length Cinderella trailer.<3
  • Eddie Redmayne is going to play Einar Wegener/ Lili Elbe in The Danish Girl which comes out next year. I’m so excited!
~TV Show Wise~
Okay, so I’m all caught up on The Vampire Diaries (well, I’d been watching it live but anyway…). I’m so upset I have to wait 2-3 more weeks for the new episodes. 😦 I know it’s not very long, but I just don’t know what they need the break for! Haha, if you read my Steroline post from last month and watch The Vampire Diaries, you probably know I am EXTREMELY happy.
So I never really watched Glee when it was on, but I’ve watched the first and second seasons along with almost all of season 3. Anyway, I’m really sad Glee’s ending after five seasons. 😦 I mean, I know five seasons is a good run, especially with how the show (apparently) went downhill (according to people online), but it’s still bittersweet. I loved last week’s episode. It was great. I’m kind of upset with the whole Bieste storyline, make that extremely upset….
Onto Pretty Little Liars now….oh my gosh. I was hoping they wouldn’t go down the storyline they’re doing, but they are. (I’m being vague so not to spoil it for anyone). Spencer’s still my favorite, as always. I’m tired of all the love interests except for Caleb, as always. I’m hoping they would keep a girl or two single for a while but that’s not possible, as always. I had no idea this season (season 5) had 25 episodes. That’s cool.
So after The Vampire Diaries, Glee, and Pretty Little Liars go on break, I won’t really have anything to watch. I think. I’m going to check and see when they each end.
The Vampire Diaries breaks on : May 14th
Glee breaks on…I mean ends on: March 20th 😦 I’m so sad!!
Pretty Little Liars breaks on: March 24th
 
But on the bright side, I think Degrassi starts back up and Game of Thrones should be back in the summer too.
 
Degrassi starts: …Um, there’s no news on Degrassi. WHY IS THERE NO NEWS ABOUT
DEGRASSI? I’M GOING TO FREAK OUT. I’m scared….Ok, some website says that it’s supposed to continue supposedly April 7th.
Game of Thrones starts: April 12th!
Oh good, so I’ll have a couple shows to watch. I don’t watch much tv.
~Books I Read~
Remember by Eileen Cook (4/5 stars)
Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor (4/5 stars)
None of The Above by I.W. Gregorio (4/5 stars)
I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demtrios (5/5 stars)
How To Win At High School by Owen Matthews (4/5)
The Law of Loving Others by Kate Axelrod (4/5)
Little Peach by Peggy Kern (4/4)
Pivot Point (#1) by Kasie West (4/5)
I’ve started My Heart and Other Black Holes and Split Second, but haven’t finished them. I hoped to do that today but…Twitter distracted me. 🙂 Overall I had a good reading month, rate-wise. I’ve already reviewed Remember, the rest will be reviewed in March and April.
~Blogging Related Highlights~
Um, I really loved seeing all of the #LoveAThon and #BloggerAuthorLove posts going on.
~On Twitter~
Two llamas escaped to their freedom before being captured five hours later. 🙂
And the internet is split because of this dress:
 
#TheDress

What colors do YOU see?

~Addictions~
Giveaways, sorry for all the tweets guys.
Boy Meets World
~How Did I  Do With My Resolutions?~
I didn’t read any classics, I didn’t finish a series, I didn’t read any adult books…. Let’s just say not so great. Haha.
~How Did I Do With My Challenges?~
Um….Yeah, about that….Oh! I read a couple debuts. 🙂
Well that’s been my month. How has yours been? Has anything exciting happened? Something unexpected? Did it go well or no? Let me know! Tomorrow I’ll be posting what I’m looking forward to next month.
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

7 responses to “Monthly Recap: February ’15

  • Kitty

    Love this post! Did you see the oscars? So glad Eddie won:D The dress is obviously white and gold. I don’t understand how anyone can see black and white. I haven’t caught up with VD yet. I’ve been watching Parks and Rec. You should check it out, so funny! I’m excited for Paper Towns. So many book to movie adaptations possibilities

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Ah! I didn’t see the Oscars. 😦 I don’t actually watch it, but I loved when I heard Sia was going to be performing. And yes! I heard about Eddie winning. 🙂 I’m so happy. Oh my gosh, you’re kidding, right? 😛 That dress is clearly blue and black. Haha.

      TVD’s getting a bit emotional lately so that may not be a bad thing. Ha.

      I haven’t seen Parks and Rec but I heard it’s so good and people are freaking out over it ending.

      There are so many book to movie adaption possibilities. I’d love I’ll Meet You There as a movie. Maybe.

      Like

  • Nova @ Out of Time

    I love that you’ve got all sorts of news on here. The music news is actually what I’m most interested in because I’m not close to being up to date with new releases! Though, I’m def aware of MATD coming back because I LOVE HER. [The lady Gaga one also needs to be checked out!]

    SPLIT SECOND <3333 I LOVE Kasie West so much.

    My Stacking the Shelves + Montly Recap here.

    – Nova @ Out of Time

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Thanks! I’m nowhere near close to being up to date with new releases either. 😦 Or old ones for that matter. I got so behind over the past year. *sigh* Working on that now though.

      I love MATD too! She’s so fantastic. Electra Heart is pretty much flawless. I’m not too crazy about some of her songs I’ve heard, but I imagine it will be better as a full length album. With some deluxe tracks hopefully.

      I’ve never been a fan of Lady Gaga, but I’ll try it. 🙂

      Kasie West is pretty good. This was the first book I read by her so I’m glad I enjoyed it. I can’t wait to read her more contemporary stuff. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  • My Week in a Wrapped #23 | EverythingNyze

    […] Monthly Recap: February ’15 by Amber of YA Indulgences […]

    Like

  • vlangloisx3

    NO POOR EPONINE! I’m glad she’s better again! Oh yeah and you too HAHA. And yayayay both of my favorite artists are coming back with new albums! And what, Marina and the Diamonds was gone for a while? I didn’t know that, I only got into her music two years ago so. and yay for Kelly Clarkson!

    ah the dress. AND LLAMAS, I can’t believe I missed an amazing internet day.

    Looks like you had an awesome month Amber! 🙂

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      I KNOW, IT WAS SO SAD. SHE’S BETTER NOW. So she’s running around the house… Hahaha, thanks for your concern about me.

      I’m so excited for new music. ❤ And yes, Marina has been "gone" since 2012, that was when Electra Heart was put out. Then she like, bankrupted her label…. I only got into it two years ago too. 🙂

      So excited for Kelly. Kind of. I'm scared.

      I also missed the internet day until two days later when I looked it up. Haha.

      Yes, my month was interesting. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

