The End of Glee

More Than This Provincial Life is a feature that allows me to talk about shows, movies and music. 
 
I haven’t watched Glee too long. I began last March with watching the first season. I’ve had various experiences with Glee before I ever began watching it “officially”.
1. Season 3 Finale
Ah, yes, I loved that brunette who sang Roots Before Branches as she went to New York and her boyfriend (due to him pushing her to). Of course, that wasn’t enough for me to watch the show.
2. The Quarterback (Season 5, Episode 3)
I remember hearing about Cory Monteith dying, but I never gave it a second though. “Oh, he was that guy on Glee. I wonder how the fans are going to take it?”. Then somehow one day, I began watching pieces of The Quarterback. Small scenes that had been uploaded to Youtube. I watched all that I could of the episode that way. It was heartbreaking to say the least.

3. Finchel (Finn/Rachel)

Watching snippets of The Quarterback lead me to being intrigued with Finchel. Of course, I didn’t know much about them, but I watched various videos fans put together of the two. It was this video that almost made me cry in Barnes and Noble. It was then thinking about The Quarterback episode and the great couple Finchel that would never be, that lead to me walking home alone (normally I’d go with my mom).
My favorite video that got me hooked on them was this one. 
Of course, given the context of this video, the song and what happened to Cory, you  can imagine it’s not exactly easy for me to watch. It is my favorite video though and the video that made me feel “I need to watch this show now”.
I can’t remember if I owned the first season of Glee before 2/3 or afterwards, but I remember seeing it on sale for 9.96 at Walmart and buying it. That was the best $9.96 I’ve ever spent.

4. The First Season

Of course, I fell head over heels in love with it from the moment Rachel sang On My Own from Les Miserables, one of my favorite musicals. My love for the show increased over the first season, seeing how the show dealt with issues like homosexuality, pregnancy, cheating, etc. The show felt very organic. 
Later I watched the second season, I need to know what was going to happen. It went great mostly. Rachel was becoming more unbearable, but I still loved the rest of the characters.
Then the third season happened and I liked the first few episodes, but it was going in directions I didn’t care for. 
I lost my longing to watch the show in the 9th episode. 
I’d heard what happened to Rachel’s character and the drama involving Kurt and Blaine in the 5th season. I had no interest in watching it.

5. Season 6…

Then season six happened and I knew it was the end. So I watched the first two episodes and I liked them. But I wasn’t hooked like I was for the first two seasons. A few weeks later, I watched the wedding episode and it was amazing to see where some of these characters were after the first and second season. It was great seeing their “endgame”.

6. 2009

I haven’t watched an episode since then until tonight when they did the “double” finale. I always intended on watching this episode, despite not finishing the season.
The first part was “2009” and t was a flashback episode. I loved it all. I loved seeing Rachel’s Type A, driven personality that she had back then. I liked seeing most of the original members together. Of course, Finn, Cory Monteith, wasn’t in the episode, but there was quite a bit of talk about him. I loved that. My favorite part of the episode was the ending, I saw it coming since I could still remember the scene. It was amazing.

7. Finally, The Finale

It was a little hard to get into the finale with some of the drastic changes. Fortunately though, I loved all of the song choices and I was glad to see some unlikely duos. The last episode went through quite a few time jumps, quite similar to Les mis. Fast forward six months, then five years and finally five years again. I mostly enjoyed the episode, even if I wish some things had been changed.

8. The Point

I wish I could say I watch the show from the beginning. I honestly can’t remember the last time I watched a show from the very beginning to the very end. All of the shows I watch I catch when they’ve over or have been cancelled, (One Tree Hill, Ghost Whisperer, Gilmore Girls, Veronica Mars) or when they’re already in their third/fourth season (Pretty Little Liars, Glee). There are a couple exceptions to this, well, one, The Vampire Diaries.
I wish I would have given this show a chance when it first premiered. If I had though, maybe I would have just been disappointed with it like so many fans are (online). I’m never one to jump on the bandwagon, if a show’s popular, chances are I won’t watch it for that exact reason. Glee was blowing up when it first came out and despite me liking musicals, I didn’t want any part in watching it. I could just smack myself for thinking that way.
Anyway, watching the final two episodes was bittersweet to me. I wasn’t there for the beginning, but I was there for the end. I caught the show at such an interesting time, graduation, then again after Cory’s death, watching parts of The Quarterback and then becoming so into the show couple, Finchel.
Overall, I’m pretty sad he show’s over. I’m not sure when I’ll go back to season 3 or if I may just have to rematch the entire show again. However…I have to say, despite never watching it regularly, I am going to miss it.

 
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

Leave a Reply

