Monthly Recap: March ’15

Hi everyone. 🙂 The monthly recap is one of my favorite posts to do even though it’s a bit time consuming. Every month I recap my life, my blog, music, movies, Broadway and book news as well.
~Life~
Life lately has been all right. I had to take two of my cats to the vet this past month, that wasn’t fun. Other than that, not too much has happened. Story of my life, right? Ha. I’ve had a huge reading slump all month which is why I only read one book. 😦 And didn’t review too much. I’m snapping out of it though, I think.
I won a lot of giveaways this month. 🙂 Which I’m now going to list here because, why not?
  1. ARC of Lying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger (From Debby at Snuggly Oranges)
  2. My Best Everything by Sarah Tomp (From Rockstar Books Blog Tour)
  3. ARCs of Sweet by Emmy, Devoted by Jennifer Mathieu, and Joyride by Anna Banks (From Twitter).
  4. Amazon Gift Card (From Lisa at ReadBreatheRelax)
  5. Anna Banks Swag (From Jessica at Crossroad Reviews)
  6. Revenge, Ice Cream and Other Things Best Served Cold (A Revenge novel #2) by Katie Finn (From @FierceReads on Twitter)
  7. The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows (From Angie at DisquietsusReads
  8. Dead To Me by Mary McCoy (From Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl
  9. Liars Inc swag on Twitter at Paula Stoke’s Twitter Party
  10. E-Copy of When Joss Met Matt by (From Ginger at Good Reads)
  11. ARC of The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord (From Gaby and Lisa @BookishBroads on Twitter)
  12. The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine (From Katrina at Bookish Things and More)
  13. Duff Soundtrack, shirt and signed Bella Thorne poster (From Celebuzz.com)

Okay, on to the Stats recap.
~Stats~
WordPress Followers: 113
BlogLovin’ Followers: 
Facebook Likes: 20
# of Views/Visitors: 3,410/2,506
# of Blog Posts: 21 (Now 22)
# of Reviews: 4
# of Likes: 43
# of Comments: 111 (Half are mine)
Most Viewed Post: Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman (1,388 views)
~Book Stats~
# of Books Read: One. 😦
# of Books Bought: Six (5 Pre-Ordered)
# of Books Borrowed: 0
# of Books For Review: 0
# of Books Won: 11 (Roughly….)
# of Books Given: 1 (It hasn’t come yet though. 🙂 From Dahlia on Twitter<3)

~What I Posted (Minus memes and weekly recaps)~
Reviews:
ARC Review: How To Win At High School
ARC Review: Little Peach by Peggy Kern
ARC Review: The Walled City by Ryan Graudin
ARC Review: None of The Above by I.W. Gregorio
Features:
Looking Forward To: March ’15
Musical Monday: I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios Playlist
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#25)
When Life Interferes…(Amber’s Rambles #16)
The End of Glee (More Than This Provincial Life #3)
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#26)
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#27)
Cleaning Out The Feed(Reader) (Amber’s Rambles #17)
Other Posts:
Bloggiesta Spring 2015

~Favorite Post(s)~
Musical Monday: I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios Playlist
Cleaning Out The Feed(Reader) (Amber’s Rambles #17)

~Blogging Changes~
I made a header! 😀
~Blogosphere Participation~
  • I participated in Paula Stokes’ #TwitterMysteryTheater
  • I went to Paula Stokes’ Twitter party for Liars Inc<3
  • I had a Twitter chat about All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  • I took part in Bloggiesta for the first time ever. It was so much fun.

~Book/Author Related~
  • These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman is to become a tv show
  • Dark Places by Gillian Flynn is becoming a movie.
  • 52 Reasons To Hate My Father has been acquired by Vampire Academy Producers 
  • MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES has been optioned for film by Paramount Pictures with Anonymous Content producing!
  • Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee had a second printing.
  • The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie had a second printing

~Music~
Oh my goodness, it’s been such a good music month for me. I’ll have to break this into sections.
-Songs I Was Obsessed With-
Shots by Imagine Dragons
Piece By Piece by Kelly Clarkson
Failure by Breaking Benjamin
Happy by Marina and The Diamonds
Forget by Marina and the Diamonds
I’m A Ruin by Marina and The Diamonds
Karaoke by Smallpools
-Albums I Liked-
Piece By Piece by Kelly Clarkson
Froot by Marina and The Diamonds
LOVETAP! by Smallpools
-Discovered Music-
I’ve liked Ayumi for a while, but I kind of never gave all of her songs a whole listen. I found this video when someone shared it on Popjustice. It’s so amazing. ❤ This was a great era for her apparently. This may be is my favorite live video of all time. So beautiful.  And when the lights hit and all of the decorations drop, I fall apart. It’s so beautiful.<3 I would have died to see her at this concert. Oh my gosh….
  • Runaway by Aurora
  • Young Blood by Bea Miller
  • Ryn weaver “OctaHate”
  • Steppin’ Out by Kaskade
  • Divine Inspiration “The Way” by Divine Inspiration
  • Fifty Sixty by Alizee
Song Teasers
So gorgeous, it reminds me of I Never Learn by Lykke Li (highly recommended, by the way.
She’s back guys! I’m dying<3
-New Songs-
This song seriously gives me life. ❤ Sounds just like old BB.
I just found this song from Ginger’s tweet on twitter.
I adore this video so so so much. It feels like a movie and I want a movie based on this. It’s so beautiful. I love it so so so much. ❤ It’s so….amazing.
-Newly Favorited Songs-
Fallen Angel by Three Days Grace
You’ve Haunted Me All My Life by Death Cab For Cutie
Believe by Mumford & Sons
Dead Inside by Muse
Emoticons by The Wombats
Crystals by Of Monsters and Men
Can You Blame Me by Matt and Kim
Lifted Up by Passion Pit

~Movies/Musical Related~
Okay, so we have Mulan, can we please get a live action version of Aladdin and The Hunchback of Notre Dame now please? Pleaseeeeee.

~TV Show Wise~
  • Glee ended. 😦 The finale was pretty great though, I wish some things had been different, but I still loved it. Especially the flashback episode.
  • iZombie launched! I’ve only watched the Pilot so far though. 😦 I was busy last week with something and missed it. I’m so excited for it though because Rob Thomas is behind it. (Adapting it, I mean, he didn’t actually think of the idea himself).
  • The Vampire Diaries has gone on on a small hiatus and won’t be back until next month for the final four episodes in the sixth season. 😦
  • i’m working my way through Veronica Mars again. 🙂 This time, I’ve been having my cousin watch it with me. OH! I also got Kaitlin hooked on it as well. So proud. 😉
  • I’m also catching up on Boy Meets World with season 2, I forgot how good the earlier seasons are because I love the later ones (mostly) so much.

~Purchases (Books, Albums, DVDs)-
~Books Bought~
Liars Inc by Paula Stokes
Written In The Stars by Aisha Saeed
Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne
Not Otherwise Specified by Hannah Moskowitz
Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang
-Books Pre-Ordered-
A Court of Thorn and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord
An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
All The Rage by Courtney Summers + Bonus book (I can’t remember the name…)
Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

-Albums Bought-
Veronica Mars Movie Soundtrack
Imagine Dragons “Smoke + Mirrors”
Fall Out Boy “American Beauty/American Psycho”
-Albums Pre-Ordered-
i pre-ordered a couple albums that have now come out, so if that’s the case, I will also put “(Now own)”.
Marina and The Diamonds “Froot” (Now own)
Kodaline “Coming Up For Air” (Now own)
Smallpools “Lovetap!” (Now own)
Breaking Benjamin “Dark Before Dawn” (Pre-ordered)
Three Days Grace “Human” (Now own)
Death Cab For Cutie “Kintsugi” (Now own)
Muse “Drones” (Pre-Ordered)
The Wombats “Glitterbug” Deluxe (Pre-Ordered)
Of Monsters and Men “Beneath The Skin” (Deluxe) (Pre-Ordered)
Mumford & Sons “Wilder Mind” (Deluxe) (Pre-Ordered)

-DVDS Bought-
Veronica Mars Season 2
Veronica Mars Movie
Amelie
Boy Meets World Season 2

~How Did I  Do With My Resolutions?~
I’m still working on these….
~How Did I Do With My Challenges?~
I read Positively Beautiful for the Netgalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge.
I wrote three discussions for the Book Blog Discussion Challenge.
I read Positively Beautiful for the Debut Author Challenge.
I ended up with eight squares for the Bookish Bingo: 2015 New Year. but no bingos.

Okay, so that pretty much is it for me this month. Let me know how your month’s have been.
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

6 responses to “Monthly Recap: March ’15

  • Rosie @ Rosie Reads

    I hope your cats are okay! It always sucks when a pet is sick 😦

    I’ve been in a review-writing rut for a while, but I think it’s wearinf off too!

    Wow, so many new goodies! Go you! Hope you like everything you got 🙂

    SO MANY BOOKS ARE BECOMING MOVIES and it’s making my heart swell with awesomeness! Not to mention, a lot of new Disney remakes are in production – like The Little Mermaid and Beauty & the Beast with Emma freaking Watson as Belle! I’m so stoked for that… We have to wait two more years until release, though. 😦 And I am just learning about Dumbo?! Holy CRAP, I love Tim Burton! I would kill for a live action Aladdin, just sayin’…

    MARINA – Gosh I love her! And doesn’t BB just have such a unique, distinct sound? I love it. And OMG you just made me realize Three Days Grace new album is out! EEEEP. *listens on Spotify* I sure do miss Adam, their old singer, but I still love the sound 🙂

    Yay for Not Otherwise Specified! Excited for that one, AND A Court of Thorns and Roses! 😀

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Thanks! They’re okay now. 🙂

      That’s great! I’m hoping to review a bit more regularly after this week, hopefully.

      Yes, I got so much<3 I went on overload, haha. I haven't bought many albums or books in a while.

      WHAT? BEAUTY AND THE BEAST WON'T BE OUT FOR TWO MORE YEARS? D: That's so sad. 😦 Oh my gosh, is The Little Mermaid going to be a movie too? Ah, I didn't hear about that! Yay. I TOTALLY WANT A LIVE ACTION ALADDIN. THAT'D BE SO GOOD. Maybe a little darker though. I'd kill for a live action Hunchback of Notre Dame.

      Marina is so great! And yeah, I love the Ben's voice in BB. ❤ So good. I think that's what makes Failure sound like an old BB song, because it's by the same singer. Oh Three Days Grace, I didn't like their album too much at all. 😦 Too many songs were so short and gah, I adore Fallen Angel.

      Yay<3 So excited to read Not Otherwise Specified.

      Like

  • vlangloisx3

    CATS. NO. Glad to hear they’re okay now. AND HOW THE HECK DID YOU WIN ALL THOSE GIVEAWAYS SHOW ME YOUR WAYS.

    I’m going to go back to your post later and listen to all this new music. BREAKING BENJAMIN YAY. Also MULAN yes. BEAUTY AND THE BEAST YES. This has been an awesome month hahah 🙂

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Yes<3 Darn cats, just have to go and get sick and injured and everything else. Gosh. One's still missing (I have three), not sure what's happened to him…..

      Anyway, I JUST TWEET LIKE A LOT. I'M KIND OF BAD LIKE THAT. That's how I ended up winning two copies of ToQ, haha. 🙂
      My Best Everything and When Joss Met Matt were one of ten copies, so that's how I acquired those. As for Twitter, dumb luck<3

      So much music! I just love it. I'M SO GLAD BREAKING BENJAMIN IS BACK, BUT I WISH THEY HAD THE FORMER BANDMEMBERS TOO.

      I'm dying for Mulan and Beauty and The Beast's live action movies. ❤ But apparently B&TB doesn't come out for two more years. 😦 Gah.

      It has been an awesome month! Book wise. And music wise. And movie wise. And giveaway wise. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

