All My Inspiring Book Quotes

Top Ten TuesdayHey everyone. For today’s top ten tuesday, this has to be my favorite favorite FAVORITE topic EVER. Ever. Today’s topic is….top ten inspiring quotes from books.
Now, you probably don’t know this but….I am a quote addict. Yes, you read that right. A quote addict. Movies, TV shows and especially books. I love them. I hoard them. I live by them. I even created them at one time.
I’ll admit, somehow I only focused in on the “quotes” part of the list before freaking out and looking up quotes. Then I discovered the list is for inspiring quotes. Never fear, I don’t have a shortage of those ones either. 🙂 Because I am not good at graphics, I’m giving these to you all straight! 😀
~Inspiring Quotes from Books~
“People you love should always be more important than people who judge you.” (Every Ugly Word by Aimee L. Salter)
You just have to. If you push through this, you’ll show them. You’ll show them you didn’t deserve this. (Every Ugly Word by Aimee L. Salter)
“The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.” (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“I learned that there is good in this world, if you look hard enough for it. I learned that not everyone is disappointing, including me, and that a 1,257 bump in the ground can feel higher than a bell tower if you’re standing next to the right person.” (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“What if life could be this way? Only the happy parts, none of the terrible, not even the mildly unpleasant. What if we could just cut out the bad and keep the good?” (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“You need shoving, not pushing. You need to jump back on that camel. Otherwise you’re going to stay up on the ledge you’ve made for yourself.” (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“We do not remember days, we remember moments.” (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“Let’s go. Let’s count for something. Let’s get off that ledge.” (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
The thing I realize is, it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave. (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
If I was going to do something, I wanted to give my life over to it, to love it, to wake up in the morning for it like I had for dance. (Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor)
 In my essay for San Fran, i’d written about how I’d always felt like there was something magical about taking bits and pieces of the world around me and creating something whole. It gave me hope: if you could make a beautiful piece of art from discarded newspapers and matchbooks, then it meant that everything had potential. And maybe people were like collages–no matter how broken or useless we felt, we were an essential part of the whole. We mattered. (I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios)
“Live in the present. Take care of the relationships in front of you now. Most friendships have a natural life, and when they’ve lived that out, you’ll know.” (Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando)
“As much I love to imagine being alone in an orderly lab, I also know you can’t stay in there forever and expect to do good work. Life is one of those experiments meant to be conducted in a stimulating, messy environment.”  (Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando)
“I do my best thinking at night when everyone else is sleeping. No interruptions. No noise. I like the feeling of being awake when no one else is.” (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“Your hope lies in accepting your life as it now lies before you, forever changed. If you can do that, the peace you seek will follow. Forever changed. I am forever changed. (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“Sometimes it’s hard to hear when we’ve done something wrong. But we can learn from our mistakes.” (Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor)
“If I was going to do something, I wanted to give my life over to it, to love it, to wake up in the morning for it like I had for dance.” (Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor)
“It will take so long for you to understand this, but you can’t punish yourself for someone else’s pain. You have to learn to separate, to draw boundaries. It’s the hardest thing, loving your mother. It’s the most profound and heartbreaking, the most important, love of my life. But I also couldn’t let it define me. I had another daughter. I had grandchildren. I had my own sense of self. And now I have Saul too.” (The Law of Loving Others by Kate Axelrod)
“Earlier that morning I’d been flipping through the pages of Anna Karenina, and I came across this sentence toward the end: But the law of loving others could not be discovered by reason, because it is unreasonable. There was such a comfort in those words. Yes, it was impossible to control whom I loved and why, and just as my family had no choice but to love my mother, I had not chosen whatever complicated feelings I felt for Daniel or Phil. There was nothing to be done about that. All I could do was try my best to navigate through the tangled mess of loss and longing.”  (The Law of Loving Others by Kate Axelrod)
“And I thought about how easy it was to view someone else’s future in a way that was so optimistic and full of hope. Why did it feel impossible to do the same about my own?” (The Law of Loving Others by Kate Axelrod)
“I was the Duff. And that was a good thing. Because anyone who didn’t feel like the Duff must not have friends. Every girl feels unattractive sometimes. Why had it taken me so long to figure that out? Why had I been stressing over that dumb word for so long when it was so simple? I should be proud to be the Duff. Proud to have great friends who, in their minds, were my Duffs.” (The DUFF:Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger)
“Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you.”  (If I Stay #1 by Gayle Forman)
“I realize now that dying is easy. Living is hard.” (If I Stay #1 by Gayle Forman)
“And that’s just it, isn’t it? That’s how we manage to survive the loss. Because love, it never dies, it never goes away, it never fades, so long as you hang on to it.”  (If I Stay #1 by Gayle Forman)
“You just work through it. You just hang in there.” (If I Stay #1 by Gayle Forman)
“Life might take you down different roads. But each of you gets to decide which one to take.”  (If I Stay by Gayle Forman)
“And I bet she’ll be a stronger person because of what she’s lost today. I have a feeling that once you live through something like this, you become a little bit invincible.”  (If I Stay #1 by Gayle Forman)
“There are just lots of possibilities in the world…I need to keep my mind open for what could happen and not decide that the world is hopeless if what I want to happen doesn’t happen. Because something else great might happen in between.”  (Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)

“But isn’t this a dance? Isn’t all of this a dance? Isn’t that what we do with words? Isn’t that what we do when we talk, when we spar, when we make plans or leave it to chance? Some of it’s choreographed. Some of the steps have been done for ages. And the rest — the rest is spontaneous. The rest has to be decided on the floor, in the moment, before the music ends.”  (Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)

“I love snow for the same reason I love Christmas: It brings people together while time stands still. Cozy couples lazily meandered the streets and children trudged sleds and chased snowballs. No one seemed to be in a rush to experience anything other than the glory of the day, with each other, whenever and however it happened.” (Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)

“The universe doesn’t decide what’s right or not right. You do.” (Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)

“I’m told there’s no going back. So I’m choosing forward.” (Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)

“But whether or not you are here, you are here—because these words are for you, and they wouldn’t exist if you weren’t here in some way.” (Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)

“You have to trust the words. They do not create anything more than themselves.” (Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)

“Did you know that people who meet at least three different times within twenty-four hour period are ninety-eight percent more likely to meet again?” (The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith)

“Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?” (The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith)

“But Hadley understood. It wasn’t that she was meant to read them all. Maybe someday she would, but for now, it was more the gesture itself. He was giving her the most important thing he could, the only way he knew how. He was a professor, a lover of stories, and he was building her a library in the same way other men might build their daughters houses.”  (The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith)

“People talk about books being an escape, but here on the tube, this one feels more like a lifeline…The motion of the train makes her head rattle, but her eyes lock on the words the way a figure skater might choose a focal point as she spins, and just like that, she’s grounded again.”  (The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith)
“The important people in our lives leave imprints. They may stay or go in the physical realm, but they are always there in your heart, because they helped form your heart. There’s no getting over that.”  (Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)
“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“So, I guess we are who we are for alot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“There’s nothing like deep breaths after laughing that hard. Nothing in the world like a sore stomach for the right reasons.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“It’s just that I don’t want to be somebody’s crush. If somebody likes me, I want them to like the real me, not what they think I am. And I don’t want them to carry it around inside. I want them to show me, so I can feel it too.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“This moment will just be another story someday.” 
‘“And I thought about how many people have loved those songs. And how many people got through a lot of bad times because of those songs. And how many people enjoyed good times with those songs. And how much those songs really mean. I think it would be great to have written one of those songs. I bet if I wrote one of them, I would be very proud. I hope the people who wrote those songs are happy. I hope they feel it’s enough. I really do because they’ve made me happy. And I’m only one person.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“We didn’t talk about anything heavy or light. We were just there together. And that was enough” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“It’s much easier to not know things sometimes. Things change and friends leave. And life doesn’t stop for anybody. I wanted to laugh. Or maybe get mad. Or maybe shrug at how strange everybody was, especially me. I think the idea is that every person has to live for his or her own life and than make the choice to share it with other people. You can’t just sit their and put everybody’s lives ahead of yours and think that counts as love. You just can’t. You have to do things. I’m going to do what I want to do. I’m going to be who I really am. And I’m going to figure out what that is. And we could all sit around and wonder and feel bad about each other and blame a lot of people for what they did or didn’t do or what they didn’t know. I don’t know. I guess there could always be someone to blame. It’s just different. Maybe it’s good to put things in perspective, but sometimes, I think that the only perspective is to really be there. Because it’s okay to feel things. I was really there. And that was enough to make me feel infinite. I feel infinite.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“Sometimes people use thought to not participate in life.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“And even if somebody else has it much worse, that doesn’t really change the fact that you have what you have. Good and bad.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“I don’t even remember the season. I just remember walking between them and feeling for the first time that I belonged somewhere.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“If you care about somebody, you should want them to be happy. Even if you wind up being left out.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)
“But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things.” (Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky)

~Inspiring Scenery Quotes~
The lights of City Beyond shine bright–like stars that fell to earth and got wedged in its streets and sidewalks. (The Walled City by Ryan Graudin)
Winter in Pennsylvania was bleak, but still there was something beautiful in its nearly silent emptiness.” (The Law of Loving Others by Kate Axelrod)
“Stars in the sky, stars on the ground. It’s hard to tell where the sky ends and the earth begins. I feel the need to say something grand and poetic, but the only thing I come up with is “It’s lovely.” (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“Everything—the moon, the fireworks, the fields—had an otherworldly beauty, and I shivered, greedy for these bits of loveliness the universe was throwing our way tonight.” (I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios)

~Inspiring Love-y Quotes~
“No more winter at all. Finch, you brought me spring.”  (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“You make me lovely, and it’s so lovely to be lovely to the one I love.…” (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“And in that moment there’s nothing I fear except losing hold of her hand.”  (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“The thing is, they were all perfect days.”  (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“Even when we weren’t wandering, even from the floor of your closet, you showed the world to me.”  (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“You saved my life, she tried to tell him. Not forever, not for good. Probably just temporarily. But you saved my life, and now I’m yours. The me that’s me right now is yours. Always.” (Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell)
Holding Eleanor’s hand was like holding a butterfly. Or a heartbeat. Like holding something complete, and completely alive.” (Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell)
“You know what I like about you, Ultraviolet Remarke-able? Everything.  (All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven)
“Not everyone makes it fifty-two years, and if you do, it doesn’t matter that you once stood in front of all those people and said that you would. The important part is that you had someone to stick by you all that time. Even when everything sucked.” (The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith)
“But the you who you are tonight is the same you I was in love with yesterday, the same you I’ll be in love with tomorrow.”  (If I Stay (#1) by Gayle Forman
“It’s not every day you get to watch the two people you care most about in the world fall in love.” (I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios)
“I can’t believe I only knew you for a year and a half—how can one person change you in two football seasons? But you did.” (I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios)
 
“I want to believe there is a somebody out there for me. I want to believe that I exist to be there for that somebody.” (Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn)

Well, I figure that is close enough to a million for now. 🙂 I hope you enjoy them. ❤

 
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

8 responses to “All My Inspiring Book Quotes

Leave a Reply

