ARC Review: We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

We All Looked UpTitle: We All Looked Up
Author: Tommy Wallach
Published: March 24th, 2015 (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
Pages: 384
Genres/Themes: Young Adult, Contemporary, Social Issues, Romance
Format: E-ARC
Source: Edelweiss from Simon & Schuster (Disclaimer: This in no affects my review)
Rating: Four Stars
Goodreads Summary:
Before the asteroid we let ourselves be defined by labels:
The athlete, the outcast, the slacker, the overachiever. 
But then we all looked up and everything changed. 
They said it would be here in two months. That gave us two months to leave our labels behind. Two months to become something bigger than what we’d been, something that would last even after the end. 
Two months to really live.
Purchase: Barnes and Noble / Amazon / Book Depository
Cover Thoughts: I like the cover’s simplicity. I love how small the font and the asteroid are.
First Line: “It’s not the end of the world,” Stacey said.
~First Thoughts~
I love the first sentence.
~Review~
What I Enjoyed:
  1. All four of the main characters are pretty disconnected from each other aside from small connections, this reminded me of The Breakfast Club and the ‘detention center” they were metaphorically stuck in was the three month gap they had to live.
  2. I like how We All Looked Up was sex positive for Eliza, Andy and Peter.
  3. I liked how it didn’t launch straight into the asteroid aspect and kind of lead up to it. I enjoyed seeing the characters living their regular lives and beginning to think more about what they want without the asteroid causing them to.
  4. I thought seeing how the asteroid coming affected everything. There were suddenly police in the high school, a lot of places closed down because people quit working, looting was on the rise and people didn’t really care about anything since the world was ending. They would burn buildings, steal stuff, it was interesting to see.
  5. I loved how different all of the characters were from each other, I like how Anita and Eliza didn’t understand each other and how Peter and Any didn’t understand each other and in the end, they kind of figure out that they’re not everything they initially thought they were.
  6. I found all the characters were pretty evenly created with likabaility and not. None of them were perfect.
  7. Eliza immediately had my attention. She was labeled a slut for kissing Peter in the photo lab since Peter had a girlfriend at the time. I loved how Eliza had a tumblr. I loved how she had an inner countdown going on from how many times she would have coffee to how many times she would see the sunset, etc. It was a fascinating thing to do and something I could definitely see myself doing. It reminded me of the song Seasons of Love from RENT.
  8. I thought it was interesting to see how each character reacted. For Peter, he really began wondering what life was all about and Anita wanted to sing and stand up to her parents. Other characters just didn’t care and destroyed places and stole.
  9. The writing style and concept was so well done. I loved how well Wallach worded this. I found myself quoting so much in this book, including entire sections of work.
  10. Finally I like how Wallach brought these four characters together who were all stereotyped based on their mistakes and shortcomings. I like how he united them together and how they grew to like one another.
  11. The word “Pyrrhic”, if nothing else, We All Looked Up taught me my new favorite word.
What I Didn’t Like:
  1. I thought it was a little predictable at some points, mostly regarding the romance, which I wasn’t quite sold on.
  2. It was hard to follow at times because certain events were recapped from other characters and shown from multiple point of views.
  3. I felt the background characters weren’t established well enough to really care about them.
  4. I couldn’t fully connect with the main characters on a deeper level.
~Final Thoughts~
I love how Wallach began We All Looked Up before knowledge of the astroid was widespread. I liked how he introduced the four characters. I enjoyed how he wrote We All Looked Up. Overall, there were some things holding me back from fully enjoying the book. I loved seeing how people were affected, especially those who weren’t the main characters. I wasn’t fond of the romance aspect that happened, but what better time to fall in love than at the end of the world, right? I found it to be incredibly thought provoking because it caused people to change their actions for the better or worse. It made me think about my life. It left me to wonder what I would do if an asteroid were to hit the earth in my lifetime. As I finish this review, I found out yesterday an asteroid was going to be passing by the earth. Nothing like Ardor, of course, but nonetheless, the thought made me think of We All Looked Up. I think even though I didn’t love We All Looked Up, it will be in my mind for a while.
~Do I Recommend?~
Yes
~Recommended For~
Fans of ensemble casts
Fans of thought-provoking YA
Fans of impending doom scenarios
~Will I Re-Read It?~
Maybe
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

5 responses to “ARC Review: We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

  • vlangloisx3

    SEASONS OF LOVEEEEEEEEE ❤ ❤

    I'm excited to see you liked this book! I'm surprised (and then not) that this focuses more on character development rather than, you know, THE DESTRUCTION OF THE WORLD. I'm excited to get my hands on this, one day. I think I would be more interested in DESTRUCTION, but maybe I will also like the characters hahah.

    AWESOME REVIEW AMBER. Bonus points for referencing Rent.

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Hahaha, that’s the song! ❤

      I did like it! I loved the characterization and seeing the personalities rather than the destruction, even though it was fascinating to see how it affected the world (No power, inflation, violence). Gah, I wish there had been a bit more of that actually. Haha, the characters aren't bad.

      THANK YOU!<3 I thought about Rent as soon as I read about what Eliza was doing.

      Like

  • Erin @ The Hardcover Lover

    The Breakfast Club is one of my favorite movies ever, so this one is on my list of important books to read. I’ll have to make sure I pick it up soon because I’ve been dying to read it for a while now.

    Like

  • Charlotte

    This sounds fab! Defo going on my TBR pile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

