Monthly Recap: April ’15

The monthly recap is one of my favorite posts to do even though it’s a bit time consuming. Every month I recap my life, my blog, and talk about music, movies, Broadway and book news as well. 🙂 I hope you enjoy it.
Note: Not everything will be linked, but I will be working on that tomorrow.

Stats

WordPress Followers: 127
BlogLovin’ Followers: 81
# of Views/Visitors: 2,821/1,914
# of Blog Posts: 19 (20 Now)
# of Reviews: 4
# of Likes: 37
# of Comments: 89
Most Viewed Post: 2015 YA Trends/Themes (Amber’s Rambles (#12))
Most Viewed Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman (958 views)

Book Stats

# of Books Read: One. 😦
Finding Paris by Joy Preble, which I reviewed (and you can find that below).
# of Books Started: Four
  • Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  • The Cemetery Boys by Heather Brewer
  • City Love by Susane Colasanti
  • Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
  • Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa
# of Books Bought: 12
  • The Distance Between Us by Kasie West (Kindle)
  • How to Love by Katie Cotugno (Kindle)
  • The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings (Kindle)
  • Of Metal and Wishes by Sarah Fine (Kindle)
  • Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson (Kindle)
  • TTFN – 10th Anniversary update and Reissue (The Internet Girls) by Lauren Myracle (Kindle)
  • L8R, G8R – 10th Anniversary update and Reissue (The Internet Girls) by Lauren Myracle (Kindle)
  • Play On by Michelle Smith (Kindle)
  • All The Rage by Courtney Summers (Kindle) – Which I pre-ordered last month
  • Love and Other Unknown Variables by Shannon Alexander (Kindle)
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Orlando by Virginia Woolf
I was in this bookstore a couple weeks ago and I couldn’t resist picking these two books up. The first one, because, well it’s The Scarlet Letter, so like, obviously. And the second one because of the lovely writing I saw of Virginia Woolf’s in All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I had to get it.
All of the Kindle books above aside from Play On and All The Rage were 1.99 so I couldn’t resist buying them. 🙂 Even if I did already own The Distance Between Us and Since You’ve Been Gone in paperback.
# of Books For Review: 7
  • Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham (Little, Brown Books For Young Readers via NG)
  • Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy (HarperCollins via EW)
  • Fans of The Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa (HarperCollins via EW)
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness (HarperCollins via EW)
  • One by Sarah Crossan (HarperCollins via EW)
  • Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas (Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books)
  • A History of Glitter and Blood by Hannah Moskowitz (Chronicle Books via NG)
Thank you Brown Books For Young Readers, HarperCollins, Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books and Chronicle Books! I’m so excited to read these.
# of Books Won: 5
  • Simon VS. ARC from Epic Reads (Even though I didn’t receive an email
  • Written In The Stars ARC from Meredith on Twitter<3
  • A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery from The NOVL
  • The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne (Book of my choice) from Holly!<3
  • Silent Alarm by Jennifer Banash from Kaitlin! ❤
# of Books Given: 
Veronica Mars: The Thousand-Dollar Tanline by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham
Thanks to Lauren in trade for my To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before ARC which I haven’t mailed out but will!)
~What I Posted (Minus memes and weekly recaps)~
Features:
Looking Forward To: April ’15
Wondrous Covers Wednesday – Beach Aspect
Wondrous Covers Wednesday – Word Bubbles
Wondrous Covers Wednesday – Stars
Wondrous Covers Wednesday – City Lights
Amber’s Rambles: All The Songs I Associate With Books
Reviews:
ARC Review Finding Paris by Joy Preble (Three Stars)
The Law of Loving Others by Kate Axelrod (Four Stars)
ARC Review: We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach (Four Stars)
ARC Review: Positively Beautiful by Wendy Mills (Four Stars)
Other Posts:
Tiny Pretty Things Giveaway Contest (Ends in 9 days/May 9th!!)
Five Reasons You Need Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu In Your Life
If you haven’t entered the giveaway for Tiny Pretty Things, you should definitely check it out. All you have to do to enter is tell me why you’re excited or interested in reading it and then enter the Rafflecopter giveaway I linked! 🙂
~How Did I  Do With My Resolutions?~
Not so well.
~How Did I Do With My Challenges?~
 I read one book for the NG/EW Reading Challenge.
~Blogging Changes~
I may begin doing a bi-monthly recap for my blog because this is a ton of work to do all in one post. Haha. So similar to Lauren’s bulletin posts she does (which I think are still bi-monthly). 🙂

TV News
Nina leaves the vampire diaries
Director no longer doing Twin Peaks
Game of Thrones has returned for it’s fifth season!
Book Related Movie News
The Young Elites is becoming a movie
Ready Player One to be a movie!
Fantastic Videos
Look at this amazing video of Stefan and Caroline! 

This video kills me with it’s perfection and loveliness. I could die from watching. It’s amazing. And breathtaking. 

I also just discovered this amazing video involving Stefan and Caroline again. ❤

I fell in love with this video again.
There’s also a “sequel” for the villains.
I also love this following video.
I re-discovered amazing Degrassi Minis including some I’ve never seen before that are totally bizarre and I love them. You can watch these without the show being spoiled for you at all since they’re not canon or anything. 🙂
Nostalgia hit me so hard with this video 

Great covers

Lykke Li’s “We’re Going Home” (Drake Cover)
Discovered Music
Hop Along by Waitress
Say Something by Karen Harding
Jennasea by The Morning Of
Faith by Emi McDade
2AM by Astrid 
Weak Heart by Zara Larsson 
Rooftop by Zara Larsson 
Lovin’ So Hard by Becky G
Musical NewsAnastasia Stage Musical Sets World Premiere! I’m so ecstatic about this!
New Music
Video of song scrapped from past album – Grimes “Realiti”
Entropy by Grimes (Co-written with Jack Antonoff)
The Vaccines premiered video for “Dream Lover”
Carly Rae Jepsen “All That”
Florence + The Machine “St. Jude” , “Ship To Wreck”
MS MR “Painted”
Lana Del Rey “Beautiful”
Hilary Duff “Sparks”
Vanessa Carlton “Young Heart”
Far From Heaven by Jojo”
Brandon Flowers “Lonely Town”
Breaking Benjamin “Angels Fall” and “Defeated”
Music News
Foxes album is finished!
Sky Ferreira’s in talk for her second album Masochism!
~Music Purchases~
I Really Like You by Carly Rae Jepsen
Still Want You and Can’t Deny My Love by Brandon Flowers were made available to me through the pre-order
Angels Fall by Breaking Benjamin (Through my pre-order)
The Wolf by Mumford & Sons (Through my pre-order)
Something’s Gotta Give by All Time Low (Through my pre-order)
Received my pre-orders for Kodaline and The Wombats new albums.
 

My Life

I’m still trying to find a job.
It’s my dad’s birthday! He’s 56. Wow. 🙂
This month has been a bit chaotic, but winning a few books and finding new music has helped. 🙂
Hopefully next month will be a bit better though, even though next month begins the first of four months that I freak out over storms and tornado possibilities. 🙂

Let me know how your week has been everyone. Tell me what you did, what books you got, what you read, anything exciting or boring. Just share. ❤
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

4 responses to “Monthly Recap: April ’15

Leave a Reply

