Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#35)

WCW_GraphicWondrous Covers Wednesday is a  weekly feature I created to showcase generally three book covers that I love that share common themes or attributes.
Good afternoon everyone! I decided I would showcase three covers that have a mostly black background and ornate details on the covers! 
~One~
Hold Me Like A Breath
Hold Me Like A Breath (Once Upon A Crime Family #1) by Tiffany Schmidt (Published May 19th)
~My Thoughts~
This has to be one of my favorite covers of the year. I love how vivid the butterfly and  how the wings like shatter apart when they hit the gate. I discovered this from Sarah! That just adds a lot of poetic sadness to the image. It also shows the darkness in this “Crime Family”.  I also really love the gate in the background and how it’s detailed, but small, in diameter. 🙂 I love the title and the font, using white was a really smart choice and it works well with the other colors.
~Two~
Seek Me In The Shadows
Seek Me In The Shadows (#2) by Danielle Ellison (Publishes October 20th)
~My Thoughts~
The darkness in this cover comes across very strongly with the title, the woods and the time of day it seems to take place. I love the colors that are used in this, they’re similar to the ones in Hold Me Like A Breath with a lot of orange and red. I like the little image in between “In The”. That’s really interesting.
~Three~
5 to 1
5 to 1 by Holly Bodger (Published May 12th)
~My Thoughts~
5 to 1 is also one of my favorite covers of the year. Just look at it. Look. You’re amazed, aren’t you? You’re astounded, you’re…. okay, I’ll stop. 🙂
If you don’t know, 5 to 1 takes place in India in the future. I love how this cover really emphasizes the Indian culture with it’s symbols and the colors. I think it’s really unique to have the author’s name and the title in the middle of the picture. 5 to 1 is told in verse and I wouldn’t be surprised if that was why the title was featured as going down rather than straight across, but maybe I’m wrong. Ha.
There is seriously just too much to talk about this cover, but I’m going to keep with it.
Okay, I LOVE the Mehndi on the hands, if you don’t know what that is, that’s a paste that Indians use, generally women, from what I’ve read, when they get married and during other ceremonies. And since this takes place in India in the future, I LOVE how the cover goes to show that accuracy from the very beginning. The colors on it are sooo gorgeous. Are they not? They are. Look at the pinks! They’re so pretty! 
The design itself on the hands are so unique, I only noticed the eyes on the pinky fingers after seeing a bigger picture of it. I can’t wait to see how they come into play in the book, which I’m sure they will.
This has to be the longest I’ve ever talked about a cover on here. 🙂 I just love it so much.

Let me know what you think of these three covers and if you’ve read any of them!
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

7 responses to “Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#35)

  • vlangloisx3

    LOOK IT’S STILL HERE. HAHAHAHHA.

    I loved Hold Me Like A Breath’s cover, but it was so misleading and it made me so mad hahahah. Oh well. I WANT TO READ 5 to 1. THE COVER IS BEAUTIFUL. There are so many colors, but in a subtle way!

    Like

  • benish

    These covers are sooo pretty! 5 to 1 was a decent read, I think maybe you might like it still? Hold Me Like a Breath was so disappointing, the actual premise was quite original though.

    Like

  • Rachel @A Perfection Called Books

    Ooh such pretty covers!! I really like 5 to 1’s cover. With a black background, any color splashes some life to it 🙂

    Like

  • shannonmiz

    The cover of 5 to 1 is AMAZING, I agree. Definitely one of my favorites of the year, it is just gorgeous AND unique! And the book itself is the same, in my opinion 😉 I like the cover of Hold Me Like a Breath. The book… not so much. I had to break up with it a few days ago, in fact. Sadness.

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      5 to 1 is sooo amazing. Yay, I need to read that soon!

      I saw (about Hold Me Like A Breath) ! This is so disappointing, nothing more disappointing than a gorgeously covered book and a less than satisfactory written book. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

