All The Movie Adaptations (Armchair BEA Day #4?)

Armchair BEA
Hi everyone! Armchair BEA’s almost over and BEA’s finished as well. 😦 This has been really fun to participate in! I loved answering the prompts everyday and writing a bit more than I usually do, so that was really nice.
What books do you want to be made into a movie or television show? What are some of your favorites? We’ll explore more about this topic, especially what works and what doesn’t.  Are there any upcoming shows or movies that you’re excited for? What are your recommendations?
Today’s prompt is on movie adaptations. I really love movie adaptions, fairytale ones, Shakespeare ones, tv show ones, I just like adaptations. Usually. 🙂 I’m going to talk about all a lot of the adaptations that I like. 🙂
Movie Adaptations I Love:
Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Read: Yes)

Sisterhood Of The Traveling PantsSisterhood Of The Traveling Pants

I would be surprised if this wasn’t the first non disney adaptation of a novel I ever read. From what I remember of the book (and I don’t remember too much anymore), this seemed to be a pretty good adaptation. It’s always a feel good movie for me and I love it. My feelings towards the second movie though are a bit less than good, but only because they combined the last three books and I didn’t like that.

Perks of Being A Wallflower (Read: Yes)

Perks of Being A WallflowerPerks Of Being A Wallflower

Perks<3 I think the cast was perfect for the main trio. It got across a lot of the feelings from the book and the soundtrack was great. I didn’t like how some of my favorite parts weren’t included though, like the poem reading.

The Fault In Our Stars (Read: Yes)

The Fault In Our StarsTFIOS

When I saw this movie in theaters, I smiled from the beginning to the very end. I instantly fell in love with it, this was a nice surprise because it was a different feeling for the book. I really loved Shailene, she’s seriously a great actress. She played Hazel so well that when I think of Hazel, I’ll think of her in the movie. This adaptation was very spot on aside from a couple scenes. From what I read online anyway. 🙂 Like Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants, I haven’t read this book in a long while.
The DUFF (Read: Yes)

The DUFFThe Duff

I think this is the most drastically changed movie on my list. The plot of it is different, the character’s personality is different, and Bianca’s family background is different. Despite that, I still liked it for what it was. It wasn’t as “dark” as I would have liked, but it was fun. I basically think of the book and movie as separate from each other.

The Book Thief (Read: Not fully)

The Book ThiefThe Book Thief

I saw the movie before I ever started reading the book and oh my gosh, it’s so sad. 😦 I spoiled a couple things for me…since I have the tendency to look things up, against my better judgement and experience in doing so. Ha. I think the main actress was fantastic as Liesel. I only wished they had tried to age her up better than just messing around with her hair. That’s a minor thing. The setting was fantastic, I loved how the movie was actually filmed in Germany, that helped the atmosphere of the movie. It made it seem much more real.

A Walk To Remember (Read: Not fully)

A Walk To RememberA Walk To Remember

The book, A Walk To Remember takes place in 1958-1959 while the movie seems to take place in the late 90s. Even though I haven’t finished the book, I know the film was changed to modernize it a bit (made in 2002). This is my favorite romance movie ever. I loved Mandy Moore and Shane West. I felt Mandy definitely got across Jamie’s isolation from her classmates really well. Shane was the perfect Landon I feel. I like the changes they made from the book a lot too, like instead of Jamie volunteering at an orphanage, she helps tutor and is in an astronomy club. I would like a more straight forward adaptation, but it doesn’t affect my love for this movie.

One Day (Read: Not fully)

One DayOne Day

If A Walk To Remember is my favorite romance movie, this one is definitely in the top five. I really like how it went over a number of years and showed the same day every time with the main leads.

Howl’s Moving Castle (Read: Not Fully)

Howl's Moving CastleHowl's Moving Castle Movie

Howl’s Moving Castle was the second Hayao Miyazaki movie I watched and I remember repeating it over and over again. 🙂 I must have watched it at least six times in the few weeks I’d borrowed it from the library. I did start the book years ago, but I never got around to finishing it. I know quite a bit of things are different from the book, but it’s just so magical to me. I really really love it. And of course, the score is to die for.

TV Show Adaptations That I Love:
Pretty Little Liars (Series) (Read: #1, 2)

Pretty Little Liars PLL

I’m a bit torn between this one. I watched the show first then read the first two books, I definitely loved aspects of both of them and in my perfect world, the show would have followed the first book exactly. After that….that’s up to debate since i’m not exactly sure of everything that happens in the rest of the series. I love the soundtrack though, it was used so well, especially in the first season.

The Vampire Diaries (Read: No)

TVD TVD_Show

From what I’ve read, the tv show may actually be a lot better than the book series, from what I’ve read online from others. There is a bit that’s changed from the books, like Elena’s family life and Damon’s powers. I loved Nina as Elena and Katherine, she was seriously perfection. ❤ I’ve loved her since her Degrassi days though, so that makes sense. 🙂 I love Paul Wesley too. He’s one of my favorite male leads in general.

Shakespeare Adaptations I Love:
She’s The Man (Read Twelfth Night: No)

Twelfth NightShe's The Man

Amanda Bynes<3 Oh my gosh, this is definitely one of my favorite feel good movies. I adore the soundtrack in this one as well, get used to me saying that form here on out. 🙂 I can’t help it, soundtracks definitely make a movie so much better for me. I loved this modern retelling of Shakespeare’s work even though I’ve never read Twelfth Night.

10 Things I Hate About You (Read The Taming of The Shrew; No)

The Taming of The Shrew10 Things I Hate About You

Oh my gosh, what am I supposed to say about this? I adore this movie. I loved the main character Kat (played by Julia Stiles)  so much, I liked her personality, her attitude, her remarks. She was just really great. I loved Patrick too, played by Heath Ledger. Who could forget the classic (or is it just a classic to me?) singing scene? ❤ That was amazing.

Fairytales:
A Cinderella Story (Read: Cinderella; Yes)

Cinderella A Cinderella Story

Yep, I’m using the Disney picture because trying to find a cover for a fairytale is like….impossible. Oh Hilary. ❤ I love Hilary in movies so, I definitely loved this one. It was so perfect from the modern retelling to the soundtrack to the male lead (Chad<3), I loved it a lot. I think it was a great retelling of Cinderella because while it was a bit of a fairytale, it wasn’t something that was super fluffy.

Maleficent  (Read: Sleeping Beauty; Yes)

Sleeping Beauty Maleficent

Like Cinderella, it’s pretty Impossible to find an original book cover considering it’s a fairytale. Of course, now I’ve realized I could have just used a copy of Grimm’s Fairytales but whatever.
This is the retelling of Sleeping Beauty from the “villain”, Malefcient’s view. It was really interesting to see how the storyline changed once we saw it from Maleficient’s view. This is also supposed to be the alternate view for Disney’s Sleeping Beauty. Even though they’re A LOT different from each other, I still liked this one a lot. I like how dark it was, though I wish it’d been a little darker. 🙂 I like how they twisted around the true love aspect as well.

Adaptations I Did Not Love:
If I Stay (Read: Yes)

If I Stay If I Stay

I didn’t like the acting in either of these. For If I Stay, the trailer looked so so so so good, here it is for you!

Yeah, so you just saw all the best parts. 😉 Just kidding! Kind of. 

Seriously, the trailer blew me away. I was mesmerized, guys, MESMERIZED. And then…the film happened and the beginning was good, but…I don’t know, I just did not care for Chloe, which makes me sad, because I kind of just like her. For some odd reason since I don’t know a whole lot about her…

Anyway, her acting just did not work for me at all. Unfortunately because I really wanted to love it. 😦 It was a pretty solid adaptation though, event wise, from what I remember. There was a couple things not in there, but that makes sense and there were a couple scenes I loved; Mia at Adam’s performance for Halloween and when her grandfather talks to her.

The Time Traveler’s Wife (Read: Yes)
The Time Traveler's WifeThe Time Traveler's Wife
I liked this movie until I read the book and then I kept thinking about all the scenes that weren’t in it that I would have liked to be in it and yeah, I don’t like it now. Which sucks because I do own it. 🙂 I didn’t care for the actors in this one either. Go figure.

Let me know if you’ve seen any of these adaptations. Do you like adaptations? Are any of these your favorites? How do you get over watching an adaptation you don’t like for a book that you loved?

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

4 responses to “All The Movie Adaptations (Armchair BEA Day #4?)

Leave a Reply

