Monthly Recap: June ’15!

Every month I recap my life, my blogging life, and talk about music/movie/broadway and book news that happend over the past month!

My Life
 
Basic Recap:
I had a little problem and was stuck in bed for a couple weeks, now it’s over and I still choose to stay in bed. Ha. Ha. Just kidding. Kind of.
I started going to this women’s bible study which is nice even though I’ve only been there twice so far because of the above. Perfect timing! Not really.
I went a bit downhill this past month mentally, but I’m doing okay now! 

Stats

WordPress Followers: 158
BlogLovin’ Followers: 92
# of Views/Visitors: 3,054/2,006
# of Blog Posts: 20
# of Reviews: 4
# of Likes: 84
# of Comments: 127
Most Viewed Post: Have You Seen This? (66 views)
Most Viewed Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (710 views)

Book Stats
# of Books Read:
Emmy and Oliver
# of Books Started:

Denton Little's Deathdate

# of Books Finished:

Scarlett Undercover

# of Books Bought:

A Midsummer's Nightmare Lying Out Loud My Life Next Door What I Thought Was True Skyscraping Ask The Passengers Two Boys KissingTriangles How I Fall and How I Fly

# of Books For Review: 

What We SawShadowshaper

VIA Edelweiss from HarperTeen and Scholastic
# of Books Won: 

The Summer of Chasing MermaidsThe Summer I Turned Pretty It's Not Summer Without You We'll Always Have Summer To all the boys I've loved before P.S. I Still Love You

TSoCM from Book Crushin
The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy and TATBILB (& #2) from SimonTeen in the #YAParty prize pack. 🙂
# of Books Given: 

Wolf By WolfI Am Her RevengeA Little In LoveThe Sacred Lies of Minnow BlyFans of The Impossible LifeGeorge

Wolf By Wolf from Val<3
I Am Her Revenge and A Little In Love from Holly<3
Minnow Bly from Stephanie to replace my stolen/missing copy<3
Fans of The Impossible Life from Kate<3
George from Emma<3

# of Books Traded (For):

Because You'll Never Meet MeNever Always SometimesFinding AudreyAnything Could Happen

BYNMM, NAS and Finding Audrey from Katie<3
Anything Could Happen from Anna<3

~What I Posted~
Features:
Musical Monday Guest Playlist: Tamara Ireland Stone (Author of Every Last Word)
Musical Monday Guest Playlist: Adi Alsaid (Author of Never Always Sometimes)
More Than This Provincial Life: Everyone Just Breathe In. Breathe Out. 
Reviews:
ARC Review: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman (Four Stars)
ARC Review: Anything Could Happen by Will Walton (Four Stars)
ARC Review: 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger (Four Stars)
Memes:
Top Ten Books I Want To Be Movies
Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The Rest of The Year
All The Books I Hope To Read This Summer
My Top Ten Favorite Top Ten Tuesdays
All My Favorite Books of The Year (So Far)
Other Posts:
Write Those Reviews Party Sign Up Post
The Cinderella Book Tag
Join The #BookNerdBoost Chat!
Have You Seen This?
Interview with Leah Thomas (Author of Because You’ll Never Meet Me)
Poll for the Make Me Read It Read-A-Thon (At End of Weekly Recap)
If you haven’t already voted in my poll I mentioned above, if you could do that, that would be fantastic! It’s a poll of books that you all will make me read!

~How Did I  Do With My Resolutions?~

I’m not doing super well on the keeping pages up to date, reading or reviewing twice a week. *winces* I’m going to get better though.

~How Did I Do With My Challenges?~

I finished two review books for the Netgalley/Edelweiss Reading challenge!


~Blogosphere Participation~

Oh wow, it has been just a crazy month for Twitter chats for me.
Faye, Holly and I put together the BookNerdBoost chat on the 20th. Then I participated in the MTN2015 twitter chat just a couple hours later.
I can’t even think of the other twitter chats I was in. Oh! I was in the #FAC2016 chat, did #RQWN, then another chat right after that one. . .
Tonight I participated in the first half of the  which featured I.W. Gregorio.
Yeah, lots of Twitter chats, I know I’m missing at least one or two others. Haha. 🙂 What can I say? They’re just so. much. fun.

New Music
Hilary’s album came out and it is AMAZING. My favorite songs? All of them. Confetti, Stay In Love, Breathe In. Breathe Out. Arms Around A Memory, Tattoo, and Belong.
I’ve also been listening to Carly Rae Jepsen’s album that came out in Japan but NOWHERE ELSE UNTIL AUGUST. What torture. Anyway, this album? It is THE BEST ALBUM EVER. Or close to it anyway. My favorite song? Your Type, Boy Problems, Let’s Get Lost, Making the Most of The Night, Favourite Colour, LA Hallucinations, and I Didn’t Just Come Here To Dance.
Your Type seriously kills me. So much.

Musical News
Do you remember the Tonya Harding and Nancy Kerrigan ice skating scandal in the 90s? ME NEITHER. I was too young. 😦 But I HAVE heard of it, of course. There is going to be a MUSICAL based on it. I know, I know. What even? IT SOUNDS AWESOME TO ME. I’M ALL FOR IT. You can read more about that here!

Discovered Music
Miley Cyrus “You’ll Always Find Your Way Back Home”
Halsey “Ghost
Selena Gomez “Good For You
Miley Cyrus “Nightmare
Dragonette “Let The Night Fall
Jamie xx “Loud Places” ft. Romy
Grouplove “No Drama Queen
Sharon Van Etten “I Don’t Want To Let You Down
Tove Lo “Timebomb

~*~Other Music I’ve Listened To~*~

Hurts “Devotion” 
Breaking Benjamin “Hollow” and “Close To Heaven
Actually, I pretty much like Breaking Benjamin’s entire album. It took a few listens, but it’s pretty much all clicked with me.

Fantastic Videos
 Could singer Maia Gough be the one to watch? / Britain’s Got Talent 2015
Everything Wrong With Frozen in Ten Minutes Or Less
Hilary Duff “Sparks” (Fan Demanded Version)
Nick Pitera’s One-Man Tribute to Aladdin on Broadway / Oh My Disney
Disney’s Hunchback of Notre Dame Live – Act 1: Opening and Bells of Notre Dame
The Wars That Inspired Game of Thrones / Alex Gendler

Book Related Movie News
Warner Brothers options movie rights for Uprooted

TV News
Degrassi was picked up by Netflix and IS NOT CANCELLED OR DROPPED ANYMORE. Apparently the new season will be out next year! YAY. ALSO, there was a Degrassi alumni cast reunion that I just found out about a little bit ago!
Pretty Little Liars was getting intense and now it’s kind of “eh” again, but on the bright side, halfway through until we find out the ending! Of A. So yeah…That’s kind of good?

~Favorite Book I Read~

Emmy and Oliver

Okay, so technically this is one of only two books I “read” this month, but still! It  was my favorite. I loved this book a lot! Review to come next month, obviously. 🙂

~Favorite Post I Made~

My interview with Leah Thomas was a highlight for me.
I fangirled about Hilary Duff and her new album and I just love that post.

~My Addictions~

Hilary Duff’s album
Carly Rae Jepsen’s album
Crescent rolls
Boy Meets World

~Music Purchases~

Brandon Flowers The Desired Effect
Hilary Duff’s Breathe In. Breathe Out. + Chasing The Sun (Single)<3
Of Monsters and Men’s Beneath The Skin (Deluxe)
Muse’s Drones
Rent OST – I of course had to buy this.
Fast Times At Ridgemont High OST – I mostly bought this for the song Somebody’s Baby<3

~DVD Purchases~

The Last Five Years
Boy Meets World Season 3, 5, and 6!
The Wild Thornberrys Season 1
I half bought The Wild Thornberrys because I love that show and half because I needed $5 to get up to $35 for free shipping (I bought BMW with it).


~What I’ve Been Watching~

  • I started watching Friday Night Lights and made it to the 9th or 10th episode, I will progress through it as soon as I get Netflix again. Which will hopefully be soon because I need that show! I also finally got it confirmed from Emily and Mitali that Tattoo by Hilary Duff DOES in fact fit Tim Riggins and Lyla. Which is great because it’s just been bothering me a TON. I live tweet for this show and the hashtag for that is #FNLFirstWatch. 🙂 If you’re interested.
  • I was marathoning Boy Meets World as well, right now I’m in the middle of season 4 and I’m loving all the Shawn’s home background<3 If you want to keep up on my commentary (ha), I use the hashtag #BMWRewatch. 
  • I watched The Last Five Years movie and I loved it. It’s such a bittersweet romance and I love seeing a sad romance play out. 🙂 Like, a lot. Note To Self: Must obtain musical recording. . .

That is it for my month! Tell me about your month, what you’ve read, watched, listened to, done, etc. 🙂 Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Did you see my Hilary Duff fangirling (very hard to miss)? I want to know!

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

Leave a Reply

