Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#40)

I. Love. Covers. Henceforth I had to make a cover feature, of course. Wondrous Covers Wednesday is a weekly feature I created which showcases three book covers that I love that share themes or common attributes.
I noticed a few weeks ago similarities between all of the covers I am going to show you today. None of them come out until next year though, which is unfortunate. For now, you can enjoy looking at them in my feature. 🙂
I chose to showcase pirate-y covers. All three covers show some sort of emphasis on traveling, ships or bottles.

~One~

Passenger
Passenger (#1) by Alexandra Bracken

~My Thoughts~

This is my favorite cover of the three. I love everything about it. I thought the city being shown in the bottle was really original. I like the tone of this, it has a nice mix of dark and light. I’m very interested in the reflection at the bottom. The font is so pretty too! It’s gorgeous and I love the grey color.

~About The Book~

Passenger is about Etta, a girl who ends up going back in time to 1776 (Hey, the year that the Declaration of Independence was signed!) where she meets a prize master of a ship! So it’s right there that we can understand the bottle and the city aspect! The bottle sort of reminds me of those hand sandtimers/hourglasses! Do you know what I’m talking about? If you don’t, they look like this!
Sand Timer
They’re used to obviously, measure a certain time! I’m reminded of sandtimers with the bottle because of Etta getting thrown back into an earlier time.

~Two~

The Girl From Everywhere
The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

~My Thoughts~

I like the black background with the water just coming out of nowhere, that was a unique way of showing this. It gives me the feeling like the ship really can go anywhere since we don’t see anything beyond it except the black background.  I like the ship on the end too, almost like it’s going to fall off the edge of the picture.

~About The Book~

This is another novel involving time travel which I think is really cool. The main character, Nix (what an awesome name) travels on her father’s ship which time travels.

~Three~

Blackhearts
Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

~My Thoughts~

As always, I love the plain back background. I like how different this bottle is compared to the one in Passenger, they give all different feelings. I like the ship in the bottle.

~About The Book~

This book is a retelling of Blackbeard before he becomes the Blackbeard we know of. It’s a sort of romance story about him and a girl named Anne. I like the pink font because it shows the more romantic storyline that Blackhearts will have.


I hope you enjoyed these covers, they all looked pretty interesting to me. Let me know what you think of the covers and the books themselves, if you’ve gotten to read them. 🙂
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

4 responses to “Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#40)

Leave a Reply

