One Day I Will Take Pretty Pictures (The Bookshelf Tag)

The Bookshelf Tag Shannon
Yay! I was tagged by Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight! Thank you! ❤ That’s obviously her lovely picture at the top. 🙂 I figured I needed at least one nice picture here. Haha.
This would be a bit more fun, haha, if I had good lighting and all my books on shelves that were all in the same area. As it is, I have horrible lighting, this isn’t even ALL my books and they’re definitely not all in the same area. Or even on the same “floor”. 🙂
~Describe your bookshelf (or wherever it is you keep your books-it doesn’t actually have to be a shelf!) and where you got it from~
Here is half my bookshelf! My actual bookshelf I mean. The majority of these shelves are made up of books I won (I know, I’m insane) along with some that I’ve traded and a few that I actually (wait for it), BOUGHT.
I have this weird thing where I like to keep things (dvds, books, cds) sorted by when I got them. So at the beginning of the top shelf began in January-ish, then towards the end of the second shelf, I put books I previously owned that I just stuck up there, but Hello Goodbye and Everything In Between is my most recent book I’ve obtained. 🙂 Wow, I hope that makes sense! Oh and my mom bought this book shelf for me!
Bookshelf
I have a couple other shelf type things that I pass off as bookshelves as well. Here’s one. Ignore the cup. I thought I moved that cup. And ignore all the other non books up there…
Photo on 2015-07-10 at 17.33Um, no real rhyme or reason to this shelf other than my cousin moved the desk, henceforth ending up rearranging my ending books (that you can’t see…) and my leatherbound hardcovers (I had one at each end to keep the books from toppling off the desk. My mom’s friend gave me this desk so that’s where I got it from. 🙂

~Do you have any special or different way of organizing your books?~

Well, I said before that I have this weird thing where I like organzing things depending on when I got them. That’s so weird. One day, when I have my bookshelf actually in my room (it’s in my mom’s room right now) and bracketed, I’ll organize my books by genre.

~What is the thickest/biggest book on your shelf?~

I’VE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS QUESTION.
Les Miserables William Shakespeare Complete Works
 At least 1200 and more but I’m really counting Les Mis for this one because 1. It’s Les Mis and 2. It’s a SINGLE work that is the longest<3
For the record, Les Mis has 1,232 pages and Shakespeare has 1,280.

~And the thinnest?~

Short Stories
This has less than 60 pages.

~Is there a book from a friend on your shelf?~

I knew I should have put the newest book I just received yesterday from my friend on the bookshelf. . .Adding it in anyway. I picked through some old books she was taking to the Friends of The Library drop off box (for the annual sale) and found Best American Short Stories and thought “Hey, I kind of like short stories”. So I took it. Who wants to guess the time period it will take for me to actually read it? 😉
Howl's Moving Castle / Best American Short Stories
As well as:
Books from Friends
From Holly and Val.<3
Oh! I also won The Wrong Side of Right in one of Holly’s giveaways too, so, count that one as well. 🙂

~Most expensive book?~

Er.
Leatherbound
Barnes and Noble leatherbound editions, $20 each. I bought two at a time. Er.

~The last book you read on your shelf?~

Er…Technically the last book I read that I now own is:
Fans of The Impossible Life
OH. And Because You’ll Never Meet Me, that was the actual last eARC I read. I haven’t…read any of the books on those shelves recently.

~Do you have more than one copy of a book?~

Nope! I traded away my only two double copies. 🙂 I do have a few Kindle copies though.

~Do you have the complete series of any book series?~

YES. I have a mixed copy complete series of The Hunger Games. THG is regular paperback, CF is large print paperback and MJ is hardcover. 🙂

~What’s the newest addition to your shelf?~

Best American Short Stories

~What’s the most recently published book on your shelf?~

A Million Miles Away

 A Million Miles Away was published yesterday!

~The oldest book on your shelf?~

LES MISERABLES, as far as being written. If you’re talking about the oldest book I’ve owned, I have no idea. Oh! I lied. That would be Perks of Being A Wallflower, which you can kind of see at the very end on my bookshelf. It launched me into buying books again years ago. 🙂 As far as my bookshelf goes.
I don’t know the oldest book (that I’ve owned)  on my desk in the second picture. It would probably be The Last Song, Charlie St. Cloud, Anything But Normal, the green writing book or Sabrina. I have no idea.

~A book you won?~

The majority of the books on my bookshelf have been won. 🙂

~A book you’d hate to let out of your sight (aka a book you never let someone borrow)?~

Les Mis is mineee.

~Most beat up book?~

My sister borrowed my copy of If I Stay (which you can’t see, but I think it’s behind some of the books in my second picture) when she went to a friend’s house and it came home all beat up. 😦 Water on the pages, the cover’s messed up, kind of torn. Sad. Either way, it didn’t happen because of me, but it could have been left on a table and then something to spilled on it at home when she came back. 😦 I loved that book!

~Most pristine book?~

ALMOST ALL OF THEM on my actual bookshelf. 🙂

~A book from your childhood?~

None of those.

~A book that’s not actually your book?~

Howl’s Moving Castle is my friend’s that I borrowed years ago (and haven’t read it…), but it’s okay because she has one of my books that she hasn’t read. 🙂 From years ago. Haha.

~A book with a special/different cover (e.g. leather bound, soft fuzzy cover etc.)?~

Leatherbound

~A book that is your favorite color?~

Mockingjay is blue and I love blue!

~Book that’s been on your shelf the longest that you STILL haven’t read?~

I don’t knowww. Stop asking me these kinds of questions! I know I have a lot of unread books, goshhh.
Okay, on my actual bookshelf, that book would be this one, though I did start it…a while back:
My Heart and Other Black Holes

~Any signed books?~

Yes!

photo 2 (3)Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly
Oh my gosh, who do I tag? Okay, let me think. Got it!
 
Crystal @ Book Emoji
Lyn @ Great Imaginations
Kaitlin @ Next Page Please
Nori @ Read Write Love 28
 
You’re tagged!

Okay, I cannot be the only one with my books all over the house. Or can I…*imagine creepy music*

So! Tell me where you keep your books at? Do you have *gasp* actual shelves or are they scattered about! How are they organized? Are they organize? Do you organize? Do you have any special pretty fancy books like my Barnes and Noble leatherbound editions up there? Tell me everything about your books!

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

16 responses to “One Day I Will Take Pretty Pictures (The Bookshelf Tag)

Leave a Reply

