Monthly Recap: July ’15

Every month I recap my life, my blogging life, and talk about music/movie/broadway and book news that happend over the past month!

~Life~

  • Life…Well, I got through the fourth of July! That’s always stressful for me because I do not like firecrackers or loud fireworks at all.
  • I went to Oceans of Fun, an amusement park in another city and got super sunburned, so that part wasn’t fun. It wasn’t too bad though. Minus me almost drowning in the wave pool and my $15 cup getting stolen (thanks for that, random person). This past week I helped as a crew leader for VBS at my church. I basically lead kids to different stations and talked to them. This was my fourth or fifth year doing it, not continuously. 

~Stats~

WordPress Followers: 162 
BlogLovin’ Followers: 105
# of Views/Visitors: 2,791/1,793
# of Blog Posts: 19
# of Reviews: 0
# of Likes: 68
# of Comments: 154 (Including mine)
Most Viewed Post: I Can’t Believe A Year Went By So Fast (My One Year Blogoversary) (68 views)
Most Viewed Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (487 views)

~Book Stats~

# of Books Read: 
The Night We Said Yes
# of Books Started: 4
Paperweight Get Dirty Romancing The Dark in the City of Light Fangirl
I also continued reading A Million Miles Away which I haven’t finished…
# of Books Bought:
Kindle:
Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Dreams of Gods & Monsters, Days of Blood & Starlight, Under The Never Sky, Sense and Sensibility, Nantucket Blue, All-American Girl, Taste Test, This Song Will Save Your Life, Afterparty, Emma
Physical (To Receive):
More Happy Than Not
I’ll receive it in October since I bought it along with pre-orders that don’t come out until September/October.
# of Book Freebies: Brew (Salem’s Revenge Book 1) by David Estes
# of Books Pre-ordered:
The Boy Most Likely ToFans of The Impossible Life Illuminae
Kindle:
What We Left BehindQueen of Shadows
# of Books For Review: 
Romancing The Dark in the City of LightSuffer Love
From St. Martin’s and HMH Books For Young Readers ❤
# of Books Won: 1
I won a signed UK paperback edition of Eleanor and Park from Serena @ Reading Over Sleeping (Not received yet)<3 I can’t wait. Oh! I also won two pins from her too. 🙂 ❤
# of Books Traded/Given: 1
I'll Meet You ThereTraded from Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl. ❤ I still need to send her book out on Monday (The Wrath and The Dawn). I have two other trades in process as well.

~What I Posted~

Features:
Looking Forward To: July
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#39)
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#40)
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#41)
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#42)
Memes:
Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read
Top Ten Diverse Books 
Other Posts:
-Summer Blog Promo Tour-
SBPT #1: A Game with (Nicole and Sophia @ Quality Fangirls)
SBPT #2: Top Five Book Boyfriends with Kim @ Dreaming In Libraries
SBPT #3: The Ultimate Book Blogger tag with Patrick @ The Bookshelves
SBPT #4: Favorite Disney Movies with Sarah @ Words With Sarah
-Blogoversary Posts-
Day 1: Blogoversary Introduction
Day 2: Top Ten Blogging Related Moments
Day 3: My Overall Blogging Experience (Why I started my blog, how it’s affected my life & what I’ve learned)
Day 4: BlogOversary? (Short discussion on the different terms for blog anniversary)
Day 5: Spotlight Time (Friends, authors, publishers, books)
I did the Bookshelf tag.
I make a post about signing up for the Lunar Chronicles readalong hosted by Brittany @ The Book Addicts Guide. 
Cover Reveal for Game On (Lewis Creek #2) by Michelle Smith

~Favorite Post~
Either my Top Ten Blogging Related moments or the Spotlight post.<3

~How Did I  Do With My Resolutions?~
I read one debut (The Night We Said Yes).
~How Did I Do With My Challenges?~
I read one debut that was also an eARC for the NG/EW challenge.

~Blogosphere Participation~
  • I participated in Val and Ely’s Make Me Read It Readathon even though I totally failed at it. 😦 My goal was three books and I read…zero. I’m still in the middle of the first one I started, Fangirl. *sighs*
  • I signed up for #OTSPSecretSister which I’m so excited about doing since it’s my first time!
  • I signed up for Brittany’s (@ The Book Addicts Guide) The Lunar Chronicles Readalong that starts today!
  • Not participating exactly but I had my one year blog anniversary on the 20th! That was great. 

~Newly Released Music~
Rolling Stone by Hurts (This is way more my style)
Honeymoon by Lana Del Rey
Cool For The Summer by Demi Lovato (This song’s hooked me)
Footsteps by Pop Evil (Lyric Video)
You Want A Battle (Here’s A War) by Bullet For My Valentine (I’m so excited for new BFMV even though I didn’t hear the last album)
No Way Out by Bullet For My Valentine

~Discovered Music~
Girls Like Girls by Hayley Kiyoko 
Wings by Delta Goodrem 
The Noose by A Perfect Circle
Stars by Hum
Summertime by Amelle

 ~Music Videos~


~Musical News~
And here’s a taste of his singing! 
And here’s a taste of his singing:
Here is him singing a whole different style of song!
Is he not amazing? He’s amazing. He and Aaron are like, golden.
And once again I’m dying because I don’t live in NYC. 😦

~Fantastic Videos~
Harry Potter – See You Again 
The Buffy Effect: Teen Heroines Past and Present Panel at San Diego Comic Con 2015 
Indie/Indie-Pop Compilation – June 2015 
The Mockingjay trailer which I have not watched or read. PLEASE DO NOT SPOIL ME, THANKS<3

~Book Related Movie News~
Disney is planning on making a live action The Sword in The Stone.
Neil Gaiman is writing script for the tv series of American Gods
DUMPLIN’ BY JULIE MURPHY HAS BEEN OPTIONED BY DISNEY

~TV News~
Degrassi is officially leaving Teen Nick and they did a two week event in honor of it, while showing a new episode every night. 

~My Addictions~
Jojo’s instagram

~Music Purchases~
Starset’s Transmissions
Panic! At The Disco’s Too Weird To Live, Too Rare To Die!
Waxahatchee’s Ivy Tripp
Anastasia Soundtrack
Built To Spill’s Perfect From Now On
Better Than Ezra’s All Together Now
Friday I’m In Love by Yo La Tengo

~What I’ve Been Watching~
I finished up season two of Friday Night Lights. I just watched a little of season 3 so I’m not sure if I’ll be watching the rest very soon or not. I live-tweet it (generally) with #FNLFirstWatch.
I have been watching the “final” 10 episodes of Degrassi this past week. I just need to watch “Finally” whenever it’s up online. Oh my gosh, it’s on Youtube! I’ll be watching that now then. 🙂 And finishing this recap when I’m done. I’m going to someday watch the entire series from start to finish, I just don’t know when. I’m very sad about Degrassi being “over”, it’s like Glee all over again. Except worse, because I’ve watched Glee for seven-eight years. 😦 Here’s a video!!!
AND THEY PLAY “I LIVED” IN THE BACKGROUND AND I’M JUST LIKE “WHY DIDN’T YOU USE THAT IN THE LAST SCENE OF DEGRASSI? GOSH, MISSED OPPORTUNITY. My heart still hurts….It’s only two minutes and I wish it were 100. 😦 ❤ Here’s another video!
I’M NOT CRYING, YOU’RE CRYING! This is so sad. But again, the new “show” will be on Netflix next year.
I’m going to go back to watching Boy Meets World season 4, if you would like, you can follow my tweets (@YAIndulgences) with #BMWRewatch. 🙂

Let me know how your month was!
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

2 responses to “Monthly Recap: July ’15

Leave a Reply

