Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#43)

WCW_GraphicWondrous Covers Wednesday is a weekly feature where I share my cover love by showing off three covers with common themes or attributes. You can see past posts here.
 
 
 

 

I chose to feature animated covers where the characters faces weren’t too well distinguished or featured a lot of white space.
 

~One~

Wonder
Wonder by R.J. Palacio

~My Thoughts~

This is a children’s cover. I like that the face isn’t fully formed because the main character has a face deformity. It incorporate that aspect straight off. I love that the cover is really colorful with the blue background, I think it would definitely be appealing towards middle grade kids and younger.

~Two~

Symptoms of Being Human
Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

~My Thoughts~

Like Wonder, Symptoms of Being Human also features a character with no real face aspects. Given that the main character is a gender-fluid, I really like how that was shown in the cover. This is one of my favorite covers of the year because of that aspect and the mostly white background. I really love the lavender font color, but I’m not sure what I think about the “Boy or Girl? Yes” structure, it’s really distracting for me for it to be going straight down. I think it was formatted like
“Boy
or
Girl?
Yes.”
I would like it better, I can see why they didn’t do that because it would have been repetitive from the title.

~Three~

Dreamology
Dreamology by Lucy Keating

~My Thoughts~

Ooh, this cover is really pretty. I love the pink hair. I think this cover is really well done because it fits the dreamy aspect well with the eyes closed. I think the pink hair helps with the sort of magical realism/fantasy aspects of Dreamology.

You can let me know what you think about the covers below. 🙂

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

4 responses to “Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#43)

Leave a Reply

