Wondrous Covers Wednesday: Watercolor Edition! (#44)

WCW_Graphic

Wondrous Covers Wednesday is a weekly feature where I share my cover love by showing off three covers with common themes or attributes. You can see past posts here.


Hi everyone, it has been forever since I have done this feature and that makes me sad. 😦 And since it makes me sad, I was thinking of emotion which made me think of art because art has a lot of emotion in it. This then lead me to deciding to showcase watercolor covers!
Well, that would have been great, had it gone that way, but mostly I glanced at my list and said “Oh, Watercolors sounds cool”. So there you have it.

~One~

Made You Up
Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

~My Thoughts~

This is such a gorgeous cover. I love how all the colors blend together and they look so glossy. I think it fits the book well because Made You Up is about a teen who is schizophrenic and I think the painted images really display the sort of feeling of that.

~Two~

One Thing Stolen
One Thing Stolen by Beth Kephart

~My Thoughts~

Like Made You Up, the main character, Nadia also suffers from a disorder, a rare neurological disorder.  For a novel that takes place in Italy, one of the homes to the greatest art in the world, I think this cover is perfectly suited for it. I love the splashes of color in the background.  I especially love the city in the background that you can only see if you look closely (or is that just me?) It really adds to this cover. I love only seeing part of the main character, Nadia’s face as it adds to the idea that she steal things and the mystery of her.

~Three~

Pieces of Sky
Pieces of Sky by Trinity Doyle

~My Thoughts~

I love how the cover artist took the main character’s swimming hobby and incorporated that into the book. Like Made You Up, I think it really fits the vibe of the book which deals with grief and figuring out about herself. 

I’ll be doing a part two eventually because there were a few other covers I’d like to show at another time. 🙂 Let me know what you think of the covers or the books if you’ve read them!

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

3 responses to “Wondrous Covers Wednesday: Watercolor Edition! (#44)

  • thenightgirl

    Pieces of Sky is gorgeous! I haven’t read it yet but maybe I should.

    Like

  • shannonmiz

    Just added Pieces of Sky to my TBR, so thanks for that, Amber 😉 You know, for some reason, I don’t love the whole watercolor cover. See, in theory I do, it SOUNDS good, but then I look at them and I feel like someone got my book wet 😀 But since I loved Made You Up, I like the cover more. And I agree- I LOVE the cityscape in the back of One Thing Stolen. And I *think* that Pieces of Sky is supposed to be a pool, based on the synopsis, and THAT I am down for. Obviously 😉

    Like

  • vlangloisx3

    I loooooove the cover of Pieces of Sky. AND WOAH SWIMMING OK, no wonder Shannon added that to her TBR already. As will I muhahahah 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

