Monthly Recap: October ’15

My Life

Birthday month officially came to a close on the 17th, the day of my sister’s birthday. It all went well, pretty much, birthday-wise. Other than that, the month’s been pretty uneventful really. I had interviews at Michael’s Arts and Crafts and Burlington Coat Factory. I was told I’d be called if either wanted to move forward with the interview process. Burlington’s declined me! And I’m waiting to see about Michael’s next week so… not sure where this will go. That would mostly be for seasonal. I’m going to check up on other applications too this week.
Oh my gosh guys, it’s Halloween. On Thursday night I went with my cousin and her three year old downtown where the stores were doing a trick or treating event.  It was fun to see all the little kids in costumes and stuff. It really makes me wish I’d taken advantage of those last couple years I could have trick or treated. Haha. I think I stopped when I was around 11? I could have gone up to at least 13.
Speaking of trick or treating, I finally revealed my picture on Twitter! 😀 Yay, I’m real. Haha.

Stats

WordPress Followers: 179
BlogLovin’ Followers: 121
# of Views/Visitors: 3,302/2,345
# of Blog Posts: 13
# of Reviews: 2
# of Likes: 27
# of Comments:  71-ish
Most Viewed Post: Interview with Leah Thomas (51 views)
Most Viewed Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman (1,254 views)

Book Stats

Books Read:

Faking Normal  What We Saw  How To Be Brave

Books Started:

 Bliss  Underneath Everything  The Distance Between Us

Books For Review: 

Physical:
Things I Can’t Explain by Mitchell Kreigman
Identity Crisis by Melissa Schorr
e-ARC:
How To Be Brave by E. Katherine Kottaras
Thank you, St. Martin’s and Melissa. ❤
Books Given: 

Shatter Me  The Knife of Never Letting Go  Don't Look Back  Snow Like Ashes  The Burning Sky  Far From You  Romancing The Dark in the City of LightThis Ordinary Life

Birthday month is fun. ❤ 
Thank you Shannon, Val, Secret Sister, Kayla and Kaitlin! <33333
Books Traded: 
Rebel Angels (Gemma Doyle #2) by Libba Bray
My Gemma Doyle trilogy is finally finished, which means, I can binge read them all.

 

~Favorite Book Read~

I liked them all pretty well, I think What We Saw would be my favorite just because of how current it is (given the plot and inspiration and everything). Faking Normal was great too. And of course I’m on the blog tour for How To Be Brave and I reaaly liked it too.

~What I Posted~

Features:
Monthly Recap: September
Looking Forward To: October
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#44) – Watercolor Covers
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#45) – Purple Covers
Wondrous Covers Wednesday (#46) – Star-ish Covers
Reviews:
Romancing The Dark in The City of Light by Ann Jacobus (Four Stars)
Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas (Five Stars)
Memes:
The Book Genie stopped by for a visit for Top Ten Tuesday
Other Posts:
I interviewed Jennifer Walkup (author of This Ordinary Life) for the Sunday Street Team.
I did another Have You Seen This? post.
I shared a slight birthday post along with my Weekly Recap.
I did another Weekly Recap
I shared Sourcebook’s Fire This Is Where It Ends giveaway.

 

~*~Favorite Post~*~

My review for Because You’ll Never Meet Me. <333 I adored that book so, so, so much. 

 

New Music

Spotify URL


~Songs That Represented Me and My Month~

Hello by Adele

 

~Favorite Albums~

Marianas Trench Astoria

~Albums I wish had gotten a bit more play from me~

Demi Lovato Confident

I wish I liked this album more than I did since I love Demi. 😦

~Fantastic Videos~
Pretty Little Liars New York Comic Con 2015 
Vanessa Carlton “Operator” music video
Hello by Adele
Blue Neighborhood Trilogy by Troye Sivan (Three links there)

 

~Book Related Movie News~
Simon Vs. has been acquired by Fox 2000.
The Royal We was optioned.
Selena Gomez is going to be producing a 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher Netflix series!

~*~Surprise!~*~
Twilight’s Stephanie Meyer came out with a gender-bent Twilight called Love and Death.
Beach House came out with ANOTHER full studio album called Thank Your Lucky Stars and you can bet I thanked my lucky stars!
Gilmore Girls is going to be getting four 90 minute episodes on Netflix!
There were a ton of albums confirmed (or just realized) to come out this/next year, here are the ones I’m most excited about:
P!ATD Death of A Bachelor / Hailee Steinfeld Haiz / Alessia Cara Know-it-all / Grimes Art Angels / David Bowie Blackstar / We The Kings Strange Love / Scouting For Girls Still Thinking About You / A Great Big World When The Morning Comes / Troye Sivan Blue Neighborhood / The 1975 I Like It When You Sleep For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It / Cage The Elephant Tell Me I’m Pretty

~*~Interesting Articles~*~

Coheed and Cambria Interview 
8 Romantic Fall Movies

 

~What I’ve Been Watching~
I finished Friday Night Lights finally.
I started Buffy The Vampire Slayer and I’m in the middle of the second season.

Let me know how your Halloween is and/or what you’ve been up to this past month!
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

2 responses to “Monthly Recap: October ’15

  • Kaitlin @ Reading is My Treasure

    I’m wishing you all the luck on the interview!!

    I really want to read What We Saw. I passed it over for so long and only paid closer attention to it recently. It looks like one I would absolutely love.

    Hahaha, of course it’s Hello that represented you and your month. 😀 I was actually dancing a little to Confident an hour or two ago. I like that song, but haven’t explored the rest of the album. It sucks that you didn’t like it more. 😦

    *breathes sigh of relief* I’m glad Selena Gomez is producing 13 Reasons Why instead of starring in it. I don’t mind her, but she doesn’t fit the part. I’m kinda looking forward to that series.

    EEEP. I didn’t know about an upcoming album from A Great Big World!! I love their music!

    Like

  • Shay @ The Story Goes...

    Dude, I feel the same way about all the music you mentioned in your Songs That Represent You. I was so freaking happy with the new Marianas Trench (it’s still on repeat), I’m addicted to Hello, and was kind of just disappointed with the new Demi, I didn’t even listen to it much. =(
    BUT I didn’t know about the new Cage The Elephant coming out! Exciting!

    Nothing beats the Gilmore Girls news though!!!!!!!!!!!

    Good luck with your interviews! (and NaNoWriMo!) =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

