All of Those Debuts I Can’t Wait To Read

Top Ten Tuesday

Hi! I’m so excited for today’s Top Ten Tuesday. If you don’t know what Top Ten Tuesday is, it’s a weekly meme created and hosted at The Broke and The Bookish. Every week they come up with a new list for bookish people to participate in. If you’d like to see past lists and future lists, you can check that out here.

For my post, I decided I would try to share some books that I haven’t seen talked about a whole lot. “Try” is the keyword here. Of course, because I am super excited for some of the well known ones, I did throw them in as well.

~One~

American Girls

Why:

It’s hard to explain why I’m excited for this book, mainly it’s just because of the summary (isn’t it always?). I love that it will take place in L.A. and show a somewhat darker side of it.

~Two~

Save Me Kurt Cobain

Why:

Um, Kurt Cobain? Did more need to be said? The girl finds out that Kurt is her freaking father. Gosh, this reminds me of those Quizilla Fanfics wher the titles would be like “WHAT DO YOU MEAN PETE WENTZ IS MY DAD?” Yep, that would be a legit title. Anyway, I’m sure this is quite lovely, at least I’m hoping.

~Three~

Underwater

Why:

I like the idea of reading about a character who is so emotionally crippled that she can’t leave her house. Maybe because I can relate to that sometimes. This is giving me an Everything Everything vibe, which I don’t hate at all. I actually liked that book a lot. I can’t wait to give this one a read.

~Four~

Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here

Why:

I need this book like I need air. It involves Fanfiction (sort of…) and TV. It gives me a Read It and Weep vibe so that’ll be interesting to see.

~Five~

Bookishly Ever After

Why:

It involves books and seek book advice. Which I hope means there will be some romantic bookish scenes coming from this.  I love the idea of taking something fictional and making it real! 

Dirty Dancing

~Six~

Even If The Sky Falls

Why:

Do I really need to explain? Just know that it involves a 24 hour romance (MY FAVORITE KIND), New Orleans, Mardi Gras and a natural disaster.

~Seven~

How It Ends

Why:

There’s a broken friendship and alternate point of views. I love it.

~Eight~

The Girl Who Fell

Why:

This is a dark book that deals with a possibly toxic relationship, which I’m so excited to read about.

~Nine~ 

Girl In Pieces (Coverless)

Why:

Girl In Pieces is said to be Girl Interrupted-esque, which I was JUST watching earlier. The main character is first homeless, then enters a recovery program but is stuck to being homeless again when her insurance runs out. I’m very interested in where this goes.

~Ten~

The Art of Breathing

Why:

The Art of Breathing is about a girl whose brother drowned and she meets a guy who teaches her about diving. My interest was mostly peaked when I saw the (original) cover though. 

~Eleven~

The First Time She Drowned

Why:

It all just sounds so complex. The main character has finally been released from a mental institution and is going to college. Of course, it’s doing this time that she discovers things about her family that she didn’t know before, including the relationship between her and her mother. I am just so, so excited to read this.

~Twelve~

Unscripted Joss Byrd

Why:

It’s about an actress dealing with her director and mother, so I’m pretty interested in it. And that cover. ❤

~Thirteen~

Lessons In Falling

Why:

I’m interested in finding out why Savannah’s best friend, Cassie tried to kill herself and I’m wondering how much that will play a part in this story and how well that part will be done. I also like the gymnastics aspect.

~Fourteen~

The Weight of Zero (Coverless)

Why:

It’s about a girl who has bipolar disorder and her walk towards getting herself better. I love it for many reasons, it deals with a character who is bipolar and there will be a lot of support for her, and there will be family around for her! Hopefully this means no absent parent syndrome, but I’m up for whatever.

~Fifteen~

True Letters From A Fictional Life

Why:

THE MAIN CHARACTER WRITES LETTERS TO SOMEONE AND THEY WRITE BACK AND I JUST LOVE IT. It also reminds me of what I had wanted To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before to be. (Sigh). ❤

~Sixteen~

Jerkbait

Why:

Oh, I love this. Jerkbait is about a guy named Tristan whose twin brother, Robbie attempts suicide and is afraid of coming out in the professional sports world. This reminds me of an episode of Degrassi where a student had that same fear. I’m very, very interested in the online person that Robbie talks to.


Whoa, and with number sixteen, I am officially finished! I didn’t list all the debuts I’m interested in because yeah, that’d be so, so long. If you’ve read any of these or are excited about any of these, let me know! And tell me what debuts you’re excited for. 

 

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

5 responses to “All of Those Debuts I Can’t Wait To Read

  • Rachel @A Perfection Called Books

    Save Me, Kurt Cobain sounds so so good! I can’t wait for Underwater, Scarlet Epstein, Unscripted Joss Byrd, The First Time She Drowned, Even if the Sky Falls and so many more….

    I’m also looking forward to The Star-Touched Queen, Please Don’t Tell, Caraval, Girl in Pieces, and Ivory and Bone! 😀

    Rachel @ A Perfection Called Books

    Like

  • shannonmiz

    I read Underwater and enjoyed it! It was a bit less emotional than I’d thought it would be, but still good. We only have a handful in common, but we are not exactly reading twinsies, so I guess that makes sense 😉 (Also, spellcheck approves of my use of “twinsies”.) I think A Lesson in Falling made my list, and I now that The First Time She Drowned and The Art of Not Breathing did. But Even if the Sky Falls came pretty close!!

    Like

  • readwritelove28

    Amberrrrrr you surprised me! I actually don’t know about all of these books! *le gasp* I just recently heard about American Girls, and it looks really fun. Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here looks AWESOME. Bookishly Ever After is INCREDIBLE. I didn’t know about Even if the Sky Falls or numbers 14,15,and 16! The Girl Who Fell is dark, very dark, but also very good. I am so so so happy to see that you included Unscripted Joss Byrd!

    Like

  • C.J.

    KURT COBAIN OMG I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE RIGHT NOW HOLY HELL.

    …not that I have an unhealthy obsession or anything.

    But seriously.

    WANT.

    C.J.
    Sarcasm & Lemons

    Like

Leave a Reply

