(Most of) My Favorite Songs of ’15

Musical Monday is a feature where I talk about musicals, songs, make bookish playlists and feature authors to make bookish playlists for their own books.

Hi everyone! Oh my gosh, I’m so excited, I get to talk about my favorite thing in the world, music. Okay, I lied, it’s not exactly my ‘favorite’ thing in the world, okay, nevermind, it is! I love music. I love books too. And God, but God’s not a thing so, music it is! Tonight I am going to be talking somewhat about (or maybe mostly listing) my favorite songs. I will try to keep this to the sensible number of 25, we’ll see how well I do.

All of the songs will only be ’15 songs, so nothing before this year (or after. Ha ha ha. No? Okay).

I will be (mostly…) restricting myself to *waits for it*  one song per artist.

There’s no telling how many songs will be in the playlist, it will be at least 21 (because that’s how many I have down in a text document) and the max will be anywhere from 50 to 100. You’re welcome.

This is actually going to be a really short post because I now don’t feel like talking much, ha, I will a little though.

I’m actually not going to list the songs here, aside from my ‘favorite’ favorites. For the full playlist, you can go here. 🙂 There will be a mix of pop, rock and alternative. I’ll give Youtube links for the songs below.

~My Top Five Favorite Songs (or what I like to call, Life Savers)~

She’s Humming A Tune by a-ha

And I don’t suppose she knows

everything that’s bound to happen,

how and where the story goes,

and I don’t why I care.

She’s up tight, not right,

how could it matter to me?

This song was all kinds of perfection when I heard it. An immediate favorite of the year in September. I seriously never listened to this band aside from Take On Me, ha. I’ll be looking into the backlist now, of course.

She Used To Be Mine by Sara Bareilles

It’s not easy to know
I’m not anything like I used to be
Although it’s true
I was never attention’s sweet center
I still remember that girl

She’s imperfect but she tries
She is good but she lies
She is hard on herself
She is broken and won’t ask for help
She is messy but she’s kind
She is lonely most of the time
She is all of this mixed up
And baked in a beautiful pie
She is gone but she used to be mine

Once again Sara Bareilles gets all my feelings down in a way I never could. I love how well this song works without the musical background of the album. If you took out the pie references, it’d be another ‘regular’ song. 😉

Talk Me Down by Troye Sivan

So if you don’t mind, I’ll walk that line
stuck on the bridge between us,
grey areas and expectations,
but I’m not the one if we’re honest.
But I wanna sleep next to you,
and I wanna come home to you,
I wanna hold hands with you,
I wanna be close to you.

This is such a sad song, I love it so much.

River of Tears by Alessia Cara

Go ‘head and wish me well,
I’ll cry a wishing well,
I’ll fly before I fail,
I’ll set sail and drift away,
so I won’t need you here.
Love sinks and hope floats
In a river of tears

This song reminds me of Love The Way You Lie by Sky Ferreira (which was officially recorded by Rihanna but I love Skye’s version).

Never Gonna Let Go by Shinedown

Caught in the act of flying solo,

this acrobat is lost
and I don’t know
where I’ll land.
As I reach for your hand,

all of the lights can be so blinding
every time I jump you always find me
without a net.
So please don’t forget
’cause right now I’m out of control,

swear you’re never gonna let go

This song was finally put on the latest album, thank God. I’d been replaying the live version for a while and couldn’t wait to hear a studio version. It’s amazing, but it’s also not on Spotify unfortunately. 😦

Failure by Breaking Benjamin

Tired of feeling lost, tired of letting go.

Tear the whole world down, tear the whole world down.

Tired of wasted breath, tired of nothing left.

Tear the whole world down, tear the whole world down.

Failure.

Talk about your flashbacks. Ugh, feels. When I first heard Breaking Benjamin was going to have a new album out, I was in shock. Breaking Benjamin had broken up (I guess that’s the term) years ago and came back renewed with the lead singer, Benjamin and a new lineup. This was the perfect song to be the first single.

If I said I found them super relatable, that’d be really cliche, right? Either way, I did and they definitely helped days pass by easier, especially She’s Humming A Tune and Never Gonna Let Go.


What were some of your favorite songs of the year? Have you heard any of these songs? Were there any others by the artists that you liked more/better than the ones I listed?
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

2 responses to “(Most of) My Favorite Songs of ’15

  • shannonmiz

    Wow, the Sara Bareilles song is GORGEOUS. And I love Talk Me Down. I think you had me watch that before and I cried. Umm you may disown me again, but this was teh first time I had actually HEARD a Breaking Benjamin song, even though they are local, and as it turns out, I am not a fan. Oops? My favorite song of the YEAR? That is hard. Because I don’t really know WHEN I found songs. I was going to try to share my Amazon playlist, but I don’t think it lets me. So… yeah. Sorry 😦

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Nooooo, you’re not a fan of Breaking Benjamin? Oh my gosh. And yeah, they are local to you, haha, and you hadn’t heard them before. 😦 And you don’t like themmmmm. I’ll forgive you. I sometimes lose track of when I find music too, unless it’s new.

      Like

Leave a Reply

