The Tsar’s Guard – Top Ten Reasons, Playlist, and Favorite Duels

Banner

Hi everyone! I’m so happy to be on the Tsar’s Guard parade. I hope you’ve enjoyed the other stops. Here is a link for those.

For my stop today, I have a mishmash of topics. First, I’ll be sharing a bit of an epic instrumental playlist I made, then I’ll tell you ten reasons why I am so excited for The Crown’s Game, and finally I’ll feature five of my favorite duels…from Yu-Gi-Oh. ;D I know, you were expecting Hamilton, but NOPE.

Duel

 I hope you enjoy!

Here’s a bit about the book first!

The_Crowns_GameTitle: THE CROWN’S GAME

Author: Evelyn Skye

Release Date: May 17th, 2016

Pages: 416

Publisher: Balzer+Bray

Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Find it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

Goodreads Summary:

 Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the Tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the Tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.

Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?

For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.

And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself.

As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear . . . the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.


~Instrumental Score For The Crown’s Game~

I adore instrumental music and the feelings it can bring out. Given The Crown’s Game features a historical-esque setting, magic and dueling, I decided to put together a playlist of some epic and romantic scores. All the links will take you to Youtube. 🙂

  1. New Beginning: Audiomachine
  2. On A Quest: Claudie Mackula
  3. Honor of Life: The Instrumental Core
  4. Before I Leave This World : Ivan Torrent
  5. Embrace Our World by Aran Zayne
  6. Hidden Hope by Asith Perera
  7. Have My Heart: Scorched Score Music
  8. Braveheart Theme by James Horner
  9. Where We’ll Go by Underground Music
  10. Solace – C21FX

~Top Ten Reasons I’m Excited~

-One-

Setting: Russia

St Petersberg

Russia seems to be rarely seen in fiction especially historical-ish Russia.  I also have a bit of a romanticized idea of Russia due to…Anastasia of course.

Anastasia_Of Course

-Two-
Enchanters

Magical Hands 2 Magical Hands

How magical! This part sounds really interesting, I’m curious about the background of these enchanters as well as enchanters in general.

-Three-

Vika

Journey to the past

She can cause snow to fall and make ash turn into gold! That’s even better than when the miller in Rumpelstiltskin lied about his daughter turning thread into gold. It’s better because it’s real.

-Four-

Nikolai

Great_Okhta_Bridge_Russia

He can create BRIDGES out of thin air? What in the world? That is so awesome. I can’t think of why he’d ever need to create a bridge, but you know, I’ll go with it. 😉

-Five-

Duel

Rasputin

Now would be the time for me to make a Hamilton reference if I were to make one but I’m running out of time so I will not be making one, haha. Okay, but seriously, dueling. A duel to the DEATH. There will be death! Or there will be a Hunger Games ending, I’m not sure which I’d prefer. Ha. I want to know more about these ancient duels though.

-Six-

The Best Friend – Pasha

Is that a love triangle I sense? I’m here for it either way. 

-Seven-

Long-Buried Secrets

What’s that you say? There are secrets revolving around this kingdom with the king he feels like having people duel to the death? Well I’d never! I’m a sucker for secrets.

-Eight-

Relationships

Relationships

I’m really excited to see how the relationship between Vika and Nikolai happens because how do you have any type of relationship with someone you’re supposed to kill? Like, I wouldn’t even want to meet the person before hand. “Like hey, so I know we’re supposed to duel, but I’d thought I’d introduce myself and fall in love first, it’s okay, this worked out okay for Katniss and Peeta after all”. ;D

-Nine-

Description!

Description

You can’t have a historical fantasy take place in RUSSIA of all places and not give us all the details on the clothes and the setting and the kingdom and everything else, right?

-Ten-

The Ending

This is surely going to end with an epic bang of sorts, so I’m dying to read this. It’s been a while since I was ever like “WOW!” about an ending, especially fantasy, given I don’t generally read this.


~Five Favorite Yu-Gi-Oh Duels~

Now it’s been a while since I’ve watched this show all the way through, but I liked all five of these duels a lot because they were just really emotional and I’m all for emotion and sad endings (Oh, was that spoiler?). Ha.

 

Yugi vs Joey (Duel Kingdom Arc)

Duelist Kingdom

 

Marik vs Mai

Marik_Mai

 

Joey vs Odion 

Joey_vs_Odion

Yugi vs. Joey (Battle City Arc)

Joey_Vs_Yugi

Kaiba-Yugi vs Noah (Virtual World Arc)

Noah_Vs_Kaiba.png

Guys, guess who my favorite character is! Guess! (It’s Joey<3)


 

This concludes my stop, I hope you’ve enjoyed it. Be sure to enter the giveaway! 

 

1 winner will receive an ARC of THE CROWN’S GAME.  International, you can enter the giveaway here.


Evelyn_Skye_Head_Shot

About Evelyn:

Evelyn Skye was once offered a job by the C.I.A., she not-so-secretly wishes she was on

“So You Think You Can Dance,” and if you challenge her to a pizza-eating contest, she

guarantees she will win. When she isn’t writing, Evelyn can be found chasing her daughter on the playground or sitting on the couch, immersed in a good book and eating way too many cookies. THE CROWN’S GAME is her first novel. Evelyn can be found online at www.evelynskye.com and on Twitter @EvelynSkyeYA:

Website | Twitter |Facebook | Goodreads | Tumblr | Instagram

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

4 responses to “The Tsar’s Guard – Top Ten Reasons, Playlist, and Favorite Duels

  • Geraldine @ Corralling Books

    I’ve seen some of the other stops, and wow – all of them, including yours, have great posts! Can’t wait for this book to come out so I can actually listen to this soundtrack, and engage more with the book! 🙂

    Like

  • shannonmiz

    Hamilspamming Evelyn now, are we? I hope she understands what she’s gotten herself into 😉 Also, I must say, this is quite an impressive bunch of topics! I mean, this is way better than mine will be. And also much more researched. Because so far, all I’ve got is the drunk Russian van driver thing so…. :/

    Like

  • aentee @ read at midnight

    I am so excited to read this, Russia is such a treasure trove for literary inspiration. All of the wealth and luxury, along with all of the tragedy and despair, and then the barren haunting landscape – I always get excited to see a book use it as a setting. Will definitely be keeping an eye out for this release!

    Like

  • Valerie

    YUGIOHHHHHHHHHHHH OMGGGGGGG

    I think you already know my thoughts about your amazing, unique post, of my favorite show as a child.

    Also, I am telling you right now that the top ten things on your list WILL BE IN THE BOOK. OK? (I read The Crown’s Game already so you can trust me)

    Like

Leave a Reply

