Top Ten Historical Settings I Would Love To Read About

Top Ten Tuesday

Hi! It’s Tuesday, unless you’re on the other side of the world, which means it’s time for Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted at The Broke and The Bookish. Every week there’s a new list for bloggers to participate in. You can read more about that here. I’m really excited about today’s.

Today’s topic is: 

Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books — basically this week is all about the past or the future….spin it however you choose!

I’ll be doing a combination of the above, there will be two lists.

So, I really like the idea of history and I like knowing about wars and kings and queens and monarchies and battles and such. I came up with eleven historical settings that I really wouldn’t mind seeing in some Young Adult fiction soon and gave some examples for others!

~*~Top Ten Historical Settings I Love~*~

~One~

Japan

I like Japan! Specifically feudal Japan, due to Inuyasha, even though I’m not exactly what what occurred during that time. Other than there were ninjas and I’ve read some seriously fascinating things about that.  In the 16th century, a woman named Mochizuki Chiyome created a school for girls that taught skills to be ninjas. SHE FOUNDED A SCHOOL THAT TAUGHT GIRLS TO BE NINJAS. Isn’t that cool? I mean, okay, so technically ninjas were, um, assassins, but still… It’s still pretty cool, right?

Here is one book that takes place in Japan during the 19th century as well as modern day Japan. It sounds fantastic.

A Darkly Beating Heart

~Two~

Romanav “Era” Russia

This is going to sound bad, but I’d like to read YA during the massacre period of the Romanovs. I don’t know a ton about Russia really, other than Anastasia. 

Yes. Everything I ‘know’ about history, I learned from animated features. 😉 Just kidding, but really.

This doesn’t take place during that era, but it takes place in Russia which is good enough for me.

The_Crowns_Game

~Three~

Victorian Era (London)

I went through a big phase during college where I’d read about the insane asylums during that time period. Horrific stuff. There’s also the ‘good’ parts of it, like the pretty dresses (that you have to wear over dreadful corsets and probably aren’t all that comfortable, to be honest, the dresses, I mean. But the corsets too) and balls and kingdoms. Here are a couple London based books.

A Darker Shade final for Irene These Vicious Masks

~Four~

The 1700s-1800s – United States

I’m sure you all will have no idea about why I chose this time period. 😉

This was the time of Alexander Hamilton and George Washington becoming a nation. 

I just really, really want a novel on the Schuyler Sisters!

~Five~

The June Rebellion (1832)

Ah, The June Rebellion, not to be confused with the French Revolution, which happened in the 1700s.

I like this setting, rather, this event, because of Les Miserables, which I’ve only listened to, watched the anniversary performance dvds and seen the movie of. I attempted reading the book, but it’s around 1100-1400 pages long. So you can see why I’ve not finished. I’d like a YA novel dealing with The June Rebellion, like what was done in Les Mis.

Les Miserables Les Miserables Manga A Little In Love

~Six~

The Roaring Twenties

I’d always liked hearing about the Roaring Twenties in school. During this time, more people were using electronics like with fridges, televisions, and radios. There was also an emphasis of women becoming more independent and doing these that previously were considered not “proper” for women, like smoking, wearing a lot of makeup and driving. Of course, it wasn’t all good, at the end of the decade The Great Depression set in, which I wouldn’t mind reading about either.

The Diviners Bright Young ThingsThe Great Gatsby

~Seven~

Golden Age of Hollywood (20s-60s)

The most I know about this time period is that movies were clearly becoming bigger and Audrey Hepburn and Marilyn Monroe were of this time. Here are two books that take place during this.

Girl About Town Dead To Me

~Eight~

Ancient Egypt

My only experience with fiction and Ancient Egypt is Yu-Gi-Oh. Ha. I’d like to read more about Pharaohs and how they lived, particularly teens during this time. I think it’d be interesting to see how the “royal” families lived. 

~Nine~

Ancient Greece

Like with Ancient Egypt, I’d like to know more about Ancient Greece as well. Their customs, daily life, etc.

~Ten~

Salem Witch Trials

I read The Crucible in high school and I really liked it. I looked more into the Salem Witch Trials afterwards and found it to be really interesting sad. Because, you know, regular humans were killed because people thought they were witches. That had to have been horrific.

Here’s a book that deals with a descent of someone who was in charge of the Salem Witch Trials. As well as a group of girls who are descents of…people who may or may not have been witches. Fascinating.

Math_9780553539479_jkt_all_r1.indd

Now that I’ve discussed the past, here are some Futuristic-Esque books I would like to read:

Material Girls 1Q84 The_Handmads_TaleOnly_Ever_Yours


If you know any Young Adult books that deal with these settings, please let me know! What historical settings do you like?

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

5 responses to “Top Ten Historical Settings I Would Love To Read About

  • Lois

    The Salem Witch trials are definitely a fascinating historical topic. The psychology behind the trials is very complex and there was just so many outsider influences on the trials. I’d love to see that being explored in a book.
    I would also jump at any opportunity to explore the Japanese culture. 😀

    Like

  • rattlethestarssite

    Great list! I can’t wait to read the Crown’s Game. Anything remotely set in Russia or a Russian-like place is so fascinating. Have you read the Grisha series?

    Like

  • Geraldine @ Corralling Books

    Haha, I think that the massacre period of the Romanovs is actually one of the most interesting parts of history – it doesn’t sound too weird at all! 🙂
    I read The Crucible too, and that whole notion of innocents being persecuted was really interesting – definitely something I’d like to read more about! Thanks for recommending How To Hang A Witch – I’lll have to check that out!
    Great list, Amber~!

    Like

  • Valerie

    SURPRISE. There’s Hamilton. Like what was I expecting from you? Also I CANNOT BELIEVE Ancient Egypt is on here just because of Yugioh LOLOLOL. I guess that is influence enough I suppose.

    For someone that lives near Salem, I am disappointed in myself for not PUTTING THAT ON MY LIST. Whoops

    Like

  • Brianna @ Fable's Library

    AHHHHHHH. This list is perfection :D. So yes! I totally agree. I am going to have to check all of those books out :). I’d ADORE more books including Japanese mythology, there are so many cool Japanese monsters out there XD. Lovely list :). Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

