All The Songs I’d Like To Be Books

Hi everyone! This post is going up incredibly early for once. Amazing, I know. 🙂 So. . .

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is created and hosted at The Broke and The Bookish, every week the ladies there create new list for the book blogosphere.

Today’s topic is 

This week is all about music & books. We previously did books we’d give theme songs to so feel free to do that! Or 10 songs I wish that were books

Excuse me, I just, I just need a minute. This is like, my topic. If a TTT (Top Ten Tuesday) topic ever belonged to me, this would be it. I don’t know how I’m supposed to just pick ten songs but I’ll do something of that sort.

I am a really, really big music fan so I kind of did a mix up for this post.

Edit: There are now links when you click the graphics. 🙂

-The Unrequited Love Book- (5)

I’d like a romance book written in this vein. You know, just the typical guy and girl meet each other, except I want them to first meet in a coffee shop.

-The Unrequited Love Book-

I want all the unrequited love story books, right now.

-The Unrequited Love Book- (2)

An inevitable The Last Five Years breakup situation really. Bonus points if it’s also told backwards from two different point of views. I want to see the breakup and the aftermath.

-The Unrequited Love Book- (10)

High school me would have very much liked a story inspired by these songs. 24 year old me would love books based on these songs.

I’d like something written similar to Perks of Being A Wallflower, which just starts off as being about a kid going to high school for the first time.

Bonus Songs for High School:

  • Seventeen by Alessia Cara
  • I Lived by OneRepublic
  • You’re Gonna Go Far Kid by Offspring
  • First Day of My Life by Bright Eyes
  • Kids In The Dark by All Time Low
  • Shots by Imagine Dragons
  • River of Tears by Alessia Cara
  • Restless by New Order
  • Drive by Halsey
  • I Wanna Get Lost With You by Stereophonics

-The Unrequited Love Book- (9)

Yes, the inevitable, doomed to be, tragic sad story with no happy ending in sight. I want that.

 
-The Unrequited Love Book- (8)

Well, with all the breakups and sad stories, I’d like a “fun” one. All of these songs are about road trips or just running away somewhere or driving with someone somewhere. I’d like something like that to take place in the summer. 

-The Unrequited Love Book- (7)

I would like a book that focused on a dysfunctional family or a messed up parent relation. I discovered Confessions Of A Broken Heart by Lindsay Lohan does a great job at portraying Meredith in Grey’s Anatomy. A musical that is basically about this, is Next To Normal and it’s phenomenal. 

-The Unrequited Love Book- (3)

Well after a couple has broken up, I wouldn’t mind reading about their potential, but not guaranteed reunion. So like a second chance book like Where She Went basically.

Edit: Where You Are by Gavin Degraw would fit this perfectly.

 -The Unrequited Love Book- (4)

I like books that deal with mental illness and songs that deal with people going through things. So I would love a book to be all about a person’s inner struggles and how that affects their daily life, literally, how it affects them every. single. day. 

-The Unrequited Love Book- (1)

Finally, I’d like a novel that dealt with a falling out, whether that’s a friend fallout or a relationship fallout, I like reading about how people move on when they don’t have certain relationships in their life. Or how they don’t move on.

Okay, so I know I said finally, but…

-The Unrequited Love Book-

-The Unrequited Love Book- (1)-The Unrequited Love Book- (2)

~More Bonus Songs~

Devil Side by Foxes

Hell No’s and Headphones by Alessia Cara

Here by Alessia Cara

Everybody But Me by Lykke Li

Make You Like Me by Gwen Stefani

Better Love by Foxes

Lonely Town by Brandon Flowers

LA Devotee by Panic! At The Disco

Those Nights by Skillet

Girls Like Girls by Hayley Kiyoko

I’d love the book version of the entire album, Electra Heart by Marina and The Diamonds. And the album, Froot by Marina as well. I want Kody Keplinger to write both books. Someone make this happen please.

The album, Emotion by Carly Rae Jepsen needs to be a book or several books.

I wouldn’t mind a novel written about a person that is in love with a ghost with these songs as inspiration, You’ve Haunted Me All My Life by Death Cab For Cutie and Disappear by Cary Brothers.

Panic! At The Disco and Fall Out Boy songs in general would make epic books.


Yes, I do think of these things quite often. Every song has a story inside, sometimes multiple stories.

Well this was really fun to do! Have you heard any of these songs? What songs would you like to be turned into books?

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

11 responses to “All The Songs I’d Like To Be Books

  • bftreviews

    I feel like I don’t know nay of these songs haha but I like what you did for this TTT. Nice job!
    MY TTT

    Like

  • ChrissiReads

    I love how you’ve set out the list this week 🙂 Lots of fun and so many good songs!

    Like

  • Bee (Quite The Novel Idea)

    Ooh I love how you did this! 😀 So many good songs.

    Like

  • Lois

    The Great Escape by Boys Like Girls would be the ultimate adventure book. I forgot how much I love that song. You simply cannot go wrong with Fall Out Boy either. 😀

    Like

  • Jessica@Lovin' Los Libros

    I felt just like you this week! This post was meant for music loving heart! I might even make it a somewhat regular feature!

    OH MY GOSH. I came so close to putting Keane’s We Might as Well Be Strangers! But I had so many songs running through my head I forgot. LOL.

    We have a lot of the same tastes in music, so naturally I could go on and on, but man I thought you did a great job of ‘genre-fying’ this so to speak!

    Like

  • C.J.

    WHOA, Amber, this is awesome! I love all the playlists! “The Kids Aren’t Alright” would make for a super sad but awesome book. I can’t believe I didn’t think of that! Anything on my iPod was just out of my brain. “Saturday” is also awesome. So are others but I won’t list them all, since you did already. ;P

    C.J.
    Sarcasm&Lemons

    Like

  • Valerie

    I have heard of half of these songs! I am sure! But you are so much more experience than I am in this regard ahahahhahah. Oh Amber. This is totally your topic.

    There are also WAY MORE THAN 10 SONGS HERE OK

    Like

  • Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense

    Falling In Love At a Coffee Shop is such a romantic song. Ugh, I used to listen to it a lot years ago…and now I’m singing it now, haha. Great picks for this topic!

    Like

  • Amanda

    I love the categories you split them into! So many great songs.

    Like

  • Rissi

    I heart ‘Confetti.’ Really all of Hilary’s new album; it’s such a fun collection overall. Carly’s ‘More than a Memory’ is really good too. 🙂

    Great list; I really like the way you put so many songs on the list to mirror different issues/genres. Many thanks for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon today. 🙂

    Like

  • Veronika

    Oh my god, I seriously love the way you created this week’s list. Lea Michele, Fall Out Boy, Carly Rae Jepsen, Katy Perry, Halsey, Adam Lambert, Demi Lovato and Melanie Martinez are all my favorites. Plus, I used to listen to The Veronicas, Hilary Duff and Lindsay Lohan ALL THE TIME. Also, I’m just getting to know Shinedown and Breaking Benjamin, but I love what I’ve heard by them so far.
    Wonderful list!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

