Guest Post: Jenny Manzer and Giveaway

Save Me Kurt Cobain Blog Tour

Hi everyone! I am so happy to be a part of the Irish Banana blog tour for Save, Me Kurt Cobain by Jenny Manzer. I’ll be sharing a guest post from her which I am really excited about! First though, I’m going to share some information about the book, which was published this past Tuesday (March 8).

Save Me Kurt CobainSave Me, Kurt Cobain by Jenny Manzer

Published By: Delacorte Press on March 8th, 2016

Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Themes: Family, Coming of Age

Pages: 272

Goodreads Summary:

What if you discovered that Kurt Cobain is not only alive, but might be your real father?

Nico Cavan has been adrift since her mother vanished when she was four—maternal abandonment isn’t exactly something you can just get over. Staying invisible at school is how she copes—that and listening to alt music and summoning spirits on the Ouija board with her best friend and co-conspirator in sarcasm, Obe. But when a chance discovery opens a window onto her mom’s wild past, it sparks an idea in her brain that takes hold and won’t let go.

On a ferry departing Seattle, Nico encounters a slight blond guy with piercing blue eyes wearing a hooded jacket. Something in her heart tells her that this feeling she has might actually be the truth, so she follows him to a remote cabin in the Pacific Northwest. When she is stranded there by a winter storm, fear and darkness collide, and the only one who can save Nico might just be herself.

Barnes and Noble / Amazon / Book Depository


~Guest Post Topic~

Since Save Me, Kurt Cobain revolves a bit around the Nirvana singer, Kurt Cobain, I thought I’d ask about a musical guest post. I know music was so important to me when I was in high school, especially Nirvana who I listened to around Nico’s age.

Can you tell me what some of your favorite bands were from when you were an adolescent? How did they influence you and impact your life? Do they have lasting relevancy on you now that you’re an adult?

~Pop Goes My World~

There is a line in my novel, SAVE ME, KURT COBAIN, in which the main character, Nico, finds out that her missing mother, Annalee, liked a lot of the same hard-edged music she does. “She talked softly but liked loud music,” Nico reflects of her mysterious mother, who vanished when Nico was four.

For Nico, and so many teens, music is akin to food. She likely literally couldn’t survive without it, enduring lonely nights when her father is working late. It helps provide a strong connection to her best friend, Obe, who shares her passion for independent music. What is the first thing you do when you like someone? In my high-school days, you made a mixed tape (and later burned a CD). I still see teenaged girls riding the bus together listening to the same jam from one earbud each. Why is music so important when you are discovering who you are? Alternative music is often made by oddballs, unique individuals not built to factory specifications. Hearing and seeing these people producing art shows misfits—there is light at the end of the tunnel. Different can be good. In my generation, you could have been, say, Robert Smith from The Cure. Today you could be Lady Gaga, or even Pink, who, as popular as she is—defies the stereotypical image of female beauty and how to fall in line with expectations.

I have always loved music, and these days I am snacking on all kinds of pop. I am a huge fan of radio (now streamed through my computer). I like the variety and the surprise of not knowing what’s coming next. I enjoy the feeling of listening to the same thing as other people at the same time. I have come to realize that for me, music is a mood-altering drug. Listening to music pulls me into the present, away from the to-do list that grinds away in my brain. I think in high school, I was drawn to music to help define who I was, who I might become, and to reflect how I was feeling at the time. Now, I guess I have largely become who I am—and music lifts my spirits as I walk this road. I could happily forget some bands from my youth—along with much of my wardrobe. (Does anyone else remember the knickers phase?) But there are many songs and bands I could happily listen to today. Here are six songs I liked when I was 16 that I still love today:

1. “Atomic” by Blondie

The band mixed in world beat, reggae, and rap (“Rapture”) years before other pop bands of their ilk. And Debbie Harry, come on! Pop royalty.

2. “Train in Vain” by The Clash

I find it impossible not to be awakened by this anthem, which was already a classic when I discovered it.

3. “Just Can’t Get Enough” By Depeche Mode

Confession: I didn’t wear the leather.

4. “Bizarre Love Triangle” by New Order

Big hair. Lots of synth. The catchiest beat. Don’t worry: synth doesn’t cause cavities.

5. “Save it for Later” by The English Beat

Lots of instruments, including horns of plenty, to pull you to your feet.

6. “Friday I’m in Love” by The Cure

I had an ex-boyfriend who pointed out to me that this wasn’t The Cure’s most complex song. Yeah, okay. But it’s Friday; I’m in love. 

– Jenny Manzer


Thanks for the fantastic guest post, Jenny! Happy release month! We share a bit of musical taste.

Music is really so timeless. Oh gosh, so many good bands up there. I adore The Clash, New Order, and The Cure. I like Depeche Mode too. New Wave was/is so great! Friday I’m In Love is one of my favorite Cure songs, complex or not. 😉 I’ll have to listen to The English Beat too.


Author: Jenny Manzer.

Don’t forget to enter the blog wide giveaway which gives you the option to win one of three finished copies. The giveaway is U.S. and Canada only.


And if you would like to follow the rest of the tour, here it is. 🙂

~Tour Schedule~

Week 1: 
Week 2:
About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

2 responses to “Guest Post: Jenny Manzer and Giveaway

Leave a Reply

