BEA Books I’d Love To Obtain

Hey everyone! ONLY FIVE MORE DAYS UNTIL I LEAVE BEA, OMG. How exciting!

Here is the third post in my series of pre-BEA posts. It’s all about the books. I’ll be talking about some books I hope to get from BEA.

I’m going to have two lists because I can’t just have one because BOOKS. The first list will be for ARCs that will definitely be there.

~History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera~

(No Cover)

There is no cover for this book and I am dying to see it. I loveddd More Happy Than Not a ridiculous amount. It was seriously perfection. I obviously need to read Adam’s second book which sounds just as good. 

~The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon~

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd

This is a very similar story to History Is All You Left Me. I read Nicola’s first book, Everything Everything and I loved it a lot. 

It sounds like this will take place in only 12 hours which is just:

Squee

It deals with deportation and that is seriously rare to find, so I love the idea. I read an excerpt and I wasn’t crazy about it but…maybe, hopefully, that will change.

~Kids of Appetite by David Arnold~

Kids_of_Appetite

I have reservations about the author’s first book, which I’m not going to get into, but I’ve heard good things about this one. Plus it’s a popular contemporary author and I do gravitate to those, especially when they’re recent authors. That darn debut fever, I’ll get over it, I’m sure. It has a somewhat vague summary and I like that a lot.

~Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven~

Holding_Up_The_Universe

Another coverless book. 😦 

The cover’s been revealed! Despite not reviewing All The Bright Places, it was one of my favorite books from last year. I really like the sound of Holding Up The Universe as it sounds like it may have an overweight character named Libby and then also deal with a character named Jack who has Prosopagnosia, which is the inability to recognize faces. Now, for Jack, this is a newly acquired disability, which I feel gives him advantage to talking to people in his high school as he can recognize voices more easily. I could be completely and utterly wrong about this. It’s just a guess. Either way, I am looking forward to this for sure.

~Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow~

Girl_In_Pieces

Squeeee. This book calls to my heart. It’s about a girl who deals with cutting, homelessness and a lot of hoping and some healing. I am starving for it.

~The Movie Version by Emma Wunsch~

The_Movie_Version

This is another book that just calls to me. It’s about a girl named Amelia who has an older, popular, outgoing, well known older brother. Her brother then starts acting unlike himself and Amelia doesn’t know why. I believe this deals with mental illness which is what makes me want to read it a lot. Plus Amelia watches a lot of Netflix and who can’t relate to that? 

~Seven Days Of You by Cecilia Vinesse~

Seven Days Of You

That cover. ❤

Let me just share the blurb by the writer of one of my favorite short-duration novels:

“This dazzling and genuinely romantic story shows just how much your life can change in the course of a single week.”—Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Yayyy. It takes place in Tokyo too which is just like, so exciting and I’m so interested in seeing how the author portrays it. I really need this book. It sounds like a cute romance.

~Teach Me To Forget by Erica M. Chapman~

Teach Me To Forget

Teach Me To Forget is the book that I forgot I was so interested in. It’s about a girl who’s made funeral arrangements after her suicide, but a couple things get in the way of that. It actually reminds me a bit of All The Bright Places when I think about that. The title makes me a little uneasy about how everything will go about, but I need this.

I was actually going to write a book almost just like this (before hearing about it) for NaNoWriMo last month but didn’t because yeah… So. If I ever write the book, hopefully I don’t subconsciously let this book affect me.

~Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner~

Phantom_Limbs

This reminds me a little of Emmy and Oliver with childhood friends reuniting after a terrible event tore them apart. I like the swimming aspect of this a lot, I think it’ll be fun to see those scenes. I also want to see how the grieving in this book is done as well as being very interested in who Meg is.

~738 Days by Stacey Kade~

738_Days

Ah. A book with characters (at least one) around my age. I like it! This is categorized as New Adult on Goodreads so I’m a little worried about it, but I have high hopes. There also seems to be the classic “fake relationship” aspect which I am not crazy about, but again, high hopes. I’m looking forward to seeing Amanda deal with PTSD. I’m also interested in this relationship since Amanda will be around 17 or 18, so there is a bit of an age difference there.

~The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia~

The_Lovely_Reckless

I am really interested in how this rule of “nothing matters” with Frankie changes. Or doesn’t. Especially with the street racer, most likely to be love interest meeting her. The street racing sounds really interesting. I’m sensing a slight ‘dangerous” Outsiders-esque vibe.

~The Amateurs by Sara Shepard~

(No Cover)

I need this because it’s by Sara Shepard who is behind writing Pretty Little Liars. Of course, that is a packaged book series, but still. And yes, Sara does tend to recycle a lot of her book series, but…I have hopes? Heck, let’s be honest, I just want a signed ARC by her.

~One Paris Summer by Denise Swank~

One_Paris_Summer

I love the Paris setting in books. This reminds me of Anna and The French Kiss which I did NOT love, which is okay. It seems a little predictable with the whole “teen doesn’t WANT to go to great foreign country”, but that’s okay too. I guess. It sounds cute, if nothing else.

~Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer~

Spontaneous

Since I read Kill The Boy Band and watched Heathers, I discovered that I am into dark comedy, which is a bit surprising, but not really. When I think about it. Spontaneous takes place at the end of the world and involves human combustion.

~A List of Cages by Robin Roe~

A_List_Of_Cages

Another story with a sibling keeping secrets. I really need this book.  It’s very family oriented which I love. The title intrigues me as well.


So here are fifteen books I’m looking forward to that will definitely be at BEA. Tomorrow, I’ll talk about some books that may be at BEA (I hope) but haven’t been announced. Crossing fingers, just in case. What books are you looking forward to at BEA?

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

8 responses to “BEA Books I’d Love To Obtain

  • The Petite Book Blogger

    I haven’t heard of too many of these books but they all sound amazing! I wish that I could go to BEA just to get Nicola Yoon’s novel! Hopefully I’ll be able to get an arc somehow ;D I hope that you have fun!

    Like

  • C.J.

    I’ll most definitely run into you! Almost all of those are on my list. I especially want Jennifer Niven’s because All the Bright Places is one of my favorite books OF ALL TIME. Not joking.

    CJ
    Sarcasm&Lemons

    Like

  • peach @ rebelle reads

    I seriously die for Girl In Pieces & Spontaneous! Especially since the latter has an ice cream truck on it. Anything regarding food or ice cream just gets me. Plus, The Movie Version cover and synopsis sound so awesome!

    Like

  • Valerie

    I DON’T KNOW WHAT I AM LOOKING FOR. My spreadsheet is a mess, I haven’t packed yet. Obviously I want the new Jennifer Niven book, but 20 ways to draw cats and other animals sounds GREAT. I think it is my most anticipated.

    I don’t think I would like Teach Me To Forget. It sounds really sad. I hope you end up getting it and liking it though!

    Like

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      Omg Val. At first I was going to be like “Well you should stand in line at Jennifer’s signing while I go get Mac tickets”, but you’re right, that 20 Ways to Draw Cats and Other Animals sounds like a solid book.

      I think Teach Me To Forget may be a liiiiitle romanticized, but who knows. I hope I do too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

