Top Ten Things Books Made Me Want To Do

Top Ten Tuesday

It’s Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is the weekly meme created and hosted at The Broke and The Bookish. You can visit this link for more information.

Today’s topic was. . .

Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them (inspired by Jamie’s post)

This week’s post was a real struggle for me. Books don’t really make me want to do many (realistic) things, so a couple things that popped into my head was originally:

End up on a long distance flight with a guy who’s going to London and kidnap a boy band, because why not?

Now, neither of these things are plausible and the second one isn’t really legal, ergo, I was professional and made an actual realistic list.

~One~

Anna And the French Kiss

Anna and The French Kiss made me want to go to boarding school.

I’ve wanted to do this since watching Zoey 101 forever ago (Ten years ago?) and after reading Anna and The French Kiss, I wanted to do it ten times more.

Of course, I read this book after coming home from college which was essentially “boarding school”

Still though. There was no built in friend or guy I was destined to date, so.

~Two~

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games made me want to earn archery. And prepare to take the government down.

Haha, just kidding. Why would I do that?

I think it would be cool to learn archery just because. 

I guess I could also thank Degrassi for this. They had a Archery CLUB. What even?

Degrassi

~Three~

The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight

The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight did make me want to go on a flight to London.

I had to include this one because it really did make me want to travel, even if most of the book wasn’t real focused on the sights in London.

Other books that made me want to visit places:

Making Pretty – I want to visit New York.

Lola and The Boy Next Door – I want to visit San Francisco.

~Four~

Run Cover

Run by Kody Keplinger made me want to go on a road trip.

This is the first book involving a road trip that I actually enjoyed (I’ve only read two really) and made me want to go on one. Maybe not under the same circumstances though.

~Five~

Kill The Boy Band All The Feels Gena_Finn

Kill The Boy Band, All The Feels and Gena/Finn have made me want to get back into reading Fanfiction and into fandoms in general. I used to be super into reading fanfiction and writing in general, so reading these three made me want to get back into that.

All The Feels and Gena/Finn also made me want to go to Comic-Con or a similar conference.

~Six~

I'll Meet You There

I’ll Meet You There made me wish I had artistic talent like Sky who creates collages throughout the book.

~Seven~

Emmy and Oliver

Emmy & Oliver made me wish I were able to surf. There’s a couple problems with this though: 

  1. I’m not very good at swimming.
  2. I’m short, so I don’t like deep water anyway.
  3. I’m pretty sure I would get eaten by a shark. Or drown. See #1.

~Eight~

Maybe One Day

Maybe One Day made me want to have taken up ballet when I was young. Books have made me want to do a lot of sports, even if I haven’t read them. Like with Just Like The Movies and This Is Where It Ends? Two characters in these books do track for school. In Tiny Pretty Things, they do ballet as well. I just want to do that!

~Nine~

Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist The Night We Said Yes Where She Went

Several books made me wish I would have some crazy one night affair appearing out of thins air. Or a reconnection with the past.

~Ten~

Scarlett Undercover

Scarlett Undercover, much like Veronica Mars, made me want to become a private detective because how cool would it be to solve crimes but not actually be in (possibly?) as much danger as the FBI/police.

~Eleven~

Romancing The Dark in the City of Light

And now we go a little dark.

Romancing The Dark In The City of Light made me want to possibly get help with some things internally. I could relate to the main character a lot which was just, a little bothersome knowing how she was doing.

~Twelve~

Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants Pretty Little Liars Perks of Being A Wallflower Fans of The Impossible Life

All of these books feature really close-knit friendship. Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants is from birth, but Pretty Little Liars is a little less so close-knit. Perks and Fans of The Impossible Life are friendships found at the start of the books. I always wanted some super close knit friendship group like is in these books, particularly during middle school/high school.

Wait for it…

. . .

Okay.

~Thirteen~

Because You'll Never Meet Me Nowhere Near You

Don’t act surprised guys, you know this is my book (series/duology)<3. Nowhere Near You made me want to be a blunderkinder if it meant meeting Ollie. And Moritz. Both of them. Omg, let me stop…

But maybe not because of reasons that you’ll have to read Nowhere Near You to find out. ;D

Bonus Answer:

His Fair Assassin Trilogy – So I haven’t read this, but it involves being an assassin. I’d like to be an assassin. That would be pretty cool.

If I Stay – Play the cello and have a boyfriend in a popular rock band, yes.


What are some things that you want to do or learn about since reading books?

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

8 responses to “Top Ten Things Books Made Me Want To Do

  • Kate @ Fictional Thoughts

    I think a LOT of books have made me which I had gone to boarding school. Harry Potter, Enid Blyton’s St Clair series, Anna and the French Kiss, Looking for Alaska, Gail Carriger’s Finishing School series… all of them. And Zoey 101 was fun. 😀 I loved that show even if I was probably waayyy too old to be watching it.

    Like

  • ChrissiReads

    I found this prompt quite challenging too. Books do inspire me to do things, but I don’t know if I’d go ahead with many of them! 😀

    Like

  • Cait @ Paper Fury

    Oh playing the cello is AWESOME, I can attest to that. 😉 (CELLIST FTW HERE. Ahem.) And omg I would very much like to read All the Feels. Books about fandom and fangirls are the best basically. And books that make me want to art are simultaneously the best AND worst. Because ugh I suck at art. But ugh I want to art! XD The bookworm life is so inspiring and also hard hahaha.
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

  • Things Books Made Me Want to Do | Diary of a Bookworm

    […] this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, here are a few of the things books have made me want to […]

    Like

  • Lois

    I definitely would love to learn how to surf but I’m pretty clumsy so I think I’d spend more time falling off the board than anything else haha. Same with archery. It would definitely be a good skill to learn but I’d be a danger hazard to everyone around me if I had a bow and arrow in hand. 😛

    So many books have made me wish I could travel the world without a care in the world. Unfortunately finances are a major reality check with this dream. *sighs* maybe one day.

    I loved Skylar’s artistic vision in I’ll Meet You There. I think it’s amazing that she can turn little pieces of scrap into a masterpiece.

    Like

  • kaseygiard

    omg how did I miss that there’s another book about Moritz and Ollie?! Must. Buy. Now!!! Great list, by the way. Ditto on surfing. Even though I live in FL. Like, 20 min from the beach. My TTT.

    Like

  • Valerie

    HAHA Emmy & Oliver also motivated to want to surf, but uh, surfboards are expensive and I’m sure I would have been bad at it anyways?

    OTHER THAN THAT I NEVER GET MOTIVATED. Thanks anxiety!

    Like

Leave a Reply

