Monthly Recap: July ’16

~My Life~

Hi everyone! Life is just, a lot, lately. I know, I’m being vague. Anyway, I thought I’d talk a little about my job. So I’ve been a little over a month and a half into my new job. It has a couple setbacks though:

1. I’ve had to miss almost every Bible study for this past “semester”. I’m really disappointed since I was really looking forward to it.

2. It’s getting to be a little expensive getting to and from work. This is because I generally only work four hours and if I work until after 5, I have to either 

A. Get a cab or

B. Find someone to pick me up.

This is because buses stop running around 6.

I’ve only had to take a cab once so far, but I’ll have to take one to work tomorrow, as buses don’t run on Sundays either. Then I’ll have to take one twice next week, unless I find someone to give me a ride.

This is a bit of added stress on me.

Other than that, the job is going pretty okay. Except I’m really bad at talking to customers and finding things they want. Oops. I still haven’t found my way around the store quite yet. Every once in a while, I will actually know where something is.

I finally managed to get a list of tasks to do. This is super helpful because now I have a much better idea as to what I’m supposed to be doing. Before, it was just like, definitely do this and this and then make like you’re busy doing this other thing.

So it sucked as I’d run out f things to do unless I got called to bagged, which I still need to get better at.

I’ve been super addicted to Swag Bucks. I made an account a super long time ago, but forgot about it or whatever, so I made a new one. So far I’ve earned roughly 1500 Swag Bucks which I’ve turned in for three $5 Itunes gift cards. I’m still waiting to receive the other two. Sigh. The first time it only took two days, but now it’s been like three, going on four days. I’m kind of sad, but whatever. I’ll be buying the rest of season 2 of Veronica Mars with them. Hopefully it will still be on sale when I get the cards…


~Stats~

WordPress Followers: 231

BlogLovin’ Followers: 165

# of Views/Visitors: – / –

# of Blog Posts: 9

Features:

I did Wondrous Covers Wednesday – Cover Battle Edition

Memes:

I shared some books I Like Under The Goodreads Radar for Top Ten Tuesday.

I talked about the top ten-ish things books have made me want to do for Top Ten Tuesday.

I talked about All Those Bookish and Non-Bookish Facts About Me for Top Ten Tuesday.

Weekly Recaps:

A Weekly-Ish Recap

Weekly Recap

Sunday Street Team:

I interviewed Emily France (author of Signs of You) for the Sunday Street Team.

Other:

I celebrated my second blogoversary with a giveaway ending August 31st.

I did the Cover Reveal for Nowhere Near You (#2) by Leah Thomas.

# of Likes: 36

# of Comments: 56

Most Viewed Post: Oh, interesting, my Buying & Selling ARCs: Is It Ever Justifiable? post made an appearance! I didn’t even notice.

Most Viewed Review: Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman


~Book Stats~

# of Books Read:

Nowhere Near You

I finished this book in 24 hours and I realize I should have savored it. 😦 I just could not stop reading, much like with Because You’ll Never Meet Me. It was great. I’ve been thinking non-stop about Ollie and Moritz. Like, non stop. I can’t remember the last time I thought about characters so much.

# of Books Started:

Ripple PS_I_Like_You Spontaneous

I need to finish Spontaneous today so I can mail it out tomororw, so far I like it a bit. I’m still getting used to the writing style which reminds me of Kill The Boy Band. After that, hopefully I’ll finish Ripple as it just got a little interesting.

# of Books For Review: 

ARCs:

Nowhere Near You 

From Bloomsbury! I died, oh my gosh. A physical ARC. I am so unbelievably thankful for this ARC. No one even knows what this series means to me but oh my gosh, this book made my entire year.

eARC:

PS_I_Like_YouAll_We_Have_Left_Wendy_millsThe_Possibility_Of_SomewhereThe_Dead_Boyfriend The_Memory_of_Things

P.S. I Like You from Scholastic via Edelweiss

All We Have Left  from Bloomsbury via Netgalley

The Possibility of Somewhere from St. Martin’s via Netgalley

The Dead Boyfriend from St. Martin’s via Netgalley

The Memory of Things from St. Martin’s via Netgalley

# of Books Won: 

RippleThe_Weight_Of_Zero

I won an ARC of Ripple from Michelle as part of the Debut Authors Bash hosted YA Reads.

I won an ARC of The Weight of Zero from Alice as part of the Debut Authors Bash hosted YA Reads.

# of Books Traded/Given: 

I still need to mail and receive a few books, but so far:

A Tragic Kind of Wonderful from Rose for trading The Edge of Everything

All In Pieces from Stephanie for trading Three Dark Crowns

I’m waiting to send out Spontaneous, Frostblood, Run (HC), You Know Me Well (HC) and The Graces in exchange for Still Life With Tornado, Nowhere Near You, Vicarious, Who It Ends and When The Moon Was Ours.

This will bring me up to having Ripple, The Weight of Zero and Still Life with Tornado all in roughly one month. AKA, three/fourths of my most anticipated books for the Fall.

And yes, you did read about two Nowhere Near Yous. I made the trade before I requested the book and didn’t want to cancel just because I already had it.

I just love the book so much I need two ARCs!

Just kidding (not really though), I’m going to be doing a giveaway with my second copy. Sometime. Most likely in October as I already have my Blogoversary giveaway going on.


~What I Posted~

Excluding Weekly Recaps

Features:

Wondrous Covers Wednesday – Covers Battle Edition

Memes:

Top Ten Tuesday – Books Under the Goodreads Radar

Top Ten Tuesday – Bookish and Non-Bookish Facts About Me

Top Ten Tuesday – Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do

Other Posts:

I celebrated my second year blogoversary with a giveaway!

I revealed the cover for Nowhere Near You by Leah Thomas!

Sunday Street Team:

I interviewed Emily France (author of Signs Of You)

~Favorite Post~

If you have to ask, you don’t even know me. My favorite post was of course the cover reveal for Nowhere Near You.


~Blogosphere Participation~

I tried to participate in Val and Ely’s Make Me Read It Read-A-Thon, but I just couldn’t, I don’t remember why I didn’t now. 😦 I was distracted or busy or in a reading slump. I have some excuse, sadly.

I signed up for #OTSPSecretsister again! I participated in round three and it was my first time, then I took this past round off to save up for BEA. However, now I’m totally ready for round 5. I can’t wait! It’s such a happy part of my life, I love it.

~Songs That Represented My Month~

Anybody Out There by Digital Summer

~Music Videos~

Jojo’s back. ❤


~Music News~

Holy crap, a ton of artists announced albums:

Bad Suns, Jojo, Banks, Regina Spektor, Wilco, Jagwar Ma, AlunaGeorge, Crystal Castles, Twin Atlantic, The Naked and Famous, Suzanne Vega, Pixies…

My Chemical Romance is doing a ten year anniversary album.

David Bowie’s band will be doing a tribute album of sorts.

Temple of The Dog’s self-titled album will be re-released for it’s 25th anniversary.

Bright Eyes are putting out a box set of their studio albums from 2000 to 2011.


~Musical News~

Lin-Manuel Miranda, Phillipa Soo and Leslie Odom Jr. have erased themselves from the narrative.

Let future watchers of Hamilton wonder how they would’ve reacted with the original cast.


~Fantastic Videos~


~TV Show/Movie Purchases~

  1. Zenon
  2. Zenon The Zequel
  3. Zenon Z3
  4. Tru Confessions
  5. The Hunger Games
  6. Rented Mockingjay
  7. Legally Blonde
  8. Rent
  9. Les Miserables
  10. Invader Zim – Complete Series
  11. Rugrats Season 1
  12. Rugrats Season 2
  13. Veronica Mars Season 3
  14. Veronica Mars Partial Season 2

Yes, you read that right, Rugrats. It was on sale, okay? It was $4.99.


~What I’ve Been Watching~

I finally finished the first season of Veronica Mars earlier this month. Maybe it was last month, I can’t remember. Anyway. I started watching Bojack Horseman on Netflix and I really like it. I keep picturing Bojack as like….Charlie Sheen in horse form.


That’s it for my month. How has yours been? Is it really hot where you’re at? It was ridiculously hot last week, there was a week long heat advisory. It was horrible. Have you watched any new shows? I know Stranger Things is really popular, I want to watch it soon. Are you participating in #OTSPSecretSister? Is it your first time or are you a repeater?

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

One response to “Monthly Recap: July ’16

  • Kaitlin @ A Mismatched Reader

    Yay, I’m glad the job is going well! I was really into Swagbucks this year, though I’ve barely paid attention to it lately. It’s a good way to earn a small gift card here and there.

    It HAS been hot this week. D: It’s not that bad outside, but my house doesn’t have air conditioning and sometimes it feels so horrible in my room. My fan helps, but not always on the hottest days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

