The Olympic Book Tag

Olympic_Book_Tag

I am finally doing this tag created by Shannon! I love it because it really puts me in the Olympics mood, even if the Olympics are almost over and I haven’t really watched many of the events. Sad. 😦 I guess there’s always two years from now in the case of the winter olympics. Those are my real favorites. Kind of. Okay, enough talking, time for the tag!

Opening_Ceremony

Just Like The Movies

This is one of my favorite Contemporaries ever. I really did love it from the first page. Really, the first line.

Speaking of which, the first sentence: 

he music practically floats out of the speakers, it fills up the fenced yard, flies over the swing set, and spins into eddie under the deck.

It’s a light, fun YA with depth too.

Cycling

Run_Kody_Keplinger

This was the first road trip book I read. Well, besides An Abundance of Katherines, which definitely does not win. Ha. It really helped with the differing

Triathalon

To all the boys I've loved before

I really have no real answer for this, so I’ll go with TATBILB. Even if I was totally not into one of the guys. At all.

Handball

An Abundance of Katherines

I mean, I got it, but…I just kind of hated it? It’s really how the main character only ever dated Katherines, all the way from Kindergarten. Like, that’s not normal. How is the name THAT common? I don’t even believe it’s that common. Plus it’s not like he moved around and met these people, no, he grew up in the same city, I believe his whole life. It’s just really weird.

Beach_Volleyball

Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants

Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants

These books immediately came to mind. I love them, at least, I believe I do. I meant to re-read the first one years ago and was a bit surprised at how un friendshipy the characters seemed at the beginning. Oh well, still faces.

Fencing

The Hunger Games

This is pretty much the only book I’ve read with a lot of fighting and bloodshed.

You can blame my Contemporary heart.

Surprisingly enough, many Contemporaries don’t share fighting that isn’t drama related and definitely no bloodshed.

Gymnastics

Every Ugly Word

This book. Oh my gosh, so many unsurprising things. The ending, the ending. It’s a must read.

Swimming

All The Bright Places

This goes without saying really.

Golf

Because You'll Never Meet Me

I still love you! It’s only slow in the beginning! Then it picks up, quite fast. At least for me. 🙂

Trampoline

Babysitters_Club

These are basically the only books I read in childhood really. In addition to the Fear Street series that always scared me and made me not sleep. Ha.

Equestrian

Animals, animals. . .

Oh!

100 Days of Cake Cover 

There’s a little hermit crab in the book! I really liked it because you never really read about hermit crabs in books.

Hurdles

Lola and The Boy Next Door

I just. Yes. It’s not the book’s fault, it’s my fault.

No. No, I think it’s the book’s, actually. . .

Synchronized_swimming

Emmy and Oliver

It has two good friendships in it. One with the main character Emmy and Oliver and one with Emmy and her current (?) best friend.

Bonus

Tumbling

I need to seriously read this book. I love the olympics and gymnastics and multi-POV books and girls in books, it sounds fantastic.


Have you read any of these books? What do you think about them? Are you into the Olympics? Favorite participating sport?

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

4 responses to “The Olympic Book Tag

  • Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog

    Love this tag so much!! I just read All the Bright pLaces this year and totally sobbed. Emmy & Oliver is the best with friendships – I had that as the pick too. An Abundance of Katherines is my least favorite John Green book!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amber (YA Indulgences)

      This tag is great! Oh my gosh, I wish I could read ATBP again for the first time. Emmy & Oliver is a favorite contemp. An Abundance of Katherines is also my least favorite as well. Though I’ve only read three (TFIOS, Looking For Alaska, Katherines).

      Like

  • Valerie

    Lol dude it is definitely the books fault when it comes to Lola. I don’t think I will even bother. AND SERIOUSLY. A HERMIT CRAB? THAT’S THE ONLY BOOK YOU’VE READ WITH AN ANIMAL IN IT? The heck AMber

    Like

  • Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight

    Love your choices! Seriously though, I have never read Abundance of Katherines because the premise is seriously so unbelievable. I don’t think I know ONE person named Katherine, let alone a bunch. Plus how many girlfriends did this dude have? I had exactly zero significant others, and while I was not likely the norm… neither is he!

    Enough Katherine talk. The Baby-Sitters Club is an obvious win. Same with Emmy & Oliver, ATBP… and of course The Hunger Games 😉 Though I think these contemporaries could be spiced up with a little bloodshed and sword fights, no? 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

