All The Books On My Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday

Hi everyone. Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR. Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the ladies at The Broke and The Bookish, they come up with new lists for the book community to participate in almost every week. You can read more about that here.

I decided to make a list of the books coming out this Spring rather than general books I want to read. You would be surprised how complicated this actually was and not because of the books. I was trying to figure out what months were considered Spring. The fact that it’s freezing outside and feels like it could snow any minute didn’t help any.

After talking to friends, I decided to stick with the standard Spring dates which is March 20th-June 20th. I picked fifteen books that I’m dying to have. I have quite a few of these as eARCs so I need to get to reading!

Top_Fifteen_Books_On_My_Spring_TBR

~March~

Dead_Little_Mean_Girl

Dead Little Mean Girl by Eva Darrows

March 28th from Harlequin Teen

I love the idea of Dead Little Mean Girl because I believe it’s a deconstruction of the mean girl trope. It doesn’t hurt things that the character Quinn is a bit of a nod to Quinn on Daria.

~April~

What Girls Are Made Of by Elana K. Arnold

April 1st from Carolrhoda

I think when a person gets in a relationship, it can be easy to lose themselves inside it and forget who they are after. What Girls Are Made Of seems like it will be discussing what exactly this means and how you get back to it, I can’t wait to read.

Speak of Me As I Am by Sonia Belasco (eARC)

April 4th from Philomel Books

I like how Speak of Me As I Am is going to deal with grief and the way two teenagers grieve. The aspect of the main characters being in the play, Othello also attracts me to this book. Interestingly enough, like What Girls Are Made Of, Speak of Me As I Am will also show who people are when they are on their own. I think that’s important to know, especially when a relationship is possible.

Alex Approximately by Jenn Bennett (eARC)

April 4th from Simon Pulse 

This sounds like such a cute, light-hearted version of You’ve Got Mail, which is one of my favorite movies. I read the first few pages and I was so into them.

Letters To The Lost by Brigid Kemmerer (eARC)

April 4th from Bloomsbury

This is a sadder You’ve Got Mail-esque book. I’ve heard that Brigid Kemmerer is a really good author so not only do I have high hopes because of the plot, but also because of what I’ve heard.

Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

April 11th from G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Don’t act surprised, this book needs to explanation. I love Hamilton, I love Alex and Eliza’s relationship, I need this book. I will never be satisfied until I read it.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (eARC)

April 11th from Balzer + Bray

I have to admit I have still not finished Simon, but I still remember how much I loved reading what I did read of it. It was such a well-written Contemporary that I have nothing but the highest expectations for Upside. I’m really wanting to read it because it features a girl who is fat and Jewish and yes. Need.

~May~

How To Make A Wish by Ashley Herring Blake (eARC)

May 2nd from HMH Books for Young Readers

I read Ashley Blake’s Suffer Love and I adored it the entire time. When I read a debut I love, I have to read the author’s next book, of course. How To Make A Wish sounds amazing with it’s hopefully deeper look into poverty and family dynamics. I love books with dysfunctional and/or unconventional upbringings and seeing how characters deal with that.

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate (eARC)

May 2nd from Amulet Books

This book, I saw someone call it basically She’s The Man meets Pitch Perfect. I love She’s The Man and really any fiction that follows the girl main character who has to pretend to be a guy. I haven’t seen Pitch Perfect, but I’ve seen Glee so I think it’s kind of close? We’ll call it kind of close! So basically, girl dresses up as guy and joins a singing group, um, yes please. It sounds exactly as Glee now that I think of it.

Minus the dressing up as a guy thing.

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy

May 9th from Balzer + Bray

Ramona Blue is Julie Murphy’s latest book. Following the success of Dumplin’, I knew I wanted to read this. I haven’t read either of Murphy’s previous books, though I do own them. I like how Ramona has a bigger responsibility than some teens and how she has to be the adult. That reminds me quite a bit of I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios. I can’t wait to see how Murphy deals with the sexual orientation in this book.

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord (eARC)

May 16th from Bloomsbury

I used to go to church camp and Youth Conferences in middle school and part of high school. I always looked forward to it. Well, mostly the youth conferences, to be honest. I love seeing books with characters dealing with faith and how the situations in their life affect that. Emery’s pretty much one to watch now as this is her fourth Contemporary. I am sad to say I have not read any of them yet, though I do own Open Road Summer, The Start of Me and You and yes, The Names They Gave Us.

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich (eARC)

May 16th from Feiwel & Friends

This book totally deconstructs the love-triangle trope on its head and I am just here for it. Like, yes please. That’s really all I have to say because what else needs to be said?

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (eARC)

May 30th from Simon Pulse

I am trying to figure out how to phrase what’s in my head. I think arranged marriages are interesting. My first ‘experience’ with actually seeing an arranged marriage plot in fiction was with Degrassi. The characters in Degrassi were also indian. While they didn’t get married, they did meet each other. I’m interested in seeing Dimple and Rishi interact throughout the book.

I Believe In A Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

May 30th from Farrar, Straus, and Giroux (BYR) 

I wish I could say I love Korean Dramas but to be honest, I’ve only ever watched one. It was Autumn In My Heart and it broke my heart, I was in pieces. It was disturbing how much I still hurt from that drama. I’ve been meaning to watch more dramas but I just haven’t gotten around to it. Part of the reason is because I have to read subtitles and I already find it hard enough to read actual books. You see my problem then, yeah? Anyway, I am in love with this idea of this character studying Korean dramas and wanting to re-create her own sort of romance with that.

~June~

Bad_Romance

 

Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

June  13th from Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

I fell in love with Heather’s last Contemporary, I’ll Meet You There in 2015. I loved how she dealt with hard topics. Thus I have faith she’ll be able to do justice for this story involving a girl who gets in an abusive relationship. 


Did any of these books make your Spring TBR? If not, what’s on your TBR? Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments!

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

11 responses to “All The Books On My Spring TBR

Leave a Reply

