Three’s A Crowd (Wondrous Covers Wednesday)

Hey everyone. I decided to start up Wondrous Covers Wednesday after seeing a new cover a few weeks months ago. This post has been in my drafts forever and I figured I’d pull it out and finish it.

This week’s feature is dedicated to crowds, an introvert’s worst nightmare.

Just kidding.

Partly.

~One~

The_Rest_of_us_Just_Live_Here

The Rest Of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness – 

~My Thoughts~

I like the fade out effect that this cover has with almost all of the people on the cover. Not to mention, this book is supposed to glow in the dark, I’ve heard. They’re all just mostly ordinary people. The tagline here is absolutely everything, we’re not likely to be the “chosen ones” to save the world.

~Two~

The_Ones

The Ones by Daniel Sweren-Becker – 

~My Thoughts~

The Ones has a bit blurry effect going on. I kind of like it, but it kind of districts me from the actual main characters. I really like the tagline on the cover even if it seems a little in your face. I’d expect the “not” to be in bold rather than the reversal of what’s going on. The font color really pops which is nice, as far as I can see, it’s the only red on the cover.

~Three~

Here_We_Are_Now_Jasmine_Warga

Here We Are Now by Jasmine Warga 

~My Thoughts~

And here is the new cover that inspired the theme. I think this cover is a good combination between the other two. It’s also my favorite one. Like The Ones, there’s the focus on the main characters who are in color. I’m not sure how I like the title font color. I feel it almost loses itself? I’m wondering if a darker blue would have been better. 

Other Covers With Crowds:

Finally, I had to include these two because they are perfect for this theme.

My True Love Gave To Me Anthology Summer_Days_And_Summer_Nights

One thing I like about these covers is how they really emphasize their titles with “Us”, “Ones” and “We”. I think it could’ve been easy for a couple of the covers to just feature the main characters, but they didn’t do that.


What do you think about crowds on covers? I think they have the chance of seeming too busy but for the most part, I felt all these cover designers did a good job.

About Amber (YA Indulgences)

Amber is a 20-something woman who enjoys reading, writing, listening to music and taking walks. She has a book blog called YA Indulgences . She is still trying to figure out what she's doing with her life, but she's confident that time will tell. In the meantime she's heading towards the goal of becoming a renowned blogger. View all posts by Amber (YA Indulgences)

One response to “Three’s A Crowd (Wondrous Covers Wednesday)

Leave a Reply

